We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Steve W
Vancouver Island, Canada

Great view but needs attention to detail

Review of Vista Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Nov 2017via mobile
Was impressed with the view from the deck and size of the rooms. I expected a bit more from the reviews. Don't like to knit pick but there are more than a few items that need attention. The closet door in main bedroom is broken off and laying inside the closet. The fireplace does not work. The remotes for TV have dead batteries. Their was no soap for doing dishes as well no dish washer detergent. This explains why all the dishes that are supplied were covered in grease. I called the owner and she brought soap, so we washed all the dishes. The toilet has a broken flush button and has continuously running water. I think these house keeping issues should of been addressed prior to our arrival. Good things about this place, it's minutes from shopping, terrific view and the hot tub was a plus. Good news for the next people that stay here. The dishes are all clean and we put new batteries in one of the remotes.
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$492
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$492
  • Expedia.com
    AU$494
  • Hotels.com
    AU$495
1.1 km from Vista Hermosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$731
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$730
  • StayForLong
    AU$718
  • Expedia.com
    AU$732
2.6 km from Vista Hermosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Perfect location in downtown Tofino - close to the waterfront, shops, restaurants and grocery store.
AU$467
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$467
  • Vio.com
    AU$467
  • Agoda.com
    AU$468
0.1 km from Vista Hermosa
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Room #1
AU$351
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$351
  • Agoda.com
    AU$351
  • eDreams
    AU$351
0.2 km from Vista Hermosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Vista Hermosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Vista Hermosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Vista Hermosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
6.0 km from Vista Hermosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
6.1 km from Vista Hermosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Vista Hermosa
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Tofino
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
39
16
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
16
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017

The west coast of Vancouver Island is among the most beautiful and dynamic areas we have ever seen. Vista Hermosa is located above the Tofino wharf with a bird's eye view of all the activities and natural rhythms of the protected harbour. This is not a hotel. We were in a Studio Suite which is the sea view corner of an apartment complex. The unit was comfortable, quite clean, with a reasonably well equipped kitchen. The window coverings do not allow for real, daytime darkness and there are hills and stairs to climb, no matter where you are going. That didn't matter to us. It is not a wheelchair or limited mobility friendly spot. Nearly all services and shops are within a 5 minute stroll. There is a very well stocked Co-Op grocery store only a block away. (You will need to go a bit further to buy live crabs.) We felt the price for the accommodation was good value.
The weather was nearly perfect while we were on the coast, so the hikes, canoe tour, local walking trips and deck sitting were all spectacular.

Room tip: This is not a hotel, so there are no services to speak of.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We felt like home. Great place to spend your holidays and perfect host´s treatment.
It is in the town and the views are so beatufull.
We would definately repeat experience. I hope soon!!
Highly recommended!!

Room tip: perfect for Friends, family or romantic trip. I love the valcony!!!!
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank camposcassinello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2017

My Family and I stayed the first week of April in vista Hermosa Oceanfront studio
and we had a Wonderful and Great Stay . Since 2015 we come back 3 year on the row .We loved the place is so relaxing an also like because everything is Near and Central .Restaurant, the Market , the Museum, and the Park . Thank you Atriz M

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tuty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

This has been one of the best places I have ever stayed in. It's a challenge having a relaxing evening with two very small kids. But it's was actually comfortable staying there and the location is prefect for those evening strolls. It was my first time staying in tofino but by far the best experience staying anywhere. I hope to get back there this summer !

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Beautiful view, cute suite, equipped adequately, responsive and helpful hosts, and very good "in town" location.

What would prevent me from going back: the incessant vent noise from the Oyster House just across the way on the water (runs 24 hours a day and can be heard inside it is so loud). There is also the matter of being on top of a small restaurants with tables outside. Overall, the Tofino harbor front is not a quiet place so it might be OK if someone wants to be in the middle of things.

What the owners could do differently? Let people know that it is not a quiet spot, update the grungy bathroom, patch the baseboard and the paint, put up blinds that block night lights and day light, replace pitted and rusted pots and pans.

Lots of potential here despite noise issues that cannot be controlled by the owners.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maryse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews