We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Raynee P

Very small room

Review of Astoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Very small king size room but would be good enough for a couple or parent with a child. Be aware that there is no parking lot and it is $17/day (9am-9pm) but at least there is a parking lot across the street. My room was above the bar and I didn’t hear anything (stayed a Friday and Saturday)
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: $17/day for parking Very small rooms
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$625
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$659
  • Expedia.com
    AU$715
  • Hotels.com
    AU$714
0.7 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$891
  • Agoda.com
    AU$860
  • StayForLong
  • Official Site
    AU$537
1.1 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Maligne Lodge
AU$467
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$414
  • Official Site
    AU$414
1.2 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$545
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$667
  • StayForLong
    AU$516
  • Agoda.com
    AU$618
0.9 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobstick Lodge Exterior
AU$443
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Marmot Lodge
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.2 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
66
94
118
82
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
94
118
82
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenient location bed was comfortable visiting jasper papa mountains skiing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2024

A few complaints but the most concerning - we booked a room with a king size bed. What we got was two twin beds pushed together but not lengthwise so we could at least each have a full length bed. They pushed them together crossways so where they joined formed a hard ridge cross our backs and the beds separated in the night. We didn't notice of course until getting into bed and there were apparently no other rooms available. Extremely uncomfortable and disappointing.

Room tip: There's much better places in Jasper
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zilinski F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2023

Substandard hotel. More like a hostel.
Towels were old and thin, shower temperature jumped from freezing to scorching in an instant and back again.
Bathroom sink was beside the bed.

No cream/milk provided for tea/coffee facility.

I would only stay in this establishment again if it was the only thing available for 100klm. -1⭐️

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023

Hi I would rate this hotel higher if I could have stayed there my train from Prince Rupert to Jasper was cancelled due to forest fires I Notified the hotel was told I didn’t give them 48 hours notice so I was only getting a $10 refund on a $730 booking have tried on a number of occasions to get a refund with no joy tread your own path Richard

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2023

Nice hotel with incredible staff! We had a minor health emergency and the staff went above and beyond to help us. Truly grateful to them!
Through my own devices, we stayed in two different rooms. Both were perfectly clean and the linens and bed were comfortable. The mountain view king did have a view, AC and a fine size bathroom. Here's where the staff were so good to us. The hotel was sold out and had many rooms to turn. They had our room ready and luggage moved before check in, so when we finished at the hospital, we could rest immediately. This room was smaller, especially the bathroom but was clean and comfortable.
Thank you again!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NeMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2023

The hotel owner, management and staff do not care much about customer service. Do not expect them to do anything to keep customers happy. They appear to be taking advantage of their convenient location and that Jasper hotels fill up quickly, leaving people with no choice. Essentially, no matter what, they will be able to fill up all rooms without having to make much of an effort.

Our reservation was for a 3-night stay. The first night stay wasn't comfortable because the nightstands are quite high and you can hit them with your hand/head when you turn over while sleeping, waking you up. The showers are TINY. The room didn't have a closet, it just had a rack or stand. Despite these things, we decided to live with it and continue staying for the next 2 nights.

Next day we went sightseeing, returned to the hotel around 5PM and discovered the bed wasn't made up properly - the cleaning staff simply covered the bed with the comforter/duvet, and didn't tidy up or do anything with the bedsheets. The floor wasn't swept either. We reported it to the Front Desk who responded with, "Did you ask for your room to be cleaned? We don't automatically clean because guests don't want cleaning staff to enter the room when they are not there."

I pointed out that the cleaning staff DID enter the room and did a little bit of cleaning. Front Desk then said they will send the cleaning staff to clean the room properly.

We expressed our dissatisfaction with the room and their service, and asked whether we could get a better room. Front Desk said, "No, all rooms are the same and there are no other rooms." We then informed the Front Desk that we'll check out the following morning, will not stay the 3rd night and they responded with, "Okay.".

The next morning, during check-out, the Front Desk informed us that they will charge us for the 3rd night even though we weren't going to be staying, "because we do not give refunds if you leave early". It turns out that 48 hours notice must be given to get a refund. We explained that it wasn't possible for us to provide 48 hours notice. They refused to budge and refused to give us any kind of refund.

We were not going to stay another night, decided to cut short our stay in Jasper, and lost CAD 330. I wish I had read all the reviews on Tripadvisor before making the reservation ...... and in future will ensure I fully understand the full implications of the cancellation policy.

Cancellation policy:
Cancellation's received less than 48 hrs before arrival will be charged 1 night's stay. No shows will be charged for first night + tax and the rest of the reservation will be cancelled.

I stayed 2 nights, never had any intention to cancel, wasn't a no show and thought a short stay would not be an issue. Live & Learn, I guess.

I will never go back to this hotel again and will never recommend it to anyone. Negative reviews make no difference to the owner and management of this hotel, but at least people will be aware and choose to live elsewhere.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rasila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews