We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alko1101
Calgary, Canada

Great value

Review of Schooner Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Aug 2018via mobile
Located centrally with adequate parking. Coop is right across.
Got everything we needed. We have a 6yr old and the place worked well for us. No microwave but thats ok.complimentary coffee in the morning as well
Cant complain
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
0.2 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
    4.1 km from Schooner Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Skyscanner.com
    5.7 km from Schooner Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      3.3 km from Schooner Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Algotels
      • eDreams
      3.7 km from Schooner Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      AU$895
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        AU$895
      2.5 km from Schooner Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Hotels.com
      • Algotels
      • Vio.com
      5.9 km from Schooner Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • eDreams
      • Vio.com
      4.8 km from Schooner Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      AU$521
      Fully refundable
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        AU$521
      0.2 km from Schooner Motel
      Beachfront
        6.0 km from Schooner Motel
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Tofino
        Reviews (124)
        Filter reviews
        124 results
        Traveller rating
        5
        16
        33
        27
        43
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        5
        16
        33
        27
        43
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        12 - 17 of 124 reviews
        Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile


        Day 7 we set our sights on Tofino, BC. Tofino is a small little town on the west side of the Island. There`s something magical about it I feel. It`s also the surfing hub of Canada. You never know what celebrity you`ll bump into. This is usually where I end up before I head back. Since Tofino is a small town, lodging is limited. So expect to pay a high premium for your lodging.

        We decided on the Schooner Motel due to is positioning in the centre of the town. It`s an older family run motel that probably has seen better days. But it`s been relatively taken care of and it`s clean. The management is at best okay. I had a few questions about the area and they were unable to answer my questions. I had to seek help from Tofino`s Tour Centre.

        The room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the washrooms were clean. They even have Muskoka chairs outside your room to where to can chill and enjoy the tourists walking about the town. I enjoyed my stay and I`d probably come back to stay here.

        Date of stay: July 2018
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        1  Thank TR L
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

        This motel is disgusting. We booked and paid for 2 nights but left after 1. Main reason was the smell in the room which was terrible, almost as if someone or something had recently died in it.

        Also our room had a view to the back of the building where it was noisy and ugly. Equally as bad was the bed which was so hard it was reminiscent of sleeping on a cement floor!! We got approx. 1 hour sleep maximum.

        When we checked out the day early we politely expressed our concerns to the staff member at reception and he just smiled and said "thank you very much for staying with us"!!

        Undoubtedly one of the worst places we've ever stayed, I highly recommend you avoid it.....

        Date of stay: June 2018
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        5  Thank neilsJ8745FE
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

        We had booked 2 rooms. In one of them, the restroom was dead and the new replacement one was in the middle of the living room. We we told the staff about it, they laughed, saying it was a mistake and offered to change room without apologizing nor trying to make up for the previous night.
        The heater did not work and we got cold at night.
        Terrible staff.

        The sole positive point is its central location.

        On the hole, pick another place and keep your money!

        Date of stay: March 2018
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        4  Thank MarieG2729
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

        In desperation to find a reasonably priced motel we booked in. The price was right as was the motel. Let's be honest here it's not 4 or 5 star but clean reasonably comfortable and handy to most Tofino has to offer. Real value for money compared to some but not all accommodation in this area. Would be happy at some of the other hotels or motels in Tofino but not at 4 times the price.

        Date of stay: September 2017
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        Thank solarisnz
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

        Only stayed here for a night so can't complain too much. It had comfortable beds and a good tv but there was no tea or coffee, which was funny because there were coffee cups. No soap in the bathroom and the shower head fell off. The man behind the desk barely knew English and when we questioned why the price he gave us was $20 more then the website, he said, "yes, twenty more" Definitely not a good hotel to represent Tofino. Zero personality and horrible customer service. If you're on a budget go to the Dolphin. Extremely friendly owner who we've known for 20 years and comfortable rooms.

        Date of stay: October 2017
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        5  Thank gabriolasquad
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews