We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, tasty dishes”
Review of Thai New West

Thai New West
Price range: USD 12 - USD 25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Thai New West Restaurant celebrates pure Thai in a contemporary setting in New Westminster. Hot, Sour, Salty, Sweet and Bitter...Experience an explosion of fresh and exotic Thai flavors! Mussaman, Pad Thai, Penang...Every delicacy is pure and prepared using fresh and quality ingredients. Pampering and unpretentious, Thai New West Restaurant celebrates a simple menu that promises to delight your senses! Opening hours Tuesday - Sunday Lunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm Dinner: 5pm - 9:00pm (kitchen closes 30 minutes prior to restaurant closing time).
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Nice spring rolls for starter followed by a green curry, panang, pineapple fried rice and Pad Thai. Not the best Thai I have had (but we have eaten a lot of Thai) but everything was flavoursome and enjoyable none the less. We did like that you could customized the curry heat to suit as our group had a range of spice tolerances. Service was very good, Would visit again!

Thank Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Thai New West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Can’t say it lives up to all the great reviews posted on Tripadvisor. The decor is lovely, service was good with very little wait time for the food. We had the Som Tam (Green Papaya Salad) $12.00, and Gaeng Pa (Jungle Curry) $17.00, both were overpriced. The salad was okay. The Jungle Curry (unlike Longtail Kitchen’s Jungle Curry) was bland, it was like a thin soup with no body or flavour. There was no explosion of flavours in our mouth, we left the restaurant feeling rather disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank allspice502016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teg B, Owner at Thai New West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear All502016,
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent experience and my sincere apologies we did not live up to your expectations. 'Average' falls way below our standards and not something we would like to be known for; we therefore appreciate your feedback as it helps us maintain our high standards.
Our Jungle Curry is unique and quite popular amongst our guests and I'm surprised to hear you did not enjoy it. Our cooking reflects a traditional Thai household kitchen and we are committed to serving healthy food and avoid using high sodium overpowering sauces etc.
Needless to say, I'm concerned about your experience and would like to personally discuss with you. Please contact me at 604-5447997 or at tegbrar@gmail.com.
Once again thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.
Teg Brar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

If you loke Thai food you cannot miss this place. Excelent choices, wonderful service, reasonable prices. It even has tje take out option!

Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Street parking by the metre outside the front of the entrance. Love the atmosphere - good date spot but also for families too. Portions are decently large and full of flavour. Being from SE Asia originally, the food is quite authentic.

Very busy around lunch time, lots of customers from the nearby hospital, but calm and we were seated instantly when we came on a Friday night. Really great service too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank robby321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Some of the best Thai I have had. All the classics plus some originals treats (Swimming Rama w Tiger Prawns is a must!!!). Friendly and attentive service. Dollar-for-dollar, as good as a restaurant experience gets.

Thank MargCup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai New West also viewed

New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Thai New West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing