We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Accommodations, Insanely Beautiful Location w/ Amateur Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

What to know: the location is stunningly beautiful, and the accommodations are modern and very comfortable. Given the location, on a pristine stretch of sand near an ancient forest, you appreciate the efficiency of the resort’s ecological footprint.

The good: comfortable beds, fully stocked kitchens, the sauna and hot tub, and the beach.

The bad: service, one hot tub for the entire resort, early closing time for hot tub and sauna (9pm). This is a resort for retirees, and families with kids. The housekeeping service every third day is a drag (if it comes at all), and the small hot tub is a quite silly considering this is a surf town, and just about anyone who has been out in the water is hoping to relax in the at the end of the day. There as literally a line the first night we arrived, with parents and their kids waiting to get in.

Advice: Build a second and third hot tub. The Long Beach Lodge next door has a tub for every cabin unit. Not sure why the builder were thinking. Did they run out of money?

Summery: super nice place with a few flaws that make you think twice about the cost.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Naguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 338 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Steps from the beach, clean and cozy condos. The atmosphere is perfect for a restful weekend and exploring the outdoors. We recommend this place for families or couples who need an escape. Pet friendly.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

This suite is modern, large and very well designed and includes a small outside sitting area. The washer and dryer came in very handy as we were mid trip. One minute walk to the beach on Cox Bay. There is also a common hut tub and exercise room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

I loved this resort, we couldn't have wished for a better apartment to stay in. It was clean, well equipped, and finished to a high standard. The beach is right on your doorstep, and it's beautiful. Surfing was brilliant fun, and afterwards you can relax in their hot tub before using one of their Webber BBQ's and then using their fireplace in their shared area. It's just perfect - probably the highlight of our trip despite staying in other 5 star hotels for our BC holiday. Lovely, friendly team on reception too!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank marl_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Our family of 4 adults and 4 children (13,7,3,3 years old) occupied two properties. My wife and daughter (13 years) stayed in the one bedroom. Both my sister in laws and 3 children stayed in the 2 bedroom.

Pros: location, quiet after 9pm (dusk), next to beach, customer service/front desk, mosquito/bug screens on every window

Cons:
Noise from construction of new resort next door. At this time, the frame is complete and they we're adding the stairs
Construction on Saturday am

No lift to the second floor. The 2 bedroom was on the second floor and I got a good work out lugging everything up and down the stairs.

New sheets every 3rd day. Over our 6 nights, House keeping came only once. You can request new towels if you want.

Overall, I would stay again. This was peak season so we feel the price reflected the value of our stay.


Pros:
Location next to Cox bay beach

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
3.5 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
3.3 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
5.7 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.1 km away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cox Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cox Bay Beach Resort

Address: 1431 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $183 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cox Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cox Bay Beach Resort, where the West Coast of Vancouver Island meets the full might of the Pacific Ocean, nature envelops you in a spiritual way. Powerful winter storms inspire awe while summer calm instills a sense of peace and tranquility. Cox Bay Beach Resort offers forty West Coast decor one and two-bedroom beach house suites. The resort also boasts a well-appointed common-use fitness centre, sauna, outdoor hot tub overlooking the beach, a wi-fi-enabled lounge with an expansive stone fireplace, and an elevated look-out pavilion where guests can sit, read and enjoy the unrivaled views of Cox Bay Beach. Nestled next to Pacific Rim National Park and situated within Clayoquot Sound, only a seven minute drive to the world-famous village of Tofino, Cox Bay Beach Resort provides easy access for exploring all the magnificence this World Heritage site has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Cox Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cox Bay Beach Hotel Tofino
Cox Bay Beach Resort Tofino, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing