We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$401
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
No prepayment needed
AU$402
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Cannuckk
Langley, Canada

Choose your Room Category with Care

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Nov 2023via mobile
We booked this facility at a special promotional rate, and ended up with a 1st floor, no view room. Our thinking was in November, we probably would use the room just for sleeping, and so the extra cost of a view room wasn’t justifiable.
The room we got was fine, as a place to sleep, but I must admit I wished I had upgraded. ( We actually wondered if we might get an upgrade anyway, since the hotel was pretty quiet the days we were there, but complimentary upgrades apparently aren’t part of this hotel’s marketing strategy, which is fair enough).
As others have mentioned, the term Resort maybe isn’t the best way to describe this hotel, because other than the fitness room ( we didn’t use it, but it looked first class) there really aren’t any shared amenities that one might ordinarily associate with a “resort”. That’s fine if you reserve a view room all of which seem to come with balconies and sitting chairs to enable one to enjoy a coffee or glass of wine outdoors if the weather cooperates. The first floor rooms have no deck chairs or really any private outdoor space, and since there is no shared public space, you can only stay in your room. I have to say that detracted a bit from our experience.
Notwithstanding the above, we had a comfortable two night stay. We appreciated being able to bring our dog, and also the fact that the extra fee for doing so was a flat” per stay” fee and not a daily feee. The unaffiliated restaurant adjacent to the hotel was excellent as well.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tofino R Marina, Marketing at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this review
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We aim to have our guests leaving satisfied with their visit and your feedback will help our team improve our guest experience in the future.

Regarding complementary room upgrades, we do our best to accommodate as many as possible during the slower months, however this is still dependent on room availability and ensuring upgrades are the same bed type that was initially booked. This is also the time of year that we conduct maintenance and improvements on rooms, which may have also limited what was available during your stay.

We are sorry to hear that this had an impact on your experience but are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay overall and enjoyed your dining experience at Shelter Restaurant to. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$440
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$479
  • Expedia.com
    AU$478
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Tofino Resort + Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$445
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$445
1.1 km from Tofino Resort + Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
AU$384
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$328
  • Algotels
    AU$311
  • Hotels.com
    AU$386
3.1 km from Tofino Resort + Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$574
  • BestWestern.com
    AU$574
  • StayForLong
    AU$556
  • Hotels.com
    AU$575
2.1 km from Tofino Resort + Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$438
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$439
2.3 km from Tofino Resort + Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$340
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$370
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$381
2.0 km from Tofino Resort + Marina
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$405
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$440
1.1 km from Tofino Resort + Marina
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from Tofino Resort + Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
    3.7 km from Tofino Resort + Marina
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Vio.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    5.1 km from Tofino Resort + Marina
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Tofino
    Reviews (419)
    Filter reviews
    419 results
    Traveller rating
    247
    85
    45
    21
    21
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    247
    85
    45
    21
    21
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews captain joe ultimate adventure sea lions adventure center dyson fan whale watching tour grey whales king suite see whales bear watching room was spacious front desk staff low tide clams visiting tofino amazing location get away
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 419 reviews
    Reviewed 30 September 2023

    Had an unforgettable experience today! With our guide Dave from Tofino Resort + Marina, Adventure Center we went to see otters, seals and especially whales in a super fast, but also safe and comfortable boat. Dave told us a lot about the area and how whales swim and dive to resurface and breathe in certain patterns. We were very lucky and spotted six whales during our tour! This exceeded our expectations. We recommend everyone to book this excursion and make an unforgettable memory!

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Wouter S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TRM Marketing Manager, Marketing at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

    Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time and for providing such good feedback! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your adventure with the Tofino Resort + Marina. We will make sure to pass on your compliment to our Captain Dave and hope to see you again soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 September 2023

    We had the most amazing morning sea kayaking with our guide. There was a boat trip out to the floating dock, so when we paddled we were deep into the Sound, it was beautiful weather, peaceful, gorgeous scenery and our guide help point out the nature and wildlife. Would highly recommend this professional company, with great customer service

    Room tip: There is some parking on site
    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank helenbE8025RN
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TRM Marketing Manager, Marketing at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

    Hi Helen, Thank you so much for your awesome review. We are glad you enjoyed your adventure with the Tofino Resort + Marina! We will be sure to pass on your compliments to our Captain Cali. We hope you join us for another adventure soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

    We chose this hotel rather than another recommended by our travel agent. We were there for 5 days.
    Location in Tofino centre is great and ideal for shops, Jamie’s Whaling etc.
    We were really disappointed with the room. It was on the ground floor, was very small and dark inside, with very limited tea, coffee, no safe or ironing board and an oversized bed frame that didn’t fit the mattress!
    No balcony or outside area, unlike those on 1st or 2nd floor and a constant stream of people walking or driving past the one window we did have. Parking wasn’t easy and we often had to park away from the room. We did ask to move room but we’re told all other rooms were booked.
    With no restaurant on site the in room tea/coffee m, catering etc was really disappointing but there was no table to eat at anyway! Trying to book a table at the Shelter restaurant on-site was pretty much impossible. Would be good if hotel residents had some sort of dedicated reservation line or priority booking?
    No one asked if we’d enjoyed our stay when we left or asked for feedback.
    Not sure why it calls itself a resort as it’s all a bit disjointed and the room was nothing more than a cheap motel room. Sorry!

    Room tip: Avoid ground floor rooms. Limited number of restaurants in Tofino. Book early!
    Date of stay: September 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank David F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TRM Marketing Manager, Marketing at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

    Hi David, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear you could not quite enjoy your stay with us. We would be happy to welcome you back to a room you feel more comfortable with. Please give us a call for your next booking so we can make sure the room suits your needs better.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 September 2023

    PSA (that did not change my star rating) If you're a Tesla driver thinking of booking here because tesla destination chargers are advertised, be aware that they do not exist as of Labor Day 2023. There is a now a single, high demand, off brand charger here. It works fine but there is much higher charging demand than there are chargers in tofino. So, if you get lucky enough to plug in here please keep an eye on your charging and move your car promptly so everyone can charge up as needed. It looks like there were additional chargers here recently and they were out of order and then removed but the internet hasn't yet caught up.

    Tofino Resort & Marina has a beautiful website that really sells you on the property. That said, it is not as much a resort as it is a group of three associated businesses.

    The lodging buildings are exterior entry older motel-style construction, which has somewhat been updated. We ended up with a first floor room. It faced the water and sort of had a view from outside. We weren't expecting a view so this was fine. The unit had a separate living and sleeping room, which was nice and gave plenty of room for all our gear. There was even a spot outside to hang your wet gear and plenty of room for shoes and what not.

    The walls featured beautiful photos and the white on white look was nice. But, overall the rooms were just not very cozy. Tofino is in a level three drought, so we skipped showering since we were only there two nights.

    We did enjoy dinner at shelter both evenings. The food & drinks were excellent. If you don't get a reservation, don't fret. They only reserve 30 % of the restaurant and we were told the wait is rarely over an hour. We were able to walk right in both times.

    We didn't get to experience the adventure center because we arrived late on day 1 and their hot springs excursion was booked up the full day we were in town. They do have a variety of interesting looking excursions though!

    We liked that the location was walkable to town. We also walked down to Tofino brewing one afternoon. It would be awesome if they added a rental bike fleet to their offerings so you could just park your car and easily get around to the further flung places.

    I would maybe stay here again as I thought the price was resonable-ish for the area. The hotel itself felt very mid-- not great, not bad.

    Room tip: tesla chargers advertised but don't actually exist
    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank schwung
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TRM Marketing Manager, Marketing at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time and share your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our rooms, the location, and the Shelter Restaurant. However, we are sorry about the confusion with the Tesla chargers. You're right, currently, we only have one electric vehicle (EV) charging station. Tesla adaptors are available. We aim to have our guests leaving satisfied with their visit and will share your review with our team to better our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back again!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

    Our whale watching tour with Dave was an amazing experience. We got to see lots of sightings of grey whales, some really close to the boat, as well as otters, seals and a sea lion! Dave was a great guide, with loads of information about all the wildlife and the surrounding area, and driving through spectacular scenery in a really fast rib was super fun! This is a trip you should definitely do in Tofino!

    Date of stay: September 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank 450nicolak
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TRM Marketing Manager, Marketing at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2023

    Hi there, Thank you so much for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed the whale watching tour and we will be sure to pass on your compliments to our Captain Dave. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you join us for another adventure soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews