We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jaw51
Comox, Canada

excellent BC stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2022
4 of us enjoyed this place immensely. Beautiful surroundings, quality furnishings and equipment in suite. Host very accessible but not intrusive. Quiet. Clean. Sunny and Bright with excellent blinds. For regular people, it seemed like a real luxury. Highly recommend.
Date of stay: March 2022
Room Tip: must climb stairs
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$410
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$409
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$627
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.4 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$453
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.0 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.9 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    1.0 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    • Priceline
    1.2 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Lol.travel
    4.7 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$430
    • Expedia.com
      AU$439
    4.5 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$334
    • eDreams
    2.5 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$419
    • Expedia.com
      AU$426
    4.8 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Tofino
    Reviews (142)
    Filter reviews
    142 results
    Traveller rating
    133
    6
    1
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    133
    6
    1
    1
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews black beans pacific rim suite privacy bc
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 142 reviews
    Reviewed 16 January 2022

    Lots of fun at Black Bear, love the privacy and proximity to the beach. Would recommend in a heartbeat. Quiet, safe neighborhood tucked out of site. I can't wait until my next pacific rim adventure at the guesthouse.

    Date of stay: January 2022
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Joce456
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management response:Responded 18 January 2022

    Thanks for the lovely review Jocelyn,
    Lovely meeting you and please come stay again!

    Kindly,

    Bobbi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

    I booked this guesthouse last year in mid 2020 and this week have been told that they want me to cancel my booking as they don't want visitors from the UK due to covid. I'm aware that nearer the time our trip may have to be postponed but to cancel this far ahead is appalling. The UK vaccine rollout is one of the best in the world so far so by Easter we would have been vaccinated so really annoyed that now I'm having to hunt high and low for a replacement hotel for my husbands 50th. After this I would urge uk visitors to look elsewhere as they clearly do not want our business. 😒

    Date of stay: January 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    3  Thank mellieha1978
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management response:Responded 18 January 2022

    Nothing to do with not wanting UK visitors. Under the circumstances I would hope that you would have more understanding. Canada was just opening up to local travel and considering the dire situation of so many businesses like ours it was not possible to book oversea travellers.
    It’s very unfortunate you have no empathy for the situation many of us with businesses founds ourselves in with the lockdowns. Sorry you had to be put in such a position that almost ruined your husbands 50th. I’m glad we still have a business that survived the restrictions and shutdowns.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

    My husband and I stayed at The Black Bear Guesthouse for our three night stay in Tofino. From the moment we arrived Our hosts Bobbi and Jay made us feel at home. The suite has an open concept feel to it, with a private bedroom. The kitchen is outfitted with all the appliances, glassware and utensils you could dream of needing, and the cupboards are well stocked with basic staples. Bobbi and Jay stock their place with local vendor supplies, including coffee and kombucha. We took Jay’s suggestion and enjoyed our coffee on the deck watching the sunrise, cozied up blankets supplied for the deck. Their property overlooks the tidal mudflat which is in the Nature Reserve, providing plenty of bird watching opportunities. Tall windows give the distinct feeling if living in the middle of a forest (yes, we are). The big bonus: a private hot tub! Will definitely recommend this place to all my friends!

    Date of stay: October 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Nellemarie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

    Our family of three (Mum, Dad & 12yr old son) stayed three nights in August 2018 in the Cedar Suite. Very cosy but easily enough room for all of us (even with a foldaway bed for our son). Friendly hosts, nicely furnished, great shower room and a useful lobby area with coffee machine, fridge etc.
    Great deck at the back of the house with lovely views across the creek - we saw bald eagles, ospreys and, yes, a couple of Black Bears in the distance!!! Also only a five minute walk across the road to beautiful Chesterman Beach.

    Tofino is an expensive place to stay but we thought Black Bear Guesthouse pretty reasonably priced.

    Date of stay: August 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Rice200510
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. Happy you enjoyed your stay with family.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 August 2018

    We have been here in August for 3 nights! We loved it so much! It is about 5 Min. with the car away from Tofino. It is beautiful located in a small bay. Many beaches and trails are so close. Tacofino (you have to try it when you like Tacos) is also real close! Our room was perfectly clean and super cool decorated. Bobby the owner was just fantastic. So incredible nice! She helped us with every matter, especially with our problem, that the airline lost our luggage. If you want to visit Tofino (which you should, because it is such a great place) you want to stay at this guesthouse. We were so happy that we found it.

    Date of stay: August 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Gleissner1985
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

    Thanks for the lovely review. Come back soon to get your Tacofino fix. Happy to hear you had a great stay!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews