We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
564
237
64
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
237
64
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river manor house driving range guest ranch hardwood floors hot tub tea and coffee stayed longer outdoor pool one night stay we've stayed yogurt long drive road trip llamas retreat wedding
Filter
Updating list...
787 - 792 of 904 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed at the inn for a wedding. The property and amenities are fabulous, however the hotel itself and the rooms are outdated. After paying $240 for a "suite" (which only meant a king size bed and a hide-a-bed, instead of 2 queens), we were charged $10 for a fridge, there was no in room coffee, and we shared the balcony with the room next to us, which was awkward. There was no door to the sink and mirror area, only to the bath and toilet, so I felt like there was nowhere private to do my makeup and what not. The room and hotel were clean, and I was happy to stay there, but if I'm spending that much I expect a better appointed, more modern room.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR_Kamloops, Guest Relations Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Thank you for your complement about the wedding. We are well known for accommodating such events with quality and style.

I am sorry to hear, though, that you were not as pleased with the room in which you stayed. Our rooms are all decorated differently so that each one is unique and we are continually in the ongoing process of updating the decor. It sounds as though you stayed in one of the rooms that has not been redecorated recently.
While I understand not everyone is comfortable sharing a balcony, it is a part of Kentucky style and charm of days gone by, as is the free coffee bar where our guest enjoy the beautiful view of the river and socialize before they start their day.
If you stay with us again, perhaps you would consider reserving a room in the Manor House with its own balcony?
We look forward to the opportunity to show you the quality of service and hospitality we are well known for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed at The South Thompson Inn for just one night whilst on a driving tour from Calgary to Victoria and overall it was an entirely forgettable experience. Not good, not bad, just bland.

The property is rather out of the way but once found it actually presents very attractively indeed. The building is pretty and the gardens are lovely, framed as they are by white-railed horse paddocks.

Sadly, the Inn is nowhere near as charming inside as it looks from the outside. We found the service to be friendly but indifferent, although that may have had something to do with the fact that the place was filled to capacity with members of a loud, boozy, business-convention. Hardly the family atmosphere that they advertised!

Our room was upstairs (which meant a great deal of hauling around of heavy bags) and of bog-standard motel quality. Nothing in the remotest bit special, but clean and it did at least have air-con (which we found to be a rarity in Canada/Alaska, even in 5 star + places). There was really only the one choice that night as far as dining was concerned but, ‘because they served alcohol’ we weren’t permitted to bring our son indoors to eat. We ended up being banished to stools out on the verandah!

Look, there’s nothing actively wrong with the place if all you want is a bed, but if you scratch the surface, it’s just a roadside motel like a million others. I certainly wouldn't tell people it was awful, it's not, but I wouldn't bother going back either.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR_Kamloops, Guest Relations Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

What a shame you had not the time to take full advantage of our family fun amenities like the heated pool, hot tub and outdoor games. Children always love to visit with horses and llamas, which may have gone far in making your stay more fun. The wraparound veranda offers a beautiful view of the river and the water birds that make it their home.
I am sorry you did not feel as welcome during your dining experience. While licensing does not permit children in the lounge where liquor is served, you certainly have the option of dining inside in madisens, our fine dining restaurant. Perhaps madisens was filled to capacity at the time you visited us and that is why you were seated outside.
It is our desire to make everyone’s stay with us as comfortable and pleasant as possible. I would hope that we might have the opportunity to provide you and your family a more satisfying visit in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

If you want to walk out of your hotel and be in downtown Kamloops, don't stay here. However, if you appreciate open spaces, warm hospitality, and a family friendly environment, stay here. A short 10 minute drive to town but even closer to local attractions like the BC Zoo (also a must see if you have kids). Feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We have stayed here before and with the same package. But this time we were terribly disappointed in the room and food. We have stayed in the same room previous, the linens were very old and stained. The arrival snack platter was very disappointing as it was not freshly made and cold meat was sour. The dinner that was part of the plan was so over priced, it clearly showed by the lack of locals in the dinning room. Breakfast CONSISTED OF JUICE (TANG), old muffin, very small piece of carrot slice,yogurt and coffee not deluxe by no means. The best part of the stay was the staff...they try really hard to make you feel great. It is a shame but this hotel is really too expensive and food is not good anymore.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev2869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR_Kamloops, Guest Relations Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

We strive to provide our guests with top quality service every time they stay with us. I am pleased to hear our team made you feel welcome and appreciated. I also would like to thank you for bringing to our attention a few details we may have overlooked during your stay with us. We will make note of your concerns and include them in our plans to continually improve the quality of service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

just got back from a golf holiday in Kamloops. i stayed at the south thompson inn. golfed talking rock, tobiano and rivershore. rivershore happens to be right beside this hotel. next year i wont bother with the other courses ill just golf rivershore as it was literally steps from my room. the inn had great service and friendly staff i will defiantly be staying there again THANK YOU ..."STIGR"

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankv90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews