We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marc E

Long weekend at the Black Bear Guesthouse was amazing !!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Nov 2017
Spent four amazing days at the Black Bear Guesthouse and are looking forward to going back soon. The Guesthouse is absolutely gorgeous. The owners Jay and Bobbi are awesome . Would highly recommend it.
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Thanks for the kind review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$730
  • Expedia.com
    AU$730
  • StayForLong
    AU$717
  • Hotels.com
    AU$730
2.4 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Perfect location in downtown Tofino - close to the waterfront, shops, restaurants and grocery store.
AU$467
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$467
  • Vio.com
    AU$467
  • Agoda.com
    AU$468
4.8 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Room #1
AU$351
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$351
  • Agoda.com
    AU$351
  • eDreams
    AU$351
4.7 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$244
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$244
  • Priceline
    AU$244
  • eDreams
    AU$244
29.9 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Loft
AU$678
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$679
  • Hotels.com
    AU$679
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$678
30.3 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free parking
The Two Bedroom Suite at the Bayshore Waterfront Inn
AU$434
  • Expedia.com
    AU$434
  • Hotels.com
    AU$434
  • Priceline
    AU$434
30.4 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$332
  • Hotels.com
    AU$332
  • Expedia.com
    AU$332
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$332
30.7 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe King
AU$484
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$484
  • Hotels.com
    AU$436
  • Priceline
    AU$484
30.8 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$508
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$577
  • Hotels.com
    AU$577
  • Priceline
    AU$508
32.3 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Renovated Room
AU$224
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
63.1 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tofino
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
133
6
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
133
6
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black beans pacific rim suite privacy bc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Location was only a couple minutes drive into Tofino, owners go extra mile to provide you with things to make you stay more enjoyable ( provided us with rubber boots (our sizes) to walk the beaches and explore. rain suits in rooms to use , offered us bikes as well. recommended several activities and hikes to do as well as places to eat. Room was spotless clean bed was comfy.. note no TV in the room which we knew before renting

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Thank you for the lovely review, glad you got to enjoy the 'foul weather' gear and get outside despite the weather.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the cedar room. Decor to a high standard with underfloor heating and a very nice bathroom. Very friendly and helpful hosts. There is a pub serving meals (Jamie's) including breakfast a short walk away and Chesterman Beach (very scenic with surfing) also an easy walk. Tofino is a short drive. There is private parking, tea and coffee making facilities and a separate foyer with seating. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidmU6919YG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Thanks for the lovely review. Unfortunately Jamies is no longer but there are other options fairly close that are great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This Guesthouse is a very nice place to stay.
It is very close to the beach and it is very close to the city.
We stayed in the Cedar room and it was very nice. Everything was well prepared, they even had rain boots and rain coats ready for us.
Unfortunately we were not so lucky with the weather but there were lots of things to do. Bobbi and Jay recommended us lots of restaurants and things to do during the rainy weather.
I believe this location must be beautiful in the summer time as well!
Don't hesitate to book it - you will have a wonderful time here.

Room tip: If you don't mind not having a TV and kitchen take the Cedar room - it is very cosy!!
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohnlcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Thanks for the review! Sorry the weather wasn't the best but a good reason to come back for another visit. Perhaps September which is definitely my favourite month of the year.
Thanks again and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Cedar room for two nights which is in a annexe attached to the main house. It was spotless and tastefully decorated with lovely touches everywhere. The bathroom was lovely, heaps nicer than many hotels. The house is situated on an inlet and there is a small deck with comfortable chairs you can relax in and take in the incredible view. I could have spent days there easily. I would have no hesitation recommending this lovely place to stay, perfect for a couple. There is a larger room upstairs I believe but we were very happy indeed with our adorable little place. The hosts were very easy to deal with and provided heaps of information on getting there, the area in general and what to do and where to eat as well. Excellent value.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank haytayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thanks for the lovely review guys, so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Warmly,

Bobbi & Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

The Black Bear Guest House is a wonderful place to stay. We had the cedar room which was lovely and clean. It is a really modern space, well laid out, with the bathroom in particular really well done. Bobbi is a really great host and was especially helpful when our whale watching got cancelled. She has a beautiful space outside looking out into the estuary you can use and the place is located only a few minutes drive from Tofino. Would stay again if ever in Tofino.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 2wreckless
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Thanks for the review guys! Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews