We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel that has it all!”
Review of Carmel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Quaint and comfortable motel. We were welcome by the owners Cory and Crystal. My husband and I booked queen bed room on ground floor. The room met all my needs, ground floor, non-smoking, wifi, ac/heating, CLEAN, and guest laundry. The room was tidy and clean. Were pleasantly surprised that we received a voucher for continental breakfast or 4$ off on breakfast at restaurant next door. The shower tub was new and larger than most hotels we stayed. Our room also had a mini kitchenette. Crystal and Cory's attention to detail with their great customer service is why I recommend Carmel Inn. The price was a great value and all their rooms were sold out.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor, no elevator. Only stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawaiisurfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Manager, General Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Hey Hawaiisurfn!
Wow! Thank you so very much for your kind words! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our amenities suited your needs. We are also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast deal.

Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Rooms are small and not great but for one evening they have what you need. Anyone with pets beware that they are not pet friendly. If they discover that you have a little pet with you they fine you on your credit card over $100, might be a little more. They are right beside a restaurant which is convenient.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mcgiveral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Manager, General Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hi Mcgiveral,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am not sure how our pet policy was miscommunicated as we are very pet friendly here at the Carmel Inn.
For all our guests comfort, we offer DESIGNATED pet friendly rooms. As we do have guests who are allergic to pet hair/dander, we guarantee non pet rooms. A penalty fee is charged if any pets are brought into a non-pet room as there is extensive cleaning that must be done to ensure this comfort for all our future guests.
We have our pet policy posted on our website, on our online booking engines along with signs at the front desk upon check in.
We would love to see you again the next time you are in Prince George, and if you are travelling with a furry family member, be sure to call in advance to make sure that we have a pet friendly room available for your arrival!

Thanks again for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This is our second time staying at Carmel Inn. Room is always clean and with such an affordable price. Check in / out was seamless. Arrived later in evening, convenient having a restaurant next door. Ate supper at the restaurant, was excellent but skipped breakfast. Coupon doesn't give you much off the full breakfast. But would rather have less cost for a room and can each breaky on the fly.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper stay on the second level, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dndplaytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Manager, General Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi dndplaytime!

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As we have received much great feedback about our breakfast deal, we are sorry to hear that it wasn’t to your satisfaction. Upon implementing our breakfast deal over a year ago, our rates did not change, and still haven’t changed. We added this as an added bonus/amenity for our guests.
Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback! We hope to see you again the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night as part of a road trip to Alaska. The room was a very pleasant surprise for the price; clean, renovated, spacious,with a very comfortable king size bed. Included was a small frig and microwave. Parking is ample, and our room at the back was quiet. There was only one side with a reading light, and not many plug ins in room.

The real negative was the included "continental " breakfast at the restaurant next door. It consisted of coffee or juice, a muffin or toast , and an apple or orange. The muffin was of a grocery store variety, and the apple bruised and tired. A much poorer continental offering than we experienced elsewhere. My husband chose to get $4 off a full breakfast; the potatoes were of the frozen variety and brown toast was supermarket average fare. With a $2.50 charge for coffee, this amounted to a $1.50 discount... the service was indifferent and unhelpful. Would stay at the motel again but eat elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Candiantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Manager, General Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi Canadiantourist!

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your travels! We are very sorry to hear about your experience at the restaurant. I can assure you that I have passed this feedback on to the Restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are travelling through Prince George!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

As we always travel with our dog, we booked online. Easy to find but wish we had kept on going. After booking in, the room was dingy, very dated, old dog food on the floor which we had to clear up before letting our pet in. A very strong chemical smell resulted in breathing issues, after advising the staff that we could not stay in the room, they showed us another room which was no different. Positive side, the staff extremely friendly and understanding and did not bill us for the cancellation at the last moment.

Room Tip: Check the room before booking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeterJtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Manager, General Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi PeterJtrips,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback. We are still looking into what the smell was in this room as we do not use harsh chemicals in any of our rooms. We have spoken with our housekeeping manager, and this situation is being dealt with, along with extra cleaning.
We truly do apologize for your experience, and hope that you give us another opportunity the next time you are in Prince George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince George hotels
2 km away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#3 of 23 in Prince George
321 reviews
2.3 km away
Travelodge Prince George Goldcap BC
2.4 km away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#2 of 23 in Prince George
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#5 of 23 in Prince George
305 reviews
2.3 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn Prince George
2.3 km away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Prince George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn

Address: 1502 Highway 97 S, Prince George, British Columbia V2L 5L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Price Range: $89 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Carmel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing