We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate timing”

Summerhill Pyramid Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 105.80*
and up
4-Hour Okanagan Valley Wine Tasting Tour of the Kelowna Lakeshore Wine Route
Ranked #10 of 138 things to do in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada's largest organic winery and premier producer of sparkling wine. Enjoy the stunning view, wine tasting and tours, and wine paired cuisine in the Sunset Organic Bistro.
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

The evening we chose for our visit was a busy one at the winery. There was an art class that took away from the experience for us, however the wine and the views were terrific. We recommend calling ahead and making sure there are no art classes first

Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
organiclover, General Manager at Summerhill Pyramid Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for writing to let us know Doug W. I'm sorry you did not feel comfortable when you arrived. The wine and paint nights are incredibly popular and festive events. We love the lively atmosphere in the wine shop. They happen only in the wine shop, though, and not in the restaurant. The restaurant operates normally without interruption during these events.

Ezra Cipes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Visited Summerhill for a casual wine tasting on a sunny afternoon. Immediately impressed by the ample parking and beautiful views. All downhill from there though once we got to our wine tasting. Sampled a few generic wines, chosen by the wine pourer/cashier, with little detail about the notes. We were particularly bothered by the fact he spilled every time he poured, not bothering to ever wipe up. Between sampling wines, he was ringing other customers through - simply detracting from the "experience" we were trying to have. The sparkling "Award Winning" Brut's were tasty, but served warm. The overall look and feel of the tasting room is dated and needs an update. The bathrooms were stinky and needed a clean. We appreciated that the wines were organic and the tasting was free. I would have rather payed $5 to have a more professional and enlightening experience though.

Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
organiclover, General Manager at Summerhill Pyramid Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you Donna for visiting and for sharing with us your experience. Although I did not respond at the time, I did share your review with my team to ensure our standards are kept up every day.

Ezra Cipes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Good view on The Valley and lake. They have a wedding set up probably for the later of the day. Quite a lot of wine choices, we have a few wine tasting and no charge.

Thank WWLL2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

There was nothing for dinner on the menu. It was all appetizers and starters. If I wanted tapas I could have gone to a Spanish place.

Please do not take this the wrong way. Everything on the menu tasted good, but we were six hungry guys and there was no food!!

Thank MikeyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
organiclover, General Manager at Summerhill Pyramid Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

MikeyVancouver, thank you for writing to express your feedback. I am very glad to know the food tasted good. There were entrees on the menu such as steak and seafood, but you are correct that during the summer the menu was presented as a share menu. Our menu program has since changed and we will not be returning to the strictly share plate concept.

Ezra Cipes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

While Summerhill has some fantastic wines, their focus on tours and cramming people in has really spoiled the place. if you do a wine tasting you are crowed out be large bus tours The server for our tasting was not overly informed or helpful, to the point that the manager was kind enough to provide us additional tasting to make up for it. My recommendation, buy the wine and leave.

Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
organiclover, General Manager at Summerhill Pyramid Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Christine, I hope you will return and rekindle your old love for Summerhill. Our focus is and always has been to welcome and give an outstanding experience to every person that comes in our door. Our visitor count has wildly increased, and so we are adding a reception area this spring to make a better entrance experience, and to fully activate the three different tasting rooms as well as the remote, private tasting areas we have available. This will ensure we honour each and every guest.

Ezra Cipes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Summerhill Pyramid Winery also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Summerhill Pyramid Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing