We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
repachlo
Givrins, Switzerland

Haven of peace in the forest

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Oct 2015
We rented both the apartment and the suite located in an annex of the owner's house. Confortable and spacious, located near an ocean's arm in the middle of the forest, very quiet place and kind hosts. The sofa bed in the apartment's lounge is a bit soft otherwise nothing negative. 10 min. drive from Tofino Black Bear guesthouse is a superb accommodation.
Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Thanks for the review! We've upgraded and have a top of the line American Leather sofa bed. They are comparable to a proper bed so to ensure absolute guest comfort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
    0.9 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Skyscanner.com
    1.0 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
    • Vio.com
    1.2 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$726
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    1.0 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    0.4 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      1.4 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • ZenHotels.com
      1.8 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Expedia.com
      • Hotels.com
      4.7 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Skyscanner.com
        AU$724
      • eDreams
      4.0 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      AU$974
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
        AU$974
      2.4 km from Black Bear Guesthouse
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Tofino
      Reviews (142)
      Filter reviews
      142 results
      Traveller rating
      133
      6
      1
      1
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      133
      6
      1
      1
      1
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews black beans pacific rim suite privacy bc
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      15 - 20 of 142 reviews
      Reviewed 9 October 2015

      We realy enjoyed our stay in Black Bear Guesthouse. It's a beautiful suite in a peaceful enveriment. Close to Tofino town, but not on walkingdistance. Bobbi and Jay are very friendly and helpful. Thank you for the great time!

      Date of stay: July 2015
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Kaat P
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

      Thanks for the lovely review!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 September 2015

      Our visit to Tofino was definitely a highlight of our trip to Vancouver Island in June of this year. We were privileged to stay at the Black Bear Guesthouse with our Hosts Bobbi & Jay. The location could not be better, situated in woods on an inlet, it felt absolutely secluded although ~100m from the main road whilst only a few minutes drive from downtown Tofino.

      The house is a large, modern and spacious L-shaped wooden building (see photo) with the owners living in one half and the other half is let out. Our apartment was very comfortable and fitted with a modern bathroom. There were no cooking facilities in the downstairs apartment, (there may be some plans to change this), but this was hardly a problem as we ate in town most of time anyhow.

      Our Hosts, Bobbi & Jay and extremely knowledgeable concerning the wildlife and were really helpful with all kinds of tips regarding tours, wildlife adventures, kayaking, where to eat etc etc. We spent our evenings with a bottle of wine looking out over the bay spotting wildlife..as the names says, Black Bears are forever present.

      If you are looking for comfortable accomodation in an idyllic setting, then this is the place.

      Date of stay: June 2015
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank 181kevin
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

      Thank you, what a lovely review. Glad you were able to enjoy the peace and scenery of the Inlet.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

      We were privileged to stay two nights at the black bear guest house near tofino and what a place. Tucked away and over looking a fabulous inlet it was just a fantastic experience. In evening you can sit in two gorgeous chairs discretely located in forest overlooking the inlet to wildlife watch ..........

      Accommodation just superb our host bobbi just gorgeous and perfect location for early morning walks. Ten minutes from tofino and completely self contained thanks ,Bobbi awesome place heather and Steve Beswick Broome Western Australia

      Date of stay: September 2015
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Heather B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

      Thanks for the stunning review! Great to host you and maybe a return trip one day is in the plan!
      All the best!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 7 August 2015

      A beautiful, clean and well equipped suite - everything you need to prepare your own meals, including a balcony with bbq. The bed and sofabed are very comfortable. Quiet residential area, but conveniently located to "downtown" Tofino. Fantastic place to stay!

      Date of stay: August 2015
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      1  Thank KarenB0560
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

      Thanks for the lovely review!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

      My friends and I had a wonderful stay. The suite had everything we needed. We enjoyed many of the delicious restaurants in town but also cooked up a nice meal in the suite. Bobbi and Jay were great hosts-so friendly and helpful with our needs and questions. I know we were all wishing we could stay longer and look forward to coming back!

      Date of stay: May 2015
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      1  Thank jer567
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

      Thanks for the lovely review! Please come back again for another stay as return guests are our favourite!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews