We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love to eat breakfast here and good for the lounge too”
Review of Athabasca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athabasca Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We love to eat breakfast here and good for the lounge too”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We prefer to have breakfasts here. (We have stayed uncountable times in Jasper) Breakfasts are great and very filling. This trip we decided to go in the O'sheas lounge in the mid afternoon and have some ribs and beer while watching some football on the big screen.We sat in the big sofas by the fireplace. Very cozy and a very interesting atmosphere. Considering the history of this hotel and building,...we will keep coming back.

Never rented a room here yet...but that may be yet to come...
LOL

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    134
    66
    32
    30
See reviews for
53
141
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

From the moment we walked in our room I felt I was stepping back in time. It reminded me of the luxurious rooms in titanic. The best part is it's cheaper than any of the main stream hotels n it looks amazing, the decor gives the place a little something extra!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I booked a room with a shared bathroom and I was surprised to find that there was only one ladies toilet and shower on the floor I stayed on. I'm fine with sharing but a few more would be great. Apart from that the hotel was great. Top location, free wifi, tasteful decor. Maybe a frdige in the room would be handy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We decided to stay one more night in Jasper and while we were having a beer in the louge of this hotel, we asked about room rates. We took the deal with the king sized bed room and shared bathroom. Sharing a bathroom did not bother us, and it's not like the public can go use it, you need your key to get in. The room was clean, and washrooms were clean as well. All we needed was a place to crash as we were going out that night to the bars and such. If you are looking for a place to just sleep and sharing a bathroom is not a concern, I definitely would suggest this hotel. I didn't have any problems with the noise from other people using the washrooms, just try to ask for a room that is not right beside them and you should be fine. On a budget and need a place to rest, this is it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trilogy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roaming...
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This hotel is historic- with lovely period decor both in the lobby and in the rooms. This is the only good thing I can say. We had one of the rooms that has a shared bathroom. We asked for a quiet room- They placed us right outside the women's bathroom and could hear the entry door and stall door slamming all night long. There is one shower and one toilet per men's/ladies room per floor. Each room comes with a basin and toiletries... There was no soap in the communal bathrooms. So one would use the toilet, handle the knob to the bathroom door and then room door and room key until they can wash their hands in their own basin. This is really unhygenic.
We also, "in the quiet section", could hear the thump, thump of the music base from the downstairs lounge until about 1am. We called to complain once. They said they were sorry.
The sheets were very pilled and scratchy.
In the morning we complained that we had a very unrestful and noisy night. All they had to say was, "we're really sorry". I said I'd be posting my review on tripadvisor and the guy at the counter non-chanlantly shrugged his shoulders and said "fair enough". Wow- that's service right there! We should have camped- would have slept better.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you want to get a quiet nights sleep. There are no quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.5 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.6 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
1.2 km away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,508 reviews
1.0 km away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#12 of 17 in Jasper
697 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athabasca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athabasca Hotel

Property: Athabasca Hotel
Address: 510 Patricia St | Box 1420, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price range (per night): $139 - $220
Hotel Class:2 star — Athabasca Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Athabasca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athabasca Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing