We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
2wreckless
Bradford, United Kingdom

Wonderful B&B

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 May 2016via mobile
The Black Bear Guest House is a wonderful place to stay. We had the cedar room which was lovely and clean. It is a really modern space, well laid out, with the bathroom in particular really well done. Bobbi is a really great host and was especially helpful when our whale watching got cancelled. She has a beautiful space outside looking out into the estuary you can use and the place is located only a few minutes drive from Tofino. Would stay again if ever in Tofino.
Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Thanks for the review guys! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$725
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    AU$609
  • Expedia.com
    AU$726
1.0 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$724
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
4.0 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$974
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$975
  • StayForLong
    AU$954
  • Hotels.com
    AU$972
2.4 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room #1
AU$381
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$381
4.7 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
1.2 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
1.8 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
4.7 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.7 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tofino
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
133
6
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
133
6
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black beans pacific rim suite privacy bc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2016

A nice and well laid-out one-bedroom suite. We were impressed by the thoughtful details included in the well stocked kitchen, the overall cleanliness of the facility and by how helpful Bobbi and Jay were. Improvements could be made to the Wifi and the quality of the beds but otherwise, we were very satisfied and would come back again in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jasonspratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Thanks for the review. Tofino has since gotten Fiber Optic cable and so we have high speed internet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We rented both the apartment and the suite located in an annex of the owner's house. Confortable and spacious, located near an ocean's arm in the middle of the forest, very quiet place and kind hosts. The sofa bed in the apartment's lounge is a bit soft otherwise nothing negative. 10 min. drive from Tofino Black Bear guesthouse is a superb accommodation.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank repachlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Thanks for the review! We've upgraded and have a top of the line American Leather sofa bed. They are comparable to a proper bed so to ensure absolute guest comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We realy enjoyed our stay in Black Bear Guesthouse. It's a beautiful suite in a peaceful enveriment. Close to Tofino town, but not on walkingdistance. Bobbi and Jay are very friendly and helpful. Thank you for the great time!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Thanks for the lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Our visit to Tofino was definitely a highlight of our trip to Vancouver Island in June of this year. We were privileged to stay at the Black Bear Guesthouse with our Hosts Bobbi & Jay. The location could not be better, situated in woods on an inlet, it felt absolutely secluded although ~100m from the main road whilst only a few minutes drive from downtown Tofino.

The house is a large, modern and spacious L-shaped wooden building (see photo) with the owners living in one half and the other half is let out. Our apartment was very comfortable and fitted with a modern bathroom. There were no cooking facilities in the downstairs apartment, (there may be some plans to change this), but this was hardly a problem as we ate in town most of time anyhow.

Our Hosts, Bobbi & Jay and extremely knowledgeable concerning the wildlife and were really helpful with all kinds of tips regarding tours, wildlife adventures, kayaking, where to eat etc etc. We spent our evenings with a bottle of wine looking out over the bay spotting wildlife..as the names says, Black Bears are forever present.

If you are looking for comfortable accomodation in an idyllic setting, then this is the place.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 181kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Thank you, what a lovely review. Glad you were able to enjoy the peace and scenery of the Inlet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We were privileged to stay two nights at the black bear guest house near tofino and what a place. Tucked away and over looking a fabulous inlet it was just a fantastic experience. In evening you can sit in two gorgeous chairs discretely located in forest overlooking the inlet to wildlife watch ..........

Accommodation just superb our host bobbi just gorgeous and perfect location for early morning walks. Ten minutes from tofino and completely self contained thanks ,Bobbi awesome place heather and Steve Beswick Broome Western Australia

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Thanks for the stunning review! Great to host you and maybe a return trip one day is in the plan!
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews