We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
5
14
33
25
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
14
33
25
33
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Only stayed here for a night so can't complain too much. It had comfortable beds and a good tv but there was no tea or coffee, which was funny because there were coffee cups. No soap in the bathroom and the shower head fell off. The man behind the desk barely knew English and when we questioned why the price he gave us was $20 more then the website, he said, "yes, twenty more" Definitely not a good hotel to represent Tofino. Zero personality and horrible customer service. If you're on a budget go to the Dolphin. Extremely friendly owner who we've known for 20 years and comfortable rooms.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank gabriolasquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

After reading reviews I was dreading the stay at this Motel ! But was pleasantly surprised .
Our room was near check in was clean and the beds comfortable with nice linen.
Table and chairs outside for smokers and a small kitchen with free coffee and tea.
We where leaving early and the manager was preparing a fire in the kitchen and brewing fresh coffee, he couldn't have been more friendly.
He actually brought us a fried egg each and some fresh melon.
Would definitely stay again. Having stayed at a pricey hotel and paying $38 to park it was also nice to get free parking.
1 negative noisy fridge.

Room tip: Views upstairs
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shirleycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Schooner Motel in Torino BC. What an over priced rotten motel! Uncomfortable hard mattress, old thin bed sheets, lumpy pillows, musty smelling room. The staff were unfriendly and reluctant to give me some coffee creamers! The Schooner Motel was the worst! Don't stay here!

Date of stay: September 2017
7  Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Yes, this motel is expensive for what you get when you compare it to other places in the world, but Tofino is sought after and the choices are limited and/or very very expensive. We booked a last minute late summer trip and were grateful to find anything at all. Based on the reviews I was prepared for the worst, but (so far) we have enjoyed it just fine. No the furnishings don't match and yes it is a bit like staying in your auntie's house, but so what? It's a place to sleep in a town that is a stone's throw from the edge of the world. The linens are clean, the shower and toilet are clean, the beds are comfortable (if a bit chintzy on pillow count), the place is quiet, it smells good (unlike the cigarette smoke infused place we stayed the night before), there is fresh air, coffee in the morning,a little fridge for our beer and wine,and it is right in the midst of great little shops, restaurants and all that Tofino - in its funky, hipster-glam way - has to offer, for top dollar. Want matchy-matchy? Stay in a Best Western anywhere in the world. Want world class wilderness that makes you appreciate the planet you are lucky enough to inhabit? Schooner Motel, conveniently located across from the Co-op in downtown Tofino, BC gives you a decent place to crash. Just don't expect the currency to be the same in other places, cuz this isn't like anywhere else in the world.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MartiniMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Positive: second floor room 26 had not a bad view of water.
Chairs and wee table outside room on balcony
BC Liquor store very close
Parking space
Clean linens. Mattress sealed in full cover.
Fast and last check in
Friendly staff
Coffee room downstairs
One washer, one dryer underneath stair
Protected stairway
Hair blower worked even tho looked slightly melted
Only available accommodation for under 350! (Paid 239 plus tax)

Negative
Old hotel smell.
Sad towels, wimpy shower, squeaky poorly installed laminated flooring,
Very old very tired furnishings
Electric fireplace attached to wall made a strange noise when turned on but
Never worked at all.

Room tip: Upstairs near end
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank helenabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews