We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nancy M
Jackson, NJ

Clean, great staff

Review of Astoria Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2023
Nice hotel with incredible staff! We had a minor health emergency and the staff went above and beyond to help us. Truly grateful to them!
Through my own devices, we stayed in two different rooms. Both were perfectly clean and the linens and bed were comfortable. The mountain view king did have a view, AC and a fine size bathroom. Here's where the staff were so good to us. The hotel was sold out and had many rooms to turn. They had our room ready and luggage moved before check in, so when we finished at the hospital, we could rest immediately. This room was smaller, especially the bathroom but was clean and comfortable.
Thank you again!
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$401
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$464
  • Vio.com
    AU$384
  • Hotels.com
    AU$465
0.7 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$474
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$474
  • Hotels.com
    AU$426
  • Priceline
    AU$474
1.1 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$645
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$703
  • Agoda.com
    AU$681
  • StayForLong
0.8 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Marmot Lodge
AU$668
Multiple ways to pay
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
1.1 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Maligne Lodge
AU$403
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$377
  • Trip.com
    AU$405
  • Agoda.com
    AU$374
1.2 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$681
  • Agoda.com
    AU$739
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
1.2 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$379
  • Expedia.com
    AU$438
  • Vio.com
    AU$331
  • Priceline
    AU$437
0.9 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
bedroom - kinda odd placement of lamp but works for reading in bed
AU$325
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$325
  • Vio.com
    AU$325
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$325
44.0 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HI Jasper
AU$359
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$360
  • Priceline
    AU$359
  • Expedia.com
    AU$360
3.7 km from Astoria Hotel
Free parking
Lobstick Lodge Exterior
  • Vio.com
    AU$685
  • Agoda.com
    AU$725
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
66
95
118
82
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
95
118
82
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenient location bed was comfortable visiting jasper papa mountains skiing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2023

The hotel owner, management and staff do not care much about customer service. Do not expect them to do anything to keep customers happy. They appear to be taking advantage of their convenient location and that Jasper hotels fill up quickly, leaving people with no choice. Essentially, no matter what, they will be able to fill up all rooms without having to make much of an effort.

Our reservation was for a 3-night stay. The first night stay wasn't comfortable because the nightstands are quite high and you can hit them with your hand/head when you turn over while sleeping, waking you up. The showers are TINY. The room didn't have a closet, it just had a rack or stand. Despite these things, we decided to live with it and continue staying for the next 2 nights.

Next day we went sightseeing, returned to the hotel around 5PM and discovered the bed wasn't made up properly - the cleaning staff simply covered the bed with the comforter/duvet, and didn't tidy up or do anything with the bedsheets. The floor wasn't swept either. We reported it to the Front Desk who responded with, "Did you ask for your room to be cleaned? We don't automatically clean because guests don't want cleaning staff to enter the room when they are not there."

I pointed out that the cleaning staff DID enter the room and did a little bit of cleaning. Front Desk then said they will send the cleaning staff to clean the room properly.

We expressed our dissatisfaction with the room and their service, and asked whether we could get a better room. Front Desk said, "No, all rooms are the same and there are no other rooms." We then informed the Front Desk that we'll check out the following morning, will not stay the 3rd night and they responded with, "Okay.".

The next morning, during check-out, the Front Desk informed us that they will charge us for the 3rd night even though we weren't going to be staying, "because we do not give refunds if you leave early". It turns out that 48 hours notice must be given to get a refund. We explained that it wasn't possible for us to provide 48 hours notice. They refused to budge and refused to give us any kind of refund.

We were not going to stay another night, decided to cut short our stay in Jasper, and lost CAD 330. I wish I had read all the reviews on Tripadvisor before making the reservation ...... and in future will ensure I fully understand the full implications of the cancellation policy.

Cancellation policy:
Cancellation's received less than 48 hrs before arrival will be charged 1 night's stay. No shows will be charged for first night + tax and the rest of the reservation will be cancelled.

I stayed 2 nights, never had any intention to cancel, wasn't a no show and thought a short stay would not be an issue. Live & Learn, I guess.

I will never go back to this hotel again and will never recommend it to anyone. Negative reviews make no difference to the owner and management of this hotel, but at least people will be aware and choose to live elsewhere.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rasila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2023 via mobile

Couple things to start - they honored a prepayment I made for summer 2020 - kudos to them. Look I don’t really understand the negative reviews - I think folks had whack expectations- this is place is exactly what you might imagine they don’t claim to be a five star hotel. We were in 102 - and I will warn the bathroom is very small - very - though it does have a full tub and shower
The room had some updates (new laminate floors) and the bed was comfy- I didn’t find the train noise loud or disturbing at all
They have added AC — which we did not need but I am sure is appreciated - we would have preferred being able to open the window to get some fresh air
The staff was super friendly and helpful oh and there IS an on-site laundry - we didn’t see that in any of the info and was a super helpful surprise
They provided emails the few days before arrival and each day we were there with helpful info
We went to both the pub and restaurant and both were good and convenient

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank deebk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2023

The worst experience I have ever had on a holiday, checked in yesterday 10th July to a broken sink, reported straight away told no maintenance until tomorrow, got up the next morning to broken shower bursting all over, went to reception requested room change, told no by the inexperienced receptionist, asked for manager told no to that, told maintenance man start's at 9am, wrapped towels round shower head so we could shower, went out to come back to make shift shower repair and no sink repair, totally diabolic, never again this is the pits over $1000 for 3 nights, the TV doesn't even work!!! You have to some how connect it to your phone???? No idea how this works so we sat in silence reading at night.

Room tip: The worst experience I have ever had on a holiday, checked in yesterday 10th July to a broken sink, reported straight away told no maintenan
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janejackson1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2023

An old character establishment. Just the sort of place I usually like but we made to wait until 4pm for check in. Not appreciated when we arrived at 11am tired after a long trip. We were also told our second night was not paid for which was not true. Also told $200 would be charged to our credit card, against damages. Someone was painting the stairway wall and had tools on the guest chairs. So, all in all not a very good start. The room was clean but modest. On the plus side this hotel does have a generator and its own restaurant and bar, and as there was a concern that the whole town might lose power (due to nearby wild fires) this was great. Restaurant staff and food was fine.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2023

Love the Astoria Hotel!!! It's my "go to" place when I visit Jasper. Comfortable rooms, restaurants next door, one of the best bars in town right downstairs and everyone there makes you feel right at home. I'll be back!!

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews