We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marie G

Don’t go there

Review of Schooner Motel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Mar 2018via mobile
We had booked 2 rooms. In one of them, the restroom was dead and the new replacement one was in the middle of the living room. We we told the staff about it, they laughed, saying it was a mistake and offered to change room without apologizing nor trying to make up for the previous night.
The heater did not work and we got cold at night.
Terrible staff.

The sole positive point is its central location.

On the hole, pick another place and keep your money!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$625
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$624
  • Priceline
    AU$625
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$624
0.9 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$895
  • Expedia.com
    AU$895
  • Vio.com
    AU$867
  • Hotels.com
    AU$894
2.5 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Perfect location in downtown Tofino - close to the waterfront, shops, restaurants and grocery store.
AU$358
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$357
  • Priceline
    AU$358
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$357
0.3 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$480
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$521
  • Hotels.com
    AU$520
  • Priceline
    AU$521
0.2 km from Schooner Motel
Beachfront
AU$503
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$503
  • Vio.com
    AU$502
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$501
3.5 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Schooner Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
5.9 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
5.9 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tofino
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
5
16
33
27
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
16
33
27
43
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

In desperation to find a reasonably priced motel we booked in. The price was right as was the motel. Let's be honest here it's not 4 or 5 star but clean reasonably comfortable and handy to most Tofino has to offer. Real value for money compared to some but not all accommodation in this area. Would be happy at some of the other hotels or motels in Tofino but not at 4 times the price.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank solarisnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Only stayed here for a night so can't complain too much. It had comfortable beds and a good tv but there was no tea or coffee, which was funny because there were coffee cups. No soap in the bathroom and the shower head fell off. The man behind the desk barely knew English and when we questioned why the price he gave us was $20 more then the website, he said, "yes, twenty more" Definitely not a good hotel to represent Tofino. Zero personality and horrible customer service. If you're on a budget go to the Dolphin. Extremely friendly owner who we've known for 20 years and comfortable rooms.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank gabriolasquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2017

After reading reviews I was dreading the stay at this Motel ! But was pleasantly surprised .
Our room was near check in was clean and the beds comfortable with nice linen.
Table and chairs outside for smokers and a small kitchen with free coffee and tea.
We where leaving early and the manager was preparing a fire in the kitchen and brewing fresh coffee, he couldn't have been more friendly.
He actually brought us a fried egg each and some fresh melon.
Would definitely stay again. Having stayed at a pricey hotel and paying $38 to park it was also nice to get free parking.
1 negative noisy fridge.

Room tip: Views upstairs
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shirleycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Schooner Motel in Torino BC. What an over priced rotten motel! Uncomfortable hard mattress, old thin bed sheets, lumpy pillows, musty smelling room. The staff were unfriendly and reluctant to give me some coffee creamers! The Schooner Motel was the worst! Don't stay here!

Date of stay: September 2017
7  Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Yes, this motel is expensive for what you get when you compare it to other places in the world, but Tofino is sought after and the choices are limited and/or very very expensive. We booked a last minute late summer trip and were grateful to find anything at all. Based on the reviews I was prepared for the worst, but (so far) we have enjoyed it just fine. No the furnishings don't match and yes it is a bit like staying in your auntie's house, but so what? It's a place to sleep in a town that is a stone's throw from the edge of the world. The linens are clean, the shower and toilet are clean, the beds are comfortable (if a bit chintzy on pillow count), the place is quiet, it smells good (unlike the cigarette smoke infused place we stayed the night before), there is fresh air, coffee in the morning,a little fridge for our beer and wine,and it is right in the midst of great little shops, restaurants and all that Tofino - in its funky, hipster-glam way - has to offer, for top dollar. Want matchy-matchy? Stay in a Best Western anywhere in the world. Want world class wilderness that makes you appreciate the planet you are lucky enough to inhabit? Schooner Motel, conveniently located across from the Co-op in downtown Tofino, BC gives you a decent place to crash. Just don't expect the currency to be the same in other places, cuz this isn't like anywhere else in the world.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MartiniMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews