We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy so kids too exhausted to enjoy skiing”
Review of Lobstick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lobstick Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Too noisy so kids too exhausted to enjoy skiing”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Not a bad place, average cleanliness with kitchenettes, however, the noise was loud and late all the nights we stayed (2-3 am)making it difficult for our young ones (and adults) to sleep. This made what was supposed to be an enjoyable ski trip difficult with exhausted kids who couldn't appreciate the skiing in the mountains they were had been so excited for. We called the desk the second night but it stayed noisy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_Higginson, Manager at Lobstick Lodge, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
I am sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay as much as we would have wanted them to. While we do have an 11:00 quiet hour we will ask guests to be more respectful towards their fellow guests if we feel there is excessive noise before 11:00. I have spoken to the departments involved to reiterate that the hallways are to be constantly monitored so any excessive noise that is discovered, can be reduced in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    218
    233
    86
    74
See reviews for
208
269
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend during March Break for skiing at Marmot Basin. If your looking for a no frills place that is clean then this is one of the better ones in Jasper. However the hotel is made out of wood construction so people walking down the halls or in rooms above you will be heard. If people are noisy or having conversations youll hear it. A little disappointed in that.
Best part of this place is the hot tubs. There are three of them outside which is perfect. However one was out of order this weekend.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShaunEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at this lodge,, which is located on Geikie, one street up from the main street of Jasper. As a tourist, one can walk anywhere in Jasper. It is a bit of a walk from the east to the west end of the town, but can easily be done. We had attempted to book accomodation prior to arriving in Jasper, but due to the Christmas season and tourists arriving for skiing it was a bit of a stretch. So after spending a few nights in another arrangement, we walked to the Lobstick, which was very close to an apartment building where a family member lived. We were able to walk in and get a very good rate for our remaining nights. It was very busy with families, due to the ski season. The room was big, two queen beds, full sized bathroom, and closet area. It would definitely be small with alot of ski clothing and equipment in it. We did not eat there, so cannot comment on the food or service, but reception at the front desk was great! There are lots of places to eat within taxi or walking distance. Recommend the Bear Paw for coffee in the a.m. It opens at 6 a.m.

Room Tip: Negotiate rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saxophone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at the Lobstick for two nights while on a ski weekend. This was the second time we stayed at the Lobstick (the other time was in the spring 3 or so years ago). We felt that the hotel was great value for the money. Two king-sized beds (very comfortable) and nice fluffy pillows, mini-fridge, new flat screen TV, good lighting in the bath, very clean. The pool was on the cool side but the hot tubs were great (3 outside and 1 inside). We were on the third floor and heard nothing from the suites around us although not very soundproof from the hall. We had the "build your own pasta" in the restaurant/lounge on the Saturday night. You could choose the smaller portions for the kids for $10, a "calf" portion for $15, or a "bull" portion for $20 and included the salad bar which really just consisted of 2 different types of salads and 2 types of dressing. A little pricey compared to other restaurants but the quality and the portions were good. We were there at night but the restaurant is on the 3rd level of the building with large windows and there is a balcony off the side of the restaurant with a great view - it would be perfect in the summer! Overall, we were happy with the accommodations - if we could change/improve anything it would be to have microwave ovens in the rooms and warm the pool up a bit. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. The staff in the restaurant not so much - not really rude but not very welcoming either (we were there with another family so 6 kids in total and we felt that could have been the reason?) The hotel is at the far end of town so it's about a 3 block walk to the shops and restaurants, etc. but quiet and we found it be more economical than some other hotels in town. I'm sure we will go back the next time we are in Jasper.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ts2mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights while away for a skiing weekend. The rooms were clean, tidy and spacious - our room had two king beds, a newer flatscreen tv a mini fridge, and 2 king sized beds. We stayed in the 300s section, which was next to a side staircase that led to the parking lot. This was very handy as we didnt have to go back and up through the lobby when getting back to the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is quite nice, and the rooms have updated decor. Very good accomodations for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchkinmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
902 reviews
0.6 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
378 reviews
0.4 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
817 reviews
0.1 km away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,016 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobstick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobstick Lodge

Property: Lobstick Lodge
Address: 94 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price range (per night): $83 - $300
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lobstick Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the town of Jasper, Lobstick Lodge is near all the area's major attractions. With 139 spacious guestrooms and rooms with kitchenettes, this Jasper resort offers an excellent family restaurant, meeting and catering facilities, an indoor pool and sauna, 3 outdoor Jacuzzis, 1 indoor Jacuzzi and a fitness center. Lobstick Lodge is also a great skiing destination with friendly, knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lobstick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lobstick Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing