We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MPP2703
Caythorpe, United Kingdom

Parking for suite guests only, but hotel does pay. Great staff.

Review of Whistlers Inn
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 June 2023
Ok, let's get the issue front and centre. Parking. There is some car parking at the hotel, but we were informed this was reserved for suite guests. However oddly enough you can either find somewhere to park on the road or use a local car-park that the hotel will pay for. We used the nearby railway station, a 1/2 minute walk away. There is a 15 minute drop off spot outside the hotel so makes dropping off cases easy.
The hotel itself is OK, seemed to me to be a little dated. Staff were great, although some a little young and did not seem to fully know what they were doing. It was only in the morning that I was told that the number plate I provided would cover us town wide.
Hotel is centrally located and in easy walk of shops and restaurants. We had room 211, at the corner of the building, but no real noise as mentioned in some other reviews. T+C machine, TV, but no safe. Bathroom was OK, although shower over the bath with a shower curtain.
It was a pleasant stay, just the parking and lack of safe, so more a 3.6 to me.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review
Responded 2 Oct 2023
Thank you for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$610
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$610
  • Hotels.com
    AU$586
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Maligne Lodge
AU$450
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$384
  • Agoda.com
    AU$357
  • Hotels.com
    AU$450
1.0 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$510
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$510
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
1.3 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$382
  • Expedia.com
    AU$439
  • Agoda.com
    AU$334
  • Hotels.com
    AU$439
1.1 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
HI Jasper
AU$412
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$412
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$412
3.4 km from Whistlers Inn
Free parking
bedroom - kinda odd placement of lamp but works for reading in bed
AU$1,588
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$1,597
44.2 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$718
  • Trip.com
1.0 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$555
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$726
  • Trip.com
1.5 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobstick Lodge Exterior
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$697
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Whistlers Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
176
331
187
64
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
176
331
187
64
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location hot tub on the roof limited parking rocky mountaineer central location good size the main street centre of town downtown jasper views of the mountains stayed here for two nights bit dated beds were comfortable tubs whistlers basement railway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2023 via mobile

As others have said, the Whistlers Inn is rather a sad looking hotel.  There is a UK TV programme  called The Hotel Inspector where Alex Polizzi helps turn round failing hotels.  Given its location, I doubt that Whistlers is failing but a few cosmetic changes would do much to improve the hotel's shabby image.

On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location and super convenient for the Rocky Mountaineer. We enjoyed watching the train arrive from our bedroom window.

The staff are friendly and helpful but the thing that really won us over was the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel.  Again the staff are great as was the food.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JEP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2023

The Whistler's Inn is located right by the train station in Jasper. The location is convenient for any shops and such in Downtown Jasper. But it can get really loud of trains passing by. Especially at night. Also the roofs AC is really loud, if you keep your window open for fresh air, which you need since the hotel is a little outdatet.
The rooms are super clean! The beds are very comfy.
But all in all the hotel might need a little face-lift. The rooms, corridors and especially the elevator smell "old". Staff was nice though.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HenniTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2023

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2023

The whole hotel is very out of date, bathroom taps are from the ark. We had a room right opposite the station and the noise of the trains during the night kept us awake. Windows were so dirty you could not see out. No Kettle, told to use the coffee maker to boil water, which left the taste of coffee behind. Staff said the reason no kettles was because they kept getting stolen, and were very rude. No Iron or ironing board either. Would not reccommend. Smallest shampoo and conditioner i have ever seen.

Room tip: Find another hotel
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 377vivienp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

We are sorry you felt this way. We do not keep kettles on hand and do not advertise that they are supplied by the hotel. We do have a couple of irons and ironing boards available on a sign-out basis however they may already have been in use when you requested them. It is unfortunate that you felt the service was "rude" as the young lady working at the time was doing her best to accommodate all the people that were forced to evacuate their homes that same evening. She is only 14 and handled herself remarkably well given the high level of emotional stress and unexpected volume of people that were searching for last minute accommodations for themselves and their loved ones. We are confident that if circumstances had been different she would have had more ability to cater to your needs and it would not have been necessary for you to berate her. We hope that you requested additional shampoo and conditioner to meet your personal needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2023

Perfectly situated Hotel to get around the town. Great food too. The staff were really helpful and the room had everything you would need plus very spacious and comfortable for the amount of time we stayed.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sallydavis1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2023

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will be back again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2023 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised on my stay I have always thought it would be noisy being across from train station. I was so wrong. Had a great sleep and all the staff were really amazing. I had a room with a beautiful view . The manager Vanessa, was really helpful and the bar staff took good care of me I will be back soon
Cheers
Ryan.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Ryan154918
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa Hugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

We're glad you stopped by and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews