We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect chance to enjoy nature in bueatiful setting.”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have stayed three times for two night stays and have enjoyed each stay.You are only a short drive to Long Beach or Tofino .A perfect place to relax and enjoy some downtime.The two main lodges have big fireplaces burning,over stuffed chairs and sofas.There is always coffee brewing and the most amazing cinnamon buns.We usually go in the spring or fall.The road to Tofino coming through a mountainoun rangel can be very treacherous in the winter.Many people come to this lodge to storm watch. Everytime we make the comment " just smell the crisp clean air".

Room Tip: I rate the rooms a five if you book one of the cabins.The rooms in the two lodges are small and can...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondjimSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
There are newer reviews for Middle Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 678 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

After a few previous visits to the Long Beach are of Vancouver Island it was time to return to enjoy the scenery, the beaches and the local food.
We decided on Middle Beach Lodge as they had a coupon deal, through which we arranged for 2 rooms for my wife and myself and our daughter and her partner. The very reasonable rate included a continenta lbreakfast.
From the moment we arrived until we checfked out we were treated superbly. Without exception the Staff were polite, helpful and accommodating. Our rooms while basic were clean and quiet with great views over the beach.
The continental breakfast included fresh baked croisants, muffins and cinnamin buns to die for! A good assortment of cereals, breads, fruits and juices along with hard boiled eggs and milk, tea and coffee were abundantly available and provided a great base for long walks on the area beaches.
The fresh baked cookies every evening at 8 are a real treat!
We will return.

Room Tip: Select a 2nd floor ocean view room just for the ambiance of the every changing sea view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had been talking for a couple of years about getting to the Tofino/Ucluelet area. It seems the Tofino end of the area is populated with more hotels, while Ucluelet has more bed and breakfast. A friend had stayed at Middle Beach Lodge and recommended it to us so we tought we would give it a try.

The resort seems to revolve around the two large common areas. The main lodge at the Headlands and the secondary lodge at the Beach. The main lodge is also the location for the evening meal if it is being served that evening. There is a fitness room in a third location.

The common area is cozy, well furnished, warm and has a great view of the water. The beach common area is smaller and seems to have a similar view (although we only visited in the dark).

There are a lot of room categories here. We seem to have lucked out. The room that we were in was one of the sixplex rooms directly next to the main lodge. The room was a one bedroom suite with a large bathroom (bring a flexible sink stopper if you require a sink full of water). The suite contained a mini kitchen area with 2 burners, a very small sink, and a small fridge. Amenities included pots and pans, cooking utensils and cutlery. There was enough to make a simple meal if you chose. The suite also contained a hide-a-bed and the required extra linens. A coffee machine, and supplies, is included.

The other furnishings were basic and included a 15" tv/dvd combo unit and a queen size bed. The bed was mostly comfortable. The suite we were in was not furnished as nicely as the lodge sitting areas.

Free wifi was available throughout the property.

Having previously read about a possible bug problem we were very happy to see the bed wrapped to avoid the issue.

The room was very clean! More hotels need to be to this standard!! Thank you Carling & Mike!!!

We chose to have dinner on site for one of the nights we were there. The meal was excellent and a great value. The service was new to us. There were appetizers from 6 to 7 PM with bar service available (get there at 6 for the best selection of seats in the great room). When the main meal was ready it was served buffet style with the hot foods served up by the chef's and the salads and bread on a side board. Dessert and coffee were table service.

The food was excellent and prepared with care and attention. A great value!

Breakfast was also served in the great room and was included in the price of the room. Breakfast consisted of a choice of breads, homemade muffins, homemade brioche cinnamon buns, with butter, peanut butter, local jams. Hard boiled eggs and a giant bowl of apples oranges and bananas were available too. A small selection of cereals, yoghurt, milk and juices along with coffee & tea were available. Get there early for the cinnamon buns - they sell out quickly! Diabetics will need to bring their own protein sources.

With easy access to Tofino and a few trails to the beaches...this was a great place to stay.

This is the first place we have stayed at in a long time where the staff seemed truly happy to be working. We were always greeted with a warm smile and a friendly hello. Upon our departure we were offered coffee for the road.

A solid 3 star property! A more comfortable bed, better insulated walls and floors, draperies that block more light, would be greatly appreciated. We had a damaged bathroom door. Yeah - no pillow origami here!

Room Tip: Read reviews from other travelers to help you select the proper room for you!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BCtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I can definitely see why people go to Tofino. It is a great place to relax and the surroundings are breathtaking! If you go during the winter season and the weather isn't great, it really forces you to stay in and do nothing but rest and relax. Breakfast is amazing at the main lodge. We booked dinner for 1 night of our stay, but it wasn't very good. Our suite was good. Bedroom could be a little bigger for luggage and better storage for clothing would have been nice. The room literally was enough room for a king size bed and bedside tables. The bathroom was a larger than necessary and could use a some updating. I, myself, would opt for a larger, tiled shower enclosure than a tub. Kitchen was great, had everything we needed. The main lodge was great in the evenings when you just needed to get out of your room. There is a big cozy fireplace with couches, wingback chairs, and tables all around. A good selection of board games, cards, and dvds you can borrow and watch in your room. Met another couple in the lodge who challenged us to a game of scrabble. A great way to make friends (or not) haha! Raincoats and rain boots you can sign out for your stay. Definitely worth visiting again perhaps in the summer or fall when the weather is better and definitely need to stay for at least a week if you want to explore the area/island further.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe sixplex suites, but I think that any of the other options would be just as g...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Fabulous location, great breakfast, friendly thoughtful staff, cosy room, comfy bed, roaring fire at the Lodge at the Beach. Surprised by a bottle of Champagne in the room for my birthday!
Had a delicious salmon dinner at the Lodge at the Headlands just a short walk thru the lovely trails. Would recommend the Lodge to anyone. Hope to be back, same time next year!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofalaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.4 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.8 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.0 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
321 reviews
2.2 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Tofino

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $143 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island
Middle Beach Lodge Tofino, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing