We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a "Boutique Experience"”
Review of Hotel Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eldorado
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly a "Boutique Experience"”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

These folks really delivered a boutique experience. From a warm and friendly greeting on arrival, a fantastic room, beautifully appointed overlooking the lake, great service and cocktails in the Bar and Eggs Benny to die for in the Dining Room. We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Book in the recently built addition overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    120
    23
    15
    19
See reviews for
92
222
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have been going to the Eldorado for over 15 years so I guess you know what direction this review will go. The proof is in the return visits! The food is consistently delicious, the dining room staff attentive and bright, the dining room faces out to the lake and a little marina and a boardwalk. IT really is great to return to a hotel that is predictable.
There is great variety in the rooms with everything from old world charm and cozy rooms in the old section to lofty ceilings and space in the new section. I like all the rooms but be cautious about booking in the old section RIGHT above the pub during Christmas season or weekends or hockey game nights. Otherwise depending on your mood you can choose antique flavour or the new wing for a room! I like both sides. The newer side is a bit more expensive and the view rooms are more expensive but if you want something special you may like that.
I am sick and tired of the generic sterilized box-hotels so I love staying at the Eldorado ... for the difference, for the funky charm, the personality of the hotel and the personalities it entertains!, plus the great food and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Inspiring views if you pay more in both old and new sides. Try NOT to get the room right above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FineTuned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Complex layout due to the old / newer segments of this historic hotel. Had asked for a view room with two beds and they offered a "not lakefront but view room." It overlooked the roof of the old hotel which gave us a great view of the lake and the low hills on the eastern side of the city. The sunset was lovely, the sunrise was amazing. Most two-bedded rooms have side-by-side beds but this room had a bed at each end of the room.
Toilet - with some sort of water saving device didn't work at all well. Staff tried to fix it at 11:30 at night but I could tell he'd never seen the back of this toilet before. He offered to move us to a different room but by then my Mom was asleep in bed and I wasn't going to start moving us at that hour. By breakfast time there was water (clean water) all over the floor. Everything else worked and the quality of the room was good. Clean and except for the toilet, well maintained.

Didn't like the restaurant for breakfast (good service but the strangest pancakes - rubbery and flavourless) and wouldn't try it again but it is a pretty setting.

Room Tip: Ask for the partial view facing south - there could be other good rooms but this was a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speederchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I've stayed at many hotels in Kelowna, but this was my first experience at the Hotel Eldorado. We needed to be close to the hospital for several days, and something about this hotel's online presentation made it seem less impersonal than many. I booked two rooms and can say it was the perfect choice. Although we changed details of the reservation several times, and had to return unexpectedly for another night on the day we initially checked out, the staff was pleasant, patient, and accommodating. Rooms in the "Arms" may be the most quiet I have ever encountered in a hotel--ever--anywhere. The decor and finishings were upscale, but with traditional flavour and unique touches throughout. Various extras like turndown service, easy parking, and wireless internet were free. The restaurant was excellent. Housekeeping and maintenance staff seemed genuinely cheerful--not just strictly programmed. We've been telling everyone we know about this warm, wonderful gem!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatrionaMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed in room 212 which was quite large and had a lovely patio with a view of the mountain. Bathroom was spotless and had a quaint clawfoot tub and windows for lots of light (yes, there are window coverings...). Hotel is located right on the lake with options for watersports (jetski and boat rentals). Pool and hottub were enjoyable as well. Beer and wine store located right in the hotel. Staff was pleasant. Would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Booked through Expedia mobile app.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrewTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
The Royal Anne Hotel
The Royal Anne Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#6 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eldorado

Property: Hotel Eldorado
Address: 500 Cook Rd | (On the Lake), Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kelowna
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kelowna
Price range (per night): $276 - $593
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Eldorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Eldorado has been part of BC's destination hotel resort experience since 1926. It is a story of Austrian blue bloods and thrilling vacations, a story of a famous honour bar and Olympic rowers, a story of London cabs and dog shows. From the beginning, it has always been a story of unique hospitality, social events and a welcome that knows no borders. It was then what it is today; a singularly unique social and vacation experience set in one of Canada's most spectacular destinations, the Okanagan Valley. 300 kilometres from the Lower Mainland in the BC Interior and an easy flight from all major airports, the Hotel Eldorado is located on the shores of Okanagan Lake. For those who have travelled in other countries, you will recognize that this place is one of the most scenic in the world. The Hotel Eldorado is as storied as our town and all those who have graced our doors since 1926. It is a gem and we all look forward to welcoming you to The El. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Kelowna
Hotel Eldorado Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing