We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for Jasper but not worth the money.”
Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Positive: Competent desk staff; up-to-date stylish decor; mostly clean.We chose this hotel because it has a pool (indoor; clean), it was available, and the price was low for Jasper ($260 for one br w/ kitchenette). Disappointed to find that our room was right beside the laundry - spin cycle shook our room.smell was musty upon entry but cleared up quickly with ceiling fans. Probably would book earlier in the future to get something else in Jasper.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrskthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 458 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

At the peak of summer (we stayed on night of 3rd August) then expect only high prices in Jasper. Probably the most expensive hotel of our entire trip and then they expect breakfast as an extra. It is motel style with 2 levels and a car space outside, Positive points - central location with short car journey or moderate walk to restaurants in centre. Clean room and reasonably comfortable beds.

Negatives: our room had a pine table and mahogany furniture (all old). Dated bathroom. Also slightly noisy as people in neighbouring properties either went to bed late and others got up very early. Not a lot more to say really - probably couldnt have got something better at this time of the year and for the (extortionate) price.

Room Tip: Not sure booking early will save you money - I was looking for up to 2months before departure. Ive p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We chose this as we were on a budget and it looked good. It is at the end of the main road depending which end you enter Jasper (we came from Mailgne lake) and a short 20 minute walk back to the restaurants & shops but it is flat. The hotel room was good enough, we had 2 double beds and used both as they were a bit saggy in the middle, but they were comfortable. There was a sink and mirror in the main room and a small bathroom which was quite dark. A small fridge was hidden under the TV. The only thing I would ask for ebing on the ground floor was a blind or net curtains as you only had heavy curtains for night time and getting dress was either done with them closed for privacy or by hiding in the bathroom as I felt exposed opening the curtains on big windows. We took up the offer of breakfast for $12 on site which was a good buffet breakfast. Our room wasn't cleaned until after 4pm on one day as they seemed to cater for large coach groups.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. We booked the motel through our travel agent. When we arrived we were a bit disappointed about the state of the hotel, the noise and the quality of the room. The furniture was very old, damaged, the airco did not function very well although we neededit as the temperatures oitside hit the 30 degrees celsius. At the end of day 1 our toilet got blocked, after 2 interpellations at the reception it got finally unblocked. The beds were good at the bathroom was in general clean. Luckily. The motel as such was not really one to return.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Rodriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This lodge is probably located furthest from the many restaurants and shops of Jasper, but still within a 10-15 minutes walk. The staff were friendly and the room was adequate, but it was quite dated inside and out. I was pleased at the cleanliness of the bedding, but the bathroom didn't seem to be cleaned much each day, as there were dead flies in our tub. We also noticed little things that were falling apart - an outside vent, the hair dryer holder, etc.
The beds are still doubles - we had 2 doubles and my boyfriend and I ended up each taking one as they were too small for the two of us. For what we got, the price was what really got to me - at $200/night, I expected more.

Room Tip: The second floor is likely quieter, but with all rooms facing parking, it's loud when vehicles s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdnburlesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.1 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
1.5 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
2.3 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,104 reviews
1.9 km away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
889 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: $130 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing