We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
gabriolasquad

Okay rooms but horrible staff

Review of Schooner Motel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Oct 2017via mobile
Only stayed here for a night so can't complain too much. It had comfortable beds and a good tv but there was no tea or coffee, which was funny because there were coffee cups. No soap in the bathroom and the shower head fell off. The man behind the desk barely knew English and when we questioned why the price he gave us was $20 more then the website, he said, "yes, twenty more" Definitely not a good hotel to represent Tofino. Zero personality and horrible customer service. If you're on a budget go to the Dolphin. Extremely friendly owner who we've known for 20 years and comfortable rooms.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
3.7 km from Schooner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
    4.1 km from Schooner Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Skyscanner.com
    • Agoda.com
    5.7 km from Schooner Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    0.2 km from Schooner Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Vio.com
      AU$722
    • Algotels
    0.9 km from Schooner Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
    • StayForLong
    5.9 km from Schooner Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    4.8 km from Schooner Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$971
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$971
    • Booking.com
    2.5 km from Schooner Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      6.0 km from Schooner Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Tofino
      Reviews (124)
      Filter reviews
      124 results
      Traveller rating
      5
      16
      33
      27
      43
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      5
      16
      33
      27
      43
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      17 - 22 of 124 reviews
      Reviewed 29 September 2017

      After reading reviews I was dreading the stay at this Motel ! But was pleasantly surprised .
      Our room was near check in was clean and the beds comfortable with nice linen.
      Table and chairs outside for smokers and a small kitchen with free coffee and tea.
      We where leaving early and the manager was preparing a fire in the kitchen and brewing fresh coffee, he couldn't have been more friendly.
      He actually brought us a fried egg each and some fresh melon.
      Would definitely stay again. Having stayed at a pricey hotel and paying $38 to park it was also nice to get free parking.
      1 negative noisy fridge.

      Room tip: Views upstairs
      Date of stay: September 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank shirleycw
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

      Stayed at the Schooner Motel in Torino BC. What an over priced rotten motel! Uncomfortable hard mattress, old thin bed sheets, lumpy pillows, musty smelling room. The staff were unfriendly and reluctant to give me some coffee creamers! The Schooner Motel was the worst! Don't stay here!

      Date of stay: September 2017
      7  Thank Shane R
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 30 August 2017

      Yes, this motel is expensive for what you get when you compare it to other places in the world, but Tofino is sought after and the choices are limited and/or very very expensive. We booked a last minute late summer trip and were grateful to find anything at all. Based on the reviews I was prepared for the worst, but (so far) we have enjoyed it just fine. No the furnishings don't match and yes it is a bit like staying in your auntie's house, but so what? It's a place to sleep in a town that is a stone's throw from the edge of the world. The linens are clean, the shower and toilet are clean, the beds are comfortable (if a bit chintzy on pillow count), the place is quiet, it smells good (unlike the cigarette smoke infused place we stayed the night before), there is fresh air, coffee in the morning,a little fridge for our beer and wine,and it is right in the midst of great little shops, restaurants and all that Tofino - in its funky, hipster-glam way - has to offer, for top dollar. Want matchy-matchy? Stay in a Best Western anywhere in the world. Want world class wilderness that makes you appreciate the planet you are lucky enough to inhabit? Schooner Motel, conveniently located across from the Co-op in downtown Tofino, BC gives you a decent place to crash. Just don't expect the currency to be the same in other places, cuz this isn't like anywhere else in the world.

      Date of stay: August 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank MartiniMum
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 21 August 2017

      Positive: second floor room 26 had not a bad view of water.
      Chairs and wee table outside room on balcony
      BC Liquor store very close
      Parking space
      Clean linens. Mattress sealed in full cover.
      Fast and last check in
      Friendly staff
      Coffee room downstairs
      One washer, one dryer underneath stair
      Protected stairway
      Hair blower worked even tho looked slightly melted
      Only available accommodation for under 350! (Paid 239 plus tax)

      Negative
      Old hotel smell.
      Sad towels, wimpy shower, squeaky poorly installed laminated flooring,
      Very old very tired furnishings
      Electric fireplace attached to wall made a strange noise when turned on but
      Never worked at all.

      Room tip: Upstairs near end
      Date of stay: August 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      1  Thank helenabe
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

      In Tofino for a fishing charter with friends. Stayed at this motel for two nights and it was the worst. We almost weren't allowed to check-in because it was 10:00 pm (although we had confirmed the night prior with the hotel that we would be late). The owners hassled is the entire stay. Poor wifi and extremely dated decor.

      We tried to use the toaster the following morning and we just about had an electrical fire in the room due to poor electrical wiring.

      Further, when we went to use the ice machine (every store in Tofino had run out of ice), the owner screamed at us. This motel is terrible; absolutely nothing positive to say.

      Date of stay: September 2016
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      3  Thank megsidey
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews