We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
569
240
64
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
240
64
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river manor house driving range hardwood floors trout hot tub guest ranch stayed longer tea and coffee continental breakfast yogurt one night stay long drive road trip llamas retreat wedding
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 912 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Our stay was magical. Our event coordinator Christina was fantastic and made our wedding day absolutely perfect. We can't wait to spend our one year anniversary at the Inn, and any other momentous event we might have.
Thank you for everything!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Roving00187158031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

I had the opportunity to spend three nights at this hotel. My wife had previously stayed here a few years back for a retreat. The hotel is a 15-20 minute drive to the east of Kamloops just past a LaFarge plant. The grounds themselves are spacious, with significant river frontage, equestrian stables, and painted turtles! The main Inn and outbuildings are of a similar styles, harkening back to a Kentucky Inn. The main entrance and room decor is akin to a 1980's throwback - dark colors, lots of kitschy furniture and wall decorations. The main foyer and hallways could do with an update.

My hotel room was clean and appeared to be recently modernized. The ensuite was not modernized, unfortunately - the fixtures all were still out of the 80s. The bedding was comfortable, and the temperature of the room well controlled. The air conditioning unit provided sorely needed noise to mask the road traffic noise from the Trans Canada Highway as well as the regular passage of trains along the south side of the Thompson River.

The food was passable, but not terribly special. The cleaning staff were friendly and helpful, less so the front of house staff, who appeared to be somewhat confused at times. The hot tub was quite nice, unfortunately the pool was closed for the season.

Overall, a decent (but not amazing or fantastic) stay. I'm honestly surprised that it is the number one rated hotel in Kamloops, but would stay there again with reasonable expectations.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O6626GSjustinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the inn for a family wedding. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. There is a little trail system across the street for walking, mountain biking, or trail running. The morning view was exceptional! The Jacuzzi tub soak following felt even better. I would highly recommend be in for couples or families.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank littlejohnnynemesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words and 5/5 rating on TripAdvisor!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you had a great time at the wedding.
Another positive comment about our clean rooms. Our housekeeping team is glad to hear this.
Me as well. I have stayed in some hotels that sure surprise me with their lack of attention to cleanliness.
The view is gorgeous for sure.
Thanks for recommending us to others and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Just a quick stop for us on a Family Road Trip from Jasper - Whistler.
The Sat Nav took us to a completely different part of Kamloops to begin with and we were so pleased that we were re directed to the South Thompson Inn.
A Kentucky Style Ranch with long drive past the horses and right next to a river with the added bonus for us of watching the Bald Eagles swooping down to the river bed and back up into the trees by the hotel.
Shame the pool was closed for out of season maintenance but the hot tub was open and very nice after a long drive.
Food in the hotel at night was excellent.
Breakfast was a little confusing or not very well explained and not up to the same standard as the dinner on the previous night.
Our Room was great for one night for the four of us with two double beds and nice having the balcony overlooking the river.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JOTI17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time and leave us a review on TripAdvisor! We are happy you found your way to the South Thompson Inn.
No idea why some guests are misdirected by their Sat Nav. We have tried to sort this out but sometimes they don’t listen.
The eagles are around a lot here. They must love this area.
Our kitchen team is glad you enjoyed your dinners the food and we are sorry about the confusion with the breakfast. We are always open for ideas to improve what we offer. You can contact us per email to tell us what we can do to improve – events@stigr.com.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Beautiful setting, we had a lovely room looking out to the river. All the staff were very friendly, including the resident dog. Restaurant and bar were terrific, we appreciated the complimentary glass of wine when our room was not quite ready when we arrived. Beautiful to walk around the grounds, or ride one of the hotel bikes, to see the farm animals there. It is so comfortable and friendly - we wished we could have stayed longer, but only had 1 night booked in on our bus tour.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Hi Michael,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.
Peyton, our dog, is happy you mentioned him. He loves to greet our guests.
The complaint “we wished we could have stayed longer” is one of our favorite complaints.
We would love to have our Bus Tours longer here than one night as people really enjoy their time at the Inn.
May you have the chance to come back one day and for longer then.
Have a great day!
Thanks David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews