We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Elisabeth A
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas

Musty not good for allergies

Review of Whistlers Inn
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Aug 2023
The lobby and hallways nicely decorated. Unfortunately if you have allergies to mold and mildew this isn’t the place to stay. The two rooms we were offered were not remodeled and the musty smells seems to be in the carpeting. Due to our severe allergies we had to leave. Otherwise if you don’t have allergies and want to be centrally located, this may be a choice.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Thank you for your comments however both rooms were thoroughly investigated and there were no signs of either mold or mildew. We were pleased to cancel your booking free of charge since our hotel was not to your liking and hope you enjoyed your visit to Jasper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$629
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$719
  • Expedia.com
    AU$719
  • Booking.com
    AU$653
0.9 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Maligne Lodge
AU$373
  • Expedia.com
    AU$433
  • Agoda.com
    AU$345
  • Priceline
    AU$432
1.0 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$751
  • Agoda.com
    AU$689
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
1.0 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$812
  • Agoda.com
    AU$727
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Marmot Lodge
AU$770
Multiple ways to pay
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
1.3 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$475
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$346
  • Expedia.com
    AU$433
1.1 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
bedroom - kinda odd placement of lamp but works for reading in bed
AU$499
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
44.2 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Standard Twin Beds at the Astoria Hotel
AU$407
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$407
  • Expedia.com
    AU$408
  • Hotels.com
    AU$408
0.2 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobstick Lodge Exterior
AU$816
  • Agoda.com
    AU$749
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$678
  • Hotels.com
    AU$592
  • Priceline
    AU$678
0.9 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
175
329
187
64
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
175
329
187
64
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location hot tub on the roof limited parking rocky mountaineer central location good size the main street centre of town downtown jasper views of the mountains stayed here for two nights bit dated beds were comfortable tubs whistlers basement railway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2023

This lovely old hotel is located right in downtown near the Jasper Info Ctr. Parking is limited but you can park offsite for free at an outdoor lot.
The room was beautiful and we had a king size bed that was very comfortable. The washroom was lovely and everything was up-to-date. There is the Whistle Inn Pub attached to the hotel and the food was good. Seating was available indoors or outside-patio on the street where you could bring your dog with you.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sportsmomLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience! We appreciate your comments and your choice to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

We loved this place. The room was huge and very comfortable. The location is outstanding. It’s right across from the train station & car rentals. The staff was very helpful & the town is great. Loved the coffee maker in the room. All in all, great.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IrisR474
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

We are so glad you stayed with us. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2023 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on our trip through the Rockys on route to Vancouver. The rooms are clean and adequate. It is above the Whistlers Inn pub so handy if you want a drink and bite to eat. The staff in the bar are friendly and there is a pool
Table. It is very close to Jasper Railway so from our room was quite noisy with the road and train goings on. We are light sleepers though and our son in another room never heard a thing. It is in a great location for the local shops and restaurants. There is limited parking and we were not able to park in the hotel Cato park and had to park in a public car park
Down the road. Never cost us anything as the hotel paid just a minor inconvenience. So book parking early if you want a space onsite.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dtpesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for your comments. Since on-site parking is limited, the spots are all reserved for guests of our Suites. As mentioned, the hotel currently pays for all other guests to park in nearby public parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2023

Ok, let's get the issue front and centre. Parking. There is some car parking at the hotel, but we were informed this was reserved for suite guests. However oddly enough you can either find somewhere to park on the road or use a local car-park that the hotel will pay for. We used the nearby railway station, a 1/2 minute walk away. There is a 15 minute drop off spot outside the hotel so makes dropping off cases easy.
The hotel itself is OK, seemed to me to be a little dated. Staff were great, although some a little young and did not seem to fully know what they were doing. It was only in the morning that I was told that the number plate I provided would cover us town wide.
Hotel is centrally located and in easy walk of shops and restaurants. We had room 211, at the corner of the building, but no real noise as mentioned in some other reviews. T+C machine, TV, but no safe. Bathroom was OK, although shower over the bath with a shower curtain.
It was a pleasant stay, just the parking and lack of safe, so more a 3.6 to me.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MPP2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2023 via mobile

As others have said, the Whistlers Inn is rather a sad looking hotel.  There is a UK TV programme  called The Hotel Inspector where Alex Polizzi helps turn round failing hotels.  Given its location, I doubt that Whistlers is failing but a few cosmetic changes would do much to improve the hotel's shabby image.

On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location and super convenient for the Rocky Mountaineer. We enjoyed watching the train arrive from our bedroom window.

The staff are friendly and helpful but the thing that really won us over was the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel.  Again the staff are great as was the food.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JEP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews