We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
J0an123
Nanaimo, Canada

Stress Free in every way!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Aug 2020
I had purchased a travelzoo deal for the sixplex at MBL quite a few months previous. We were initially supposed to stay there at the beginning of May. Didn't happen, thanks to Covid. Rebooked for the first weekend of June. Weren't sure they would be open yet. Rebooked again for the following weekend. Then they did indeed open earlier, so changed the date yet again! And every time, the woman that answered the phone was wonderful! And so very patient! Kudos to the staff in the reception area!
We were on the top floor, left hand side. BEST unit IMO. You get an extra window, overlooking Mackenzie Beach. While the trees block some of that view, you get a lot more light into the room, and it is just brighter.
The kitchen is great, with a "real" fridge and stove. The table does make it crowded, and hard to work around, but with just the two of us, it was easy to make it work.
Housekeeping was great. Lots of towels were already in the bathroom. And every day, at 11:00, housekeeping would phone, and ask if you needed anything. They would leave it outside the door, on the bench. No one ever entered the room, and that was great!
Bathtub is nice, and while the view can be nice from there, once you are in the tub, you really don't see the view much at all.
Be aware that there are no screens on the window! And the first week of June, there were mosquitoes! Husband had one buzzing his ear the first night, I got it the last night. But you don't want to shut the window, because you want to hear the ocean, and the waves crashing on the shore! And besides, the weather was spectacular, and it would have been too hot to have the windows shut.
Spent a lot of time out on the balcony, just reading and enjoying the sun. The balcony is small, but big enough to hold two very comfortable Adirondack chairs. Couldn't see the sunset from there though. We did walk over to the lodge in the evening for the sunset. First night, too many people there, drinking and not social distancing, so we left. But the other two nights were fine, and we were able to really enjoy it.
If you want a sunset view, rent a cabin on the Middle Beach side of the lodge. Otherwise, you will be looking at Mackenzie Beach. Another great view!
There are two trails down to Mackenzie Beach. One is specifically for when the tide is in.
The usual breakfast was not an option during these covid times. But honestly, they did an amazing job. Fresh fruit, pastries, and coffee. I actually got smart, and drove over after the first morning, as I had trouble carrying everything back to our room. The staff were always so friendly, and quite polite, in telling us where to stand, to make sure we were all being safe. Even check out was done safely, with an e-mail for your bill. Leave the key in the room!
If you get there and have any questions at all, just phone them. There are no binders left in the room because of covid, so you won't always have the information you want readily available.
I can't say enough about how comfortable, and "safe" we felt during our stay, as this was our first foray into "public", as we were staying at home for three months.
If there was any issue at all, it was not due to anything Middle Beach staff did. But the people staying at the campsite, or other resorts, more than once, adults, kids tagging along, would climb the cliff and show up on "our" lawn fronting the sixplex. They truly had no business being there, as they were not guests. And we really felt that they were intruding into our space.
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
AU$405
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$356
  • Priceline
    AU$339
  • Official Site
    AU$319
2.0 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$607
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
0.7 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$383
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$383
  • Vio.com
    AU$383
  • Agoda.com
    AU$383
0.9 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$510
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$510
  • Agoda.com
    AU$510
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$402
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$404
  • Expedia.com
    AU$402
  • Priceline
    AU$402
2.0 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$330
  • Priceline
    AU$377
  • Agoda.com
    AU$358
  • eDreams
    AU$330
0.6 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$394
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$429
  • Expedia.com
    AU$427
  • Vio.com
    AU$428
2.2 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Perfect location in downtown Tofino - close to the waterfront, shops, restaurants and grocery store.
Booking.com
AU$294
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$294
  • Vio.com
    AU$294
  • eDreams
    AU$294
2.1 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Paddlers Inn / Tofino Sea Kayaking
Booking.com
AU$190
  • Priceline
    AU$206
  • Agoda.com
    AU$206
  • Vio.com
    AU$206
2.2 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Room #1
Booking.com
AU$242
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$242
  • Agoda.com
    AU$242
  • eDreams
    AU$242
2.1 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tofino
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,328 results
Traveller rating
684
397
144
60
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
684
397
144
60
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinnamon buns continental breakfast yogurt small room mackenzie beach tea and coffee baked goods crab great room lounge area read a book stunning location living room the pacific ocean get away whale watching sound of the waves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,328 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2020 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the past many years and this will be are last. The facilities are run down and tired. Rotting wood is prevalent on walkways and fences, upholstery is torn, door handles don’t function and general maintenance is clearly not a priority. Rustic charm only goes so far.. The breakfast used to be something to look forward to. What they serve now is standard motel fare. Instant oatmeal is hard to screw up but they managed to do just that. The rest of the offerings appear to come from a warehouse store. We were only informed that there would be no housekeeping service after we checked in. When we asked management about this, they referred us to our booking confirmation where it was listed in fine print on the 3rd to last line of a 4 page document. Service is dreadful to say the least. I can only assume that all the regular staff was fired during Covid and have struggled to re-hire competent employees when they re-opened. This used to be a charming resort but with so many other options available, we will not return.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Ray9_945
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2020 via mobile

We’ve enjoyed many stays at MBL over the past 20 plus years, twice bringing family members from England with us. As we posted FB photos of this week’s stay, those relatives have responded with remarks detailing their happy memories. Our oldest daughter and her husband came here on their honeymoon 21 years ago. So, we have history with MBL. Why do we return? Friendly, helpful, energetic staff; fabulous location (waterfront, 20 - 30 minute forest and beach walk to downtown Tofino, short, easy walk to Middle Beach or MacKenzie Beach); a good variety of accommodations to suit various group sizes and configurations; accommodations configured on the property for maximum privacy and quiet; varied offerings at the complimentary breakfast (we’re not big eaters so don’t miss a full breakfast); an option most evenings to sign up for a 3 course supper (appreciated by our guests); blissful views from most rooms . . . I’m sure there are more advantages I’m missing - but it’s time to go for an evening stroll. Oh yes, considering the astronomical costs of accommodation here on the west coast, quite reasonable!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank moleskinMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2020

First off, this would be what I'd consider a bit more of a "getaway" type of accommodation. Disconnect and relax type of location. It's secluded and away from the town but right by the water. The views are admittedly fantastic and decor gives off a rustic cabin feel - it feels quite warm and homely, and I'd say if you want to get away from it all, this would be your spot.

However, with that said, you'll lose some of the creature comforts you expect from a hotel. The rooms we stayed in (on the "adult side") had no TV. The rooms were quite small - barely enough room for the bed and a few side tables and not much else. While they have Internet, we had no Wifi signal from our room, and I literally had to stand outside near the office area to get a signal. Since it's a bit more remote, cellular signal was intermittent as well so we ended up being fairly disconnected for the time we were at the hotel.

The buildings themselves seem to have gone through a recent renovation - the exterior looks like it's been freshened up, although the insides of the room look a little on the tired side. The carpets could use some cleaning, and the furniture is a little on the older side - although that does contribute a bit to the rustic charm.

Our room (#14) I suspect may be one of the worst rooms in that complex. The balcony is located right next to the stairway that leads to the deck that you see in the Tripadvisor picture with that great view. This means that EVERYONE who uses the deck walks right by your balcony (and window) and can see right into the room so there is zero privacy at all - unless you close the blinds. Couple that with no TV and Internet connectivity in that room meant that we didn't really end up spending all that much time there.

Also, with it being COVID times now, the breakfast appears to be greatly reduced to what people have described in previous reviews. It's very much just a continental breakfast now. Not a huge deal, but it does seem a little less than what others have experienced.

As for the road going in, it seems to be a bit better than what others have mentioned in the past. I drive a fairly low sedan and with a bit of maneuvering, I'm able to dodge most of the deeper potholes - however, I do agree with others - if the businesses in the area could pitch in, they could pave the road and provide a better experience for their guests. On our drive in, we passed a couple who had the misfortune of damaging their car to the point of it not being drivable due to the potholes on McKenzie Beach Road.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Shawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2020

We paid huge dollars and pre booked what was called the honeymoon suite. Had a soaker tub and walk out deck full kitchen.
We arrive and are put in a $60/nite. We had to call housekeeping to come clean the disgusting old bathroom, which didnt happen. It had a tiny balcony not at ground level. Did not have an oven so we had to go out for dinner and refrigerate the planned meal.
The next morning we complained as the bathtub did not drain while showering. They agreed to move us to another room for the second night that ends up being the room we originally booked. Would NOT recommend this over priced, run down resort.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 59baileyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2020

We stayed at the middle beach lodge for 3 nights at the end of June and were disappointed to find out that so many amenities were not available to us. At the time of booking we had thought our stay included a continental breakfast, access to the restaurant and bars and great rooms. A few days before our trip we received an email saying that all of those amenities were closed. We asked for a discount or refund and they wouldn't accommodate either. The room was nice but tiny and only fit a bed- no tables, fridge, sitting place or anything and with the great room closing at 5pm we had nowhere to sit in the evenings. Our patio was not undercover and so the outdoor chairs were soaking wet the whole trip since it rained every day. I think this would be a wonderful place to stay if it were fully functioning. But it was not worth the money for 3 nights without the amenities. Very disappointing that the great rooms were closed in the evenings and they even wanted to charge us a corking fee to have our own drinks there even when their own bar wasn't fully operating.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank amandacM3169VK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews