We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in Kelowna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We travelled as a couple, for 2 nights, 12 and 13 April 2013.. This a sixties kind of feel motel, quite plain, eggshell painted walls, however it was clean (other reviewers had mentioned it wasn't). I was concerned about the gap around the door, but it was secure and the room was warm enough on the cold March evening. Friendly reception lady, tea and coffee in the room (powder milk). No breakfast facilities. There is not much nearby,(although a Leisure facility is next door so I imagine this would be good for children, along with a park). Downtown is a good 40- 45 minute walk, but if you don't have a car there are a few buses operated by BC transit. We ate at Baxters across the road on the first night and that was good for plain pub food and cheap drinks (for more fancy restaurants suggest going to the Downtown area. There is also an Ihop but we didn't go there (however cheap breakfast there if wanted). The Recreation has a BBQ outside that guests can use. This is a budget hotel, no thrills, but clean and comfortable, ideal for a short stop on the way somewhere, make sure budget deal we paid about $60 per night for a double room. Location wise this is not central for nightlife other than Baxters (local pub that was quiet on a Friday night).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamfiehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and opinions on the Recreation Inn. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our property to be clean, welll manintained with friendly service.
We take all suggestions seriously and strive to improve where we are required to. Please think of us once again on your next trip to the Kelowna area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Based on other reviews I'd have to say their reno's went very well. The Inn is older but it appears to be reasonably well maintained and my room was clean. It's an Inn from the 60's/70's. It's look and feel brought back a lot of good memories of places I used to stay in on road trips with my family as a child.

I used this inn as temporary housing during a relocation and their weekly rates for a room with a kitchenette (fridge, dishes, pots/pans, hot plate, microwave, kitchen area) were quite cheep. I even got a nice surprise when I got there as my rate dropped due to the start of the off-season (Kelowna is a major summertime tourism town).

The beds are comfortable, although I was a little surprised that my single room had two queens instead of one queen and a sofa, it did have a desk though. The sheets were a little rough, but not out of spec for the average hotel.

Some people complained that the AC was noisy, we'll I've never heard of a window based AC unit that was any quieter.

Some people complained about the doors, I'd say they were all recently replaced with new, steel doors. Security was not a concern here. The door had a deadbolt, but it only appeared to be lockable from the inside.

There was a bit of street noise, and you could hear people on the open air balcony, but with the exception of one couples heated argument, it was quiet for the most part.

For location, you are out of downtown proper and about 30 minutes by foot to both downtown and the beaches (about 5 minutes by car though). But you are very close to all the box stores and Orchard Park Mall and only about a 5 minutes walk to Save-on Foods and an Choices Market (a slightly overpriced organic grocery store).

Besides their own outdoor pool (it was to cold out to use) the Inn is also directly beside the Parkinson Rec. Centre which has tenis courts, indoor pool, gym, large football/soccer fields and an outdoor playground area for children.

They have free WiFi but, as a geek, it was easy to swamp out with a Video Call during peek hours (dinner time). For basic web/email use it worked just fine.

I never used the attached restaurant (which is a bit hidden to the right of the main office), it might not even be affiliated with the Inn, just conveniently close. And I am not sure if they offer room service. There is an IHOP and Whitespot just steps away, and a number of other restaurants easily within walking distance as well.

There was no Iron in the room, but an iron and ironing board are available form the main desk. They have reasonably priced laundry faculties are on site, although I was heading home on weekends and never had need of them.

Given the price per night, and the location (i.e. not being outside town), I think this was money well spent. Next week I'll be coming back with my family and we'll be staying in one of their one bedroom suites for a few nights.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JacobOfCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth C, Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for review of Oct .11 our team at the Recreation Inn work hard to maintain a clean and
comfortable property.All comments are important to us good and bad. We try hard to provide all our guests a pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay here on someone else's recommendation. The staff were friendly enough but the room was not clean. We ha asked for a room with a kitchenette - the first room that we got I'd not have one. We were moved to a kitchenette suite that had not been thoroughly cleaned for a while - how do I know? Because the spider web that spanned the drapes and sliding door to the patio was very well developed - almost epic in its thickness! The carpet may have been vaccuumed recently...however, the sheets an pillowcases were clean and both the mattress and pillows were actually quite comfortable! Then there was the police incident next door but, as a result, our stay was free and we were looked after by the staff in that regard. Excellent people working there! Just clean a lot more thoroughly please.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rohan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth C, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your opinion and do our best to ensure changes are implemented in the hotel. We are happy that our staff did look after you and made your stay safe and comfortable. Please come back and allow us the opportunity to be your room provider upon your next stay in the Kelowna area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Forced to spend 3 nights here for a ball tourney, organized and booked by a volunteer parent who was trying to keep team costs down. The place is old and dirty, found used paper towels under the bed, hair in the tub and bathroom and God only knows what caused the stains on the carpets.
The front desk person was useless to deal with.
Next tournament, we will stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth C, Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for your review from September 16 we have our staff working hard to keep our hotel clean and comfortable. we have recently changed a few housekeepers and now doing a total
fall clean up.as for your noise issues, all unwanted guests have checked out of the hotel.
once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

August 15th-19th 2012. Motel is very dated, dubiously and poorly maintained seeing its best days in the 70's. Looking at the exterior door from the three different rooms, you could see the door was ill-fitted and crooked. Only the door handle is lockable, with the deadbolt being unusable- this is a security concern as it is exposed to the public. We suffered inattentive front desk staff, moving rooms twice due to non closing exterior door and a mistake by front desk staff by being given the wrong room keys. We suffered through little and restless sleep with 30C room temps Saturday overnight because the power went out for the building and block (city power), and no Air Conditioning, topping it off with no reduction in that days rates. "My power went out too" was their reason for no reduction. This place does not know what customer service is. Fire and Ambulance sirens on a way too frequent basis as it is on the main drag. This place is pet friendly but worth less than half their room charge considering everything. There are better options out there than to be subjected to this level of service for that price. They even had the gall to display a Diamond service 2012 award on the lobby wall, which is seriously questionable given our experiences and the other reviews. Our advice is to keep looking for better accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gavin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth C, Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Gavin A.
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor We are sorry to hear that your review was poor service
we always try to improve out customer service with our guest. we are working on fixing all our
doors and to ensure guest security.and Spending the month of September fixing up the property.
if you return to Kelowna we like to offer a 50% off your next stay.
to make a reservation just call our 1-800-663-8603 and say Garth offer 50% off.
thank you again
Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 33 in Kelowna
389 reviews
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#18 of 33 in Kelowna
328 reviews
Central City
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#13 of 33 in Kelowna
776 reviews
Days Inn Kelowna
#20 of 33 in Kelowna
360 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Recreation Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 7V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range: $77 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned and operated motel in Kelowna that features a seasonal outdoor pool, barbecue and picnic area and are centrally located right next to Parkinson Recreation Center. We are also within walking distance to a variety of Kelowna's finest restaurants and shops and just a short drive from the down town waterfront. Our guest rooms are equipped with in-room air-conditioning, cable TV, free wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Rooms with kitchenettes and kitchen facilities are available. We are a pet friendly property and able to accommodate pets upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Recreation Inn And Suites
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing