We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Yes, it's a bit run-down (from the outside) but it met our needs. We had enough beds for 5 people, it was clean and quiet. I liked that it had laundry facilities, and was close to amenities. There is a rec place next door if you wanted an indoor pool. Yes, you have to pay but I'm glad for that option. There is also a playground just 2 minutes away. Lots of restaurants around. There were a few things that I noticed, albeit minor. The coffee machine only made it to lukewarm and so did the microwave. No matter how high I put it, it was just warm. While we were given new towels, only 1 bed out of the three was made. If there was only one person on housekeeping, maybe it's time to hire another person? Another thing that made an impression was the way the manager/owner parked his car. Yes, I may sound picky but if you park your car, at least park it within the stall, not into another stall. These are not major things but it just made an impression. Would we go back? Most likely but it would probably be the second choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

Our room was clean and comfortable. Enough space for the family of four and was in our budget. Our room was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blacksheep2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Fully stocked kitchen was a nice bonus but unfortunately no dishwasher which would be more sanitary between guests. Beds are very comfortable and have very nice duvets with the exception of the sofa bed which is the worst mattress I have ever seen and is completely useless. We had a one bedroom unit and the air conditioner was not adequate for the size of the room; my parents stayed in a one queen bed suite and the air conditioner was fine for them. Front desk staff was very friendly and tried to help us with this problem; after the third night of our stay the air conditioner did manage to do its job. Continental breakfast was a nice perk but it was a bit of a hassle to have to get vouchers at the front desk every morning, Overall this hotel was a good value as it was about half the cost of similar size rooms at other hotels.

Room Tip: Don't plan on sleeping on the sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherry73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

thanks to your comments I have purchased some new sofa beds. We are trying to get better and better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights with my children. Very roomy, great kitchenette, comfortable, clean and quiet. Would definitely stay here again. Perfect location and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kt773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I just got back from this hotel ( 4 days ago ) and Chris doesnt know what he is talking about. The rooms are newly renovated with NEW carpet, so there would be know way Chris would have seen stains on the rug.
2nd, the rooms are quiet, and comfortable, i stayed in this hotel with my family for 1 week while i was there on business, and i found the rooms quite comfortable.... ( and i didnt see ANY evidence of mice.)
Chris says he was there on Canada weekend, well i was there on July 9-16th, so i HIGHLY doubt they can hide all his " dislikes" so quickly.
Even the building was being repainted while we were there.
It irritates me when people make things up just cuz they want to give someone a bad review. So Chris, if it was so bad.... why didnt you leave? why put up with mouse droppings in your bed?
or perhaps it was you that was looking for a room by the hour.... well.... just continue down Harvey and you will see " fun dorms for $30"
Get your facts right Chris....
On that note, our room was very clean and quiet, comfortable,and above all COMPLETELY renovated.
I do have to add this.... Melissa at the front office is an absolute sweetheart.... as is the other girl ( whose name i didnt get, but she has crystal blue eyes and a million dollar smile ) Very professional, very polite, very accomedating, and well always helpful when we asked for something.
I would definately recommend this hotel to people, because unlike Chris, i am being honest about my stay!

Thanks again Melissa!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leebg1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The colleague with the million dollar smile is Chelsea. Melissa, Chelsea, the rest of our great staff and I look forward to the next time we have the pleasure to welcome you back to the sunny Okanagan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#13 of 34 in Kelowna
788 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 34 in Kelowna
392 reviews
Days Inn Kelowna
#20 of 34 in Kelowna
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#18 of 34 in Kelowna
330 reviews
Central City
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Recreation Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 7V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range: $77 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned and operated motel in Kelowna that features a seasonal outdoor pool, barbecue and picnic area and are centrally located right next to Parkinson Recreation Center. We are also within walking distance to a variety of Kelowna's finest restaurants and shops and just a short drive from the down town waterfront. Our guest rooms are equipped with in-room air-conditioning, cable TV, free wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Rooms with kitchenettes and kitchen facilities are available. We are a pet friendly property and able to accommodate pets upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Recreation Inn And Suites
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing