We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty motel no maid service and the have bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 10 February 2012

this was the most dirties motel iv'e ever stayed at very poor service tub are so dirty you dont even want to shower in them counter top hanging of the wall broken and they have bugs in the room go scabies from staying there cont breakfast is very poor no selction etc owner name is pnder and he is very rude !! there are also hookers selling there selfs out of the motel at the back bottom room in the corner

Room Tip: please do not stay here unless you want to chatch something
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

We spent one night in Kamloops to split the drive from Banff to Vancouver. While there were rooms “on the hill” for literally double the price, we went budget for this stopover. The front desk help was friendly enough and the lobby was neat. Our room was on the ground floor at the rear of the building, literally right off the back alley. Yes, the trash truck did come through the next morning in all its glory. Even more unfortunate, the room door opened right into the parking slots and the alley. While nothing threatening happened, I just did not feel entirely comfortable with this setup. The room looked like it was a converted studio apartment. It had a funky kitchenette which could have been a value but it really was just strange. The bathroom was cramped and had an old shower stall. The queen bed was not uncomfortable, it was just very basic. The room was clean but it did have the strong, annoying disinfectant motel odor. We were uncomfortable with the idea of airing it out since the door opened to the alley. There was a small table which was too large for the room that served as a desk and the Wi-Fi was adequate. The breakfast area and items were also very basic. This HoJo is located near the hospital and is a less than ten minute, straight-shot walk to Victoria street, which is nice. If I ever need a budget room in Kamloops, I would try one of the other chain or non-chain options close by. This stay was not a great value or a horrible one. We got what we paid for.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IchiroK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Staff was good, breakfast average, room was old and dirty. Not up to a Howard Johnson chain standard for sure.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldster3819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

A lovely setting, great staff! A very restful experience!I would say this is the best hotel in Kamloops. I travel here every other year to see family and this is the first time I stayed at this motel and I will stay here again. The rooms are very well maintained and the beds are so comfy. Front desk staff very friendly and efficient and even allowed early check-in (11am) to accomodate!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOFFREY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Big Lobby, Nice and Helpful Front Desk Guy Served Great Breakfast with Fresh Waffles. Overall u will enjoy ur Stay As You Get Great Service at Cheap Price. Great Downtown Location and close to Hospital.

Room Tip: 205 206 king nd Most comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrJames71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
Travelodge Kamloops City Centre
City Center
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
982 reviews
Country View Motor Inn
#33 of 54 in Kamloops
189 reviews
Knights Inn Kamloops
#44 of 54 in Kamloops
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops

Address: 530 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: $66 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2014 with new bathrooms, new pillowtop mattresses, new linen, fresh paint and many other updates. We are located downtown right besides the Denny's Restaurant , 2 blocks away from the Kamloops' Royal Inland Hospital and across the street from the Kamloops court house. Many stores and restaurant are within 3 to 10 minutes walking distance from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kamloops Downtown Hotel Kamloops
Howard Johnson Kamloops
Kamloops Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing