We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tracy H
Braunton, United Kingdom

Magical stay at Cox Bay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 May 2024
Magical stay at Cox Bay Beach Resort April '24 for just over a week. Its right by the beach - fantastic walks on your doorstep and amazing sunsets! Close to the Tofino Tourist Information building. Lovely accomodation - spacious apartment, very clean, really comfortable, lovely and warm, tasteful furnishings, well equipped and super comfy beds. Very relaxed atmosphere. Great hot tub, gym, lounge and sea viewing room. Staff were welcoming, really friendly and helpful - thanks for an amazing stay - can't wait to go back! ✨
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: There are no cafes on site but there's one next door at Pacific Sands - also have a takeaway &...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$406
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$406
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Cox Bay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$629
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.5 km from Cox Bay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$455
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.2 km from Cox Bay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$428
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
6.0 km from Cox Bay Beach Resort
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Cox Bay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Cox Bay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.9 km from Cox Bay Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      0.2 km from Cox Bay Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Vio.com
      • Expedia.com
      • Lol.travel
      5.9 km from Cox Bay Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
        AU$441
      • Priceline
      5.7 km from Cox Bay Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Tofino
      Reviews (397)
      Filter reviews
      397 results
      Traveller rating
      244
      117
      21
      7
      8
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      244
      117
      21
      7
      8
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews bedroom dog wagon gated laundry bathtub rain rental
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 397 reviews
      Reviewed 27 February 2024

      We stayed at this resort a few years ago and always wanted to return. Finally we slipped away for two nights and enjoyed a magical time relaxing and taking in the scenery and beaches of Tofino and the comforts of our accommodation. This resort is smaller and more intimate offering guests decently sized suites and common areas to settle in quickly and relax. Suites are clean and well-equipped with everything you need, including coffee, tea and all the fixings. We love having a washer and drier which are supplied with the soap. The king-size bed was comfortable and there was plenty of closet space to hang are garments. A generous supply of towels, including blue striped ones for the beach, was appreciated, as were the makeup towel and plenty of toilet paper. We didn't need to ask for anything extra or worry about running out of supplies. We brought our dog and it was great to know we could leave him in the room when we went out for dinner. Some hotels and short-term rentals often do not allow this. Cox Bay is smaller than some of the other beaches but don't underestimate the fury of the sea, the interesting tidal pools, rugged volcanic rocks and plenty of space to walk. It is also a great place for surfing. We are already planning our next trip back in April.

      Room tip: There are BBQs in the common area for guests' use. You have to reserve the hot tub. Fridges in suites are nice and big.
      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Annabelle C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 11 July 2023

      My family of four just returned from Cox Bay Beach resort in Tofino. We were traveling with my sister and her family.

      The location and the room layout of Cox Bay are wonderful. Cox Bay is an amazing beach for surfing and boogie boarding so it was a bonus to have that steps away from our room. We had a 1 bed unit and really liked the layout. It was spacious and the bathroom was nice. My sister had a 2bed with a loft and it was also wonderful.

      Unfortunately, we were in room 1, the farthest away from the beach. Our room was on the main floor and was VERY dark. We felt trapped and like we were in a cave. Even if you sat on the patio, it was dark. We often went to my sister's room as it was brighter. Perhaps some landscaping and trimming of bushes and trees could brighten up these areas.

      The resort is still following COVID restrictions and has a very bizarre way of booking the hot tub, gym and main hang out room. You can not book these rooms or amenities in advance, you need to show up at the desk (or call) and hope you're lucky. We were very frustrated many times as the hot tub had "just been booked" even though we had set a timer to return to the office. On another night, we tried to reserve the main room only to learn that we were given keys for the lookout room.

      I would hope that the resort would consider ending these restrictions as the hot tub is outdoors and most people only need to stay for about 20min. Coming and going from the hot tub and the gym shouldn't be a problem. The main room would have be useful if we could have just popped in and out as well.

      There are no other gathering places at the resort. It would be nice to have adirondack chairs and a fire pit or two by the main activities room or benches along the walkway so those staying in the "dark rooms" could sit in the sun a bit.

      Overall we enjoyed our stay, the price was better than other resorts in Tofino but I do not think we will be returning.

      Room tip: Ask for a room on the second floor and closer to the ocean.
      Date of stay: July 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      2  Thank LadgoestoFR
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 16 October 2022

      We recently booked a trip for our 40 th wedding anniversary. We brought our dog and booked a pet friendly room. The room smelled awful upon arrival and the windows were all open, I’m guessing to air it out. Otherwise it looked like a wonderful room, excellent location close to the beach. When I went to shower, there was black dog hair all over the bath tub, curtain and floor. Obviously not my blonde non shedding dog. I was so disappointed, paying almost $ 400 a night I expected a lot more. When I spoke to the front desk, I’ll let the manager know, they said we can send someone to clean it. ( no kidding ) No contact from the manager. We will return to Tofino, but not this resort.

      Date of stay: October 2022
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank Lynda W
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 28 July 2022 via mobile

      The Resort is a Gated Oceanfront Complex of privately owned apartments, sited before the small town of Tofino. We rented a 1 bedroom ground level apartment and it was very luxurious, spacious, clean and cozy. Laundry in a Cupboard handy, large bathroom and bedroom and very functional kitchen with large domestic frig. Gate Keypad Code advised of before arrival to enable access into the grounds. Car parking is open air and random, as space at arrival allows. The Reception Building houses pull along wagons for guests to load up with their luggage to proceed with it down the pathways to their accommodation at the rear. At that point, in the rain, we were glad we had sacrificed a sea view (perhaps) in upstairs accommodation for a ground level rental. The external wooden stairwells looked formidable and daunting in the rain. With luggage. The property is fastidiously maintained with stunning gardens providing privacy. Guest access to the stunning beach is at the very end of the complex.
      We bought groceries and food from the impressive Tofino Grocery Store and never ate out. It looked like an effort to do that, anywhere, during the time we stayed there.

      Room tip: Phone Resort if age or mobility issues need advising of.
      Date of stay: May 2022
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank POLLYANNA57
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 4 December 2021

      our condo was well equipped and modern. They need new beds! very soft and uncomfortable. The location and the beach are magnificent! We were in condo #11 which is main floor and close to the ocean. We could hear the waves at night from our open window. We will definitely return to this wonderful piece of heaven in Canada!

      Room tip: second floor rooms have ocean view.
      Date of stay: September 2021
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank PJFortney
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews