We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
RoadtrippingGirl2014
Prince George, Canada

Great, dog friendly hotel in the mountains

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Dec 2023via mobile
This place is great. I had attended a wedding here about 10 years ago and have camped in Jasper many times, so I was familiar with the resort, but this was my first time actually staying here. I took advantage of their December promotion, stay 4 nights, and get 20% off promotion, which made the Cavell room rates more affordable at approx $150/night + dog and resort fees .

Great dog friendly hotel, rooms were clean, the area is beautiful and the staff were very nice. As a solo-female (with a dog) traveller, I felt safe at this hotel.

Close to town (<10 mins) and so quiet. Lots of trails are available right from the resort, or just a short drive away. Jasper transit bus stops right at the parking lot if you don't have your own vehicle.

Recommend to bring your own drinking water or reusable bottles. The tap water tastes awful (it's definitely gone through a water softener). There is, however, a filtered water station in the lobby, so bring your own reusable bottles or bring other jugs of water.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Pyramid Lake Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 30 Dec 2023
Hello RoadtrippingGirl2014,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Pyramid Lake Lodge. It's great to hear you had a wonderful stay and that you took advantage of the December promotion.

Safety and a welcoming atmosphere are crucial considerations for any traveler and we strive to deliver exceptional service and hospitality to all our guests. Your advice about bringing your own drinking water or reusable bottles is practical, especially for those sensitive to the taste of tap water.

Thank you again for leaving us with your feedback and we would love to welcome you back the next time you are in Jasper.

Warm regards,

Pavel Myska
Guest Services Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Official Site
AU$360
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.5 km from Pyramid Lake Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$446
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$446
3.1 km from Pyramid Lake Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$481
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$481
5.0 km from Pyramid Lake Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$400
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    AU$439
3.4 km from Pyramid Lake Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
bedroom - kinda odd placement of lamp but works for reading in bed
Tripadvisor
AU$444
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel Site
  • Hotels.com
40.5 km from Pyramid Lake Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Standard Twin Beds at the Astoria Hotel
Tripadvisor
AU$408
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$408
4.2 km from Pyramid Lake Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$427
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Pyramid Lake Lodge
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Maligne Lodge
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$351
  • Expedia.com
    AU$399
5.0 km from Pyramid Lake Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
HI Jasper
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$382
  • Priceline
7.3 km from Pyramid Lake Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveller rating
299
328
148
80
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
299
328
148
80
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pines restaurant pyramid room gas fireplace beautiful location whistler suite boat rentals jasper townsite the room was nice canadian rockies resort lodge elk cavell canoeing winter kitchenette paddle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 903 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2023 via mobile

I recently stayed at Pyramid Lake Resort in Jasper for a 2-night getaway. The secluded location in front of Pyramid Lake provided a serene atmosphere. The spacious rooms were clean, although outdoor lamp shades had cobwebs.

The free WiFi was disappointingly slow, and the included breakfast lacked clarity during booking. At the restaurant, Alto, I discovered the only breakfast option was a $20 dish named "one time," with a peculiar $6 charge for ordering alternatives, regardless of their actual cost.

Despite these issues, there are plenty of activities around the area, including free fat bike rentals and the option to hike or drive to Pyramid Island. The hot tub, however, needed better maintenance as it had soil on the floor and in the tub.

A positive note was the 24-hour free coffee machine, a thoughtful addition. The drive to the hotel offered sightings of numerous elk. Despite some drawbacks, the overall experience was good, and Catherine, the manager of Alto, provided exceptional customer service, making our visit special.

Room tip: Plenty of parking at the location
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pathmikaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Pyramid Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2023

Dear pathmikaw,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the spacious rooms, the cleanliness, and the location our property has to offer. I was disappointed that you found cobwebs on the outdoor lampshades, and the clarity of the breakfast menu and pricing were not clear during the breakfast service. I will address your feedback with the appropriate department to ensure correct information is presented to all our guests.

Unfortunately, as we don't have any cable infrastructure in the location, the internet and TV depend on a satellite signal and we are looking for any improvements to this amenity.

The complimentary coffee machine located at our front desk is a welcomed addition to our amenity list, and I am glad you enjoyed the beverages and the exceptional service at Aalto.


Your review is greatly appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Pavel Myska
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2023 via mobile

Booked as part of a Trailfinders holiday to Canada and the Rockies at Jasper. Quite a few miles out of the town, and we did not have a car, but the resort could be reached by taxi or, as still in the summer season, free bus service which ran every couple of hours.
Holiday lodge accommodation good. Washing facility on the site. Excellent, but quite expensive, restaurant on site, but no table available on the evening we arrived so the only access to food were chocolate snacks from reception - only delivery food would have been pizza.
Beautiful scenery.

Room tip: Make sure you have some food with you if you are arriving in the evening or book restaurant ahead of time.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Phillipa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Pyramid Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2023

Dear Phillipa D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. We are pleased you found our Aalto restaurant excellent and the scenery from our lodging was beautiful. I sincerely apologize for the limited availability at our restaurant upon your arrival.

There are restaurants in town available for delivery and they offer a wide variety of dishes as well as pizza.

Thank you again for choosing Pyramid Lake Lodge as your place to stay on your journey around Canada, and we appreciate your 4-star rating.

Warm regards,

Pavel Myska
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely setting. Rooms have balconies and the onsite dining was very good with excellent service. The location is superb just outside of jasper with lots of wildlife on the road

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank seanwarburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Pyramid Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Hello seanwarburton,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with such a great review and a 5-star rating. We are pleased our hotel and its location met your expectations, and the service was excellent.

Thank you again for choosing Pyramid Lake Lodge for your getaway, and we hope you had a wonderful time in Jasper.

Kind regards,

Pavel Myska
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2023

We haven't overnighted at Jasper for some years and took advantage of the beautiful Thanksgiving weather to spend the weekend there. We stayed at the Jasper Park Lodge the last few times we were in Jasper and loved it. However, we were looking for a less large and busy experience this time and also wanted to not be in the Jasper town.

The Pyramid Lake Lodge hit the spot. It is an intimate setting on the edge of Pyramid Lake and surrounded by forest. Very quiet. We stayed in Room 9 which is a lower unit. The room was quite nice - clean and updated with a walk-in shower and a small balcony looking out onto the lake. Check-in and out was quick and friendly.

There was one minor issue with the room where the sounds from the room above were noticeable one evening (toilet flushing, closing of the bathroom door, showering). However, it did not go on long so was not a bother. I note this because other reviews have mentioned noise in lower units from the rooms above.

Great spot to do some walking. There is a series of beaches around one side of the lake which are easily accessible along the road (2 km round trip). There is also a (easy 4 km) hiking path in that area that goes along wetlands and a small lake. Lastly Pyramid Island is a great spot to view the mountains reflecting off the lake (easy 2.6 walk).

The lodge has the Aalto restaurant which overlooks the lake and has a great ambience. The food and service were excellent.

Other items:
There is a large dock in front which has seating if you want to relax and look out over the lake. With the room you get complimentary canoe or kayak rentals.
We haven't overnighted at Jasper for some years and took advantage of the beautiful Thanksgiving weather to spend the weekend there. We stayed at the Jasper Park Lodge the last few times we were in Jasper and loved it. However, we were looking for a less large and busy experience this time and also wanted to not be in the Jasper town.

The Pyramid Lake Lodge hit the spot. It is an intimate setting on the edge of Pyramid Lake and surrounded by forest. Very quiet. We stayed in Room 9 which is a lower unit. The room was quite nice - clean and updated with a walk-in shower and a small balcony looking out onto the lake. Check-in and out was quick and friendly.

There was one minor issue with the room where the sounds from the room above were noticeable one evening (toilet flushing, closing of the bathroom door, showering). However, it did not go on long so was not a bother. I note this because other reviews have mentioned noise in lower units from the rooms above.

Great spot to do some walking. There is a series of beaches around one side of the lake which are easily accessible along the road (2 km round trip). There is also a (easy 4 km) hiking path in that area that goes along wetlands and a small lake. Lastly Pyramid Island is a great spot to view the mountains reflecting off the lake (easy 2.6 walk).

The lodge has the Aalto restaurant which overlooks the lake and has a great ambience. The food and service were excellent.

Other items:
There is a large dock in front which has seating if you want to relax and look out over the lake. With the room you get complimentary canoe or kayak rentals.

Room tip: An upper room would be my choice for a future stay because there was some noise from the room above.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jengled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Pyramid Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2023

Dear jengled,

Thank you for your recent visit to Pyramid Lake Lodge in Jasper. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and the Aalto dining experience was excellent.

I regret that you experienced minor noise issues from the room above, and I apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you again for such a great review, and we would love to see you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Pavel Myska
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2023

I had 2 nights at this hotel. The room was lovely and the decor very very nice. Th bed was lovely and the bathrooms very clean and well equipped. The only issue was the TV did not work at all and I think the hotel has some issues with the wiring. I was there for my sons wedding so little time to watch TV but it would be good to get them working. Restaurant was wonderful. and quality of food excellent

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 580roz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Pyramid Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2023

Dear 580roz,

Thank you for choosing Pyramid Lake Lodge as your place to stay in beautiful Jasper. I am pleased you enjoyed the room and its amenities and that our Aalto dining experience was excellent.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience regarding the TV and hope you were able to address it with our front desk team.

Thank you again for your 5-star rating, and we appreciate your business.

Kind regards,

Pavel Myska
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews