We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$234
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$234
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Doris P
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Old world hotel takes you back in time

Review of Athabasca Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Sept 2023
Room is spacious and convenient location in center of town to walk to shop’s & restaurants after business day of touring. No elevator, no fridge, so pack & plan accordingly but diverse options on breakfast menu.
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: No elevator
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Official Site
AU$360
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$396
  • Agoda.com
    AU$355
  • Hotels.com
    AU$420
0.9 km from Athabasca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$481
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$472
  • Expedia.com
    AU$482
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Athabasca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Maligne Lodge
Booking.com
AU$332
  • Hotels.com
    AU$378
  • Agoda.com
    AU$318
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Athabasca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$410
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Website
  • Agoda.com
    AU$370
  • Hotels.com
    AU$412
1.5 km from Athabasca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$325
  • Hotels.com
    AU$367
  • Agoda.com
    AU$314
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Athabasca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$444
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$447
  • Expedia.com
    AU$447
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Athabasca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
bedroom - kinda odd placement of lamp but works for reading in bed
Booking.com
AU$419
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$445
44.2 km from Athabasca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$1,049
  • Priceline
  • Fairmont
    AU$1,051
  • Booking.com
    AU$1,048
2.0 km from Athabasca Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$988
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$989
  • Agoda.com
    AU$962
  • Expedia.com
    AU$989
1.7 km from Athabasca Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$609
  • Expedia.com
    AU$609
4.4 km from Athabasca Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
77
166
89
38
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
166
89
38
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private bathroom no lift historic hotel centre of town mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2023

The Athabasca is one of Jasper's oldest institutions and one of its most charming. It manages to be a first-rate modern hotel and at the same time retain a deliberately old-school elegance. It's worth staying for the lobby alone, which is like a museum of taxidermy. I first stayed here 25 years ago – it's been updated since then but has lost none of its authenticity. A great place!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michaelbA5963WE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2023 via mobile

Really like the place, they fully committed to the 50s (40s?) style with plushy carpets, super soft beds and everything gold-framed. It's like time travel. Plus fast internet, free parking, good location close to bakeries and outdoor shops at a decent price. Recommend!

Room tip: There is free parking behind the building
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Crdl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2022

Great room, great price! Booked one night with a two bed room and private bathroom. Room was small but full of character. Best deal in Jasper and we were right downtown. The onsite restaurant is one of our favourites, especially for breakfast. Plus their coffee is great!

Room tip: Parking is limited, but you can park on the street if you have too.
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2022 via mobile

We were in Jasper when there was no electricity and booked very last minute as they were the only hotel that had a generator. The staff were rushed off their feet as everyone was going there for food, plus they were feeding many of the rangers helping with the fires but they remained friendly and very helpful. They were also very kind and helpful when I was taken ill. I would definitely stay here again

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jrtravels789
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2022

Firstly, I'll be quite honest and say the staff there got us out of a bind. We hadn't planned an overnight stay in Jasper and literally EVERYWHERE else was full. However, we managed to grab one of the last couple of rooms available. So from a customer service point of view, I can not fault them.

But... If you're staying here you're going to pay a lot, for not a lot of room. We paid (I think) £120 for a night, and ended up in a double room, with hardly any floor space around the bed, a TV that didn't work, no aircon (which in mid summer made the room damn hot), a single bathroom, not for the room, but a single male bathroom FOR THE CORRIDOR, likewise for females. And generally Not enough to warrant what we paid.

Negatives aside: The bed was really comfy. The staff were super friendly. The bar/restaurant area was very welcoming and it's well located if you just want a nice wander around the centre of town.

Room tip: You need to be on the top floor to be away from the noise of the bar.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jamesrH7075QB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews