We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sheila M
Victoria, Canada

Especially for train travellers!

Review of Whistlers Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Sept 2023
A wonderful hotel, right in the centre but very quiet - big rooms with mountain views, hot tubs on the roof. They were very helpful - we came off the Canadian (train) at 8 am and they had a room free for us to take! The entrance is tucked away behind their restaurant, and the hotel expands from there.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review
Responded 2 Oct 2023
We are so glad you chose to stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    AU$625
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$715
0.9 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$507
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Whistlers Inn
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Official Site
    AU$545
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$347
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.2 km from Whistlers Inn
Free parking
The Standard Twin Beds at the Astoria Hotel
AU$405
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
4.4 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
175
329
187
64
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
175
329
187
64
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location hot tub on the roof limited parking rocky mountaineer central location good size the main street centre of town downtown jasper views of the mountains stayed here for two nights bit dated beds were comfortable tubs whistlers basement railway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2023

Fabulous Hotel and pub. Staff all lovely, friendly and helpful. Vanessa hotel Manageress couldn’t do enough for us. Rooms clean, spacious and very comfortable. We will definitely be returning. Hot tubs on the balcony have an amazing view. Thanks to Vanessa and all the staff. Karen Hammond and Caroline Goddard

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

We really enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2023

TL;DR: clean rooms, great location, terrible customer service (Keith), unwillingness to improve (Vanessa), street parking on your own (paid by the hotel), old mattress, too expensive for what it offers

We were initially surprised to learn that they reserve the on premises parking spots to the suite guests. This wasn’t specified anywhere when we booked. Because it was raining, this was very upsetting as we only found a spot on the street 3 blocks away. Keith, the receptionist, was very rude from the start and couldn’t care less about the situation. They had suites available at the time so a parking spot on the building was available, but he kept saying it was full. At one point he even mentioned that he couldn’t give us the spot because he didn’t want to be yelled at later, in a passive aggressive tone. The only thing he asked is if we were willing to pay the difference and get a suite instead. When we asked to see the manager he said no one was on site at the time and that was it. It was the worst customer service I’ve seen.
Checking more reviews later on revealed that this is a recurring problem, along with other issues we noticed as well. Considering that the general manager Vanessa has been in charge for over 26 years, it looks like they don’t really care about it and know that guests will show up regardless because Jasper is a hot destination
The room is decent, old, but clean (the carpet could use some renovation as it’s very stained). A lot of noise can be heard, both from the street and inside the hotel.
If you enjoy cuddling, the mattress will be perfect for you, as it is so deformed that you and your partner will always fall to the center together
Location is awesome, short walk distance to pretty much anywhere of interest in the city

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Luciana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2023

Thank you for sharing your opinions. We regret that like many other places, staff can be reactive to the way that they are treated, particularly when it comes to parking and other things that they have no control over. All our listings clearly indicate that there is no parking on-site and with the onset of Municipal parking fees, we chose to minimize inconvenience to guests by paying for parking off-site. All guests choosing to book directly with the hotel are informed that only Suites are guaranteed on-site parking as it is a perk of choosing an upgraded room. When a suite is still available, guests that wish to park on-site are offered the opportunity to pay a higher rate as this keeps it fair and equitable between guests. When people are rude or unkind in response to this information, the staff do their best to remain helpful and professional but are not expected to tolerate abuse of any kind from anyone.

With respect to your other concerns, room and facility renovations are scheduled on an ongoing basis according to need, budget and timing that works with room availability and other factors. I am sorry that you felt that I do not care about these things and that you felt that I should have been available at all points of your stay. Thankfully, the owners of the hotel do not share your opinion and have been supportive of my desire to maintain a work-life balance where I can remain a supportive and present parent for my children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2023

The lobby and hallways nicely decorated. Unfortunately if you have allergies to mold and mildew this isn’t the place to stay. The two rooms we were offered were not remodeled and the musty smells seems to be in the carpeting. Due to our severe allergies we had to leave. Otherwise if you don’t have allergies and want to be centrally located, this may be a choice.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elisabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Thank you for your comments however both rooms were thoroughly investigated and there were no signs of either mold or mildew. We were pleased to cancel your booking free of charge since our hotel was not to your liking and hope you enjoyed your visit to Jasper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2023

This lovely old hotel is located right in downtown near the Jasper Info Ctr. Parking is limited but you can park offsite for free at an outdoor lot.
The room was beautiful and we had a king size bed that was very comfortable. The washroom was lovely and everything was up-to-date. There is the Whistle Inn Pub attached to the hotel and the food was good. Seating was available indoors or outside-patio on the street where you could bring your dog with you.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sportsmomLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience! We appreciate your comments and your choice to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

We loved this place. The room was huge and very comfortable. The location is outstanding. It’s right across from the train station & car rentals. The staff was very helpful & the town is great. Loved the coffee maker in the room. All in all, great.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IrisR474
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

We are so glad you stayed with us. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews