We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pamela M
Kamloops, Canada

Best sleep ever!!!

Review of Astoria Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2023
My son and I recently travelled to Jasper to visit the Mountains and the Astoria Hotel provided the most elegant stay! The view out our bedroom window was that of the majestic Rocky Mountains!
I was surprised to also see a train as I did not hear one through the night (we arrived in the dark).
The bed was extremely luxurious and comfortable and our room was so clean! Big thank you also to Love and Santina for your amazing customer service! We can’t wait to return!
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: Eat breakfast in Papa Georges and lunch in the De’d Dog Bar and Grill!! Most wonderful vacation...
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$625
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$715
  • Booking.com
    AU$659
  • Hotels.com
    AU$714
0.7 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$817
  • Agoda.com
    AU$860
  • Official Site
    AU$537
  • StayForLong
1.1 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$545
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$667
  • StayForLong
    AU$516
  • Agoda.com
    AU$618
0.9 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Maligne Lodge
AU$467
  • Agoda.com
    AU$414
  • Official Site
    AU$414
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobstick Lodge Exterior
AU$443
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$625
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$625
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The view of the lodge on arrival.
AU$650
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$648
  • Hotels.com
    AU$647
  • Priceline
    AU$650
48.1 km from Astoria Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$393
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    AU$394
  • Vio.com
    AU$367
  • Hotels.com
    AU$393
63.6 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$283
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Hotels.com
    AU$283
  • Expedia.com
    AU$283
  • Algotels
    AU$283
64.2 km from Astoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
66
94
118
82
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
94
118
82
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenient location bed was comfortable visiting jasper papa mountains skiing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2023

Clean, friendly, affordable, great location. I have been visiting this hotel for a number of years (10+) when visiting Jasper especially during the ski season. Personable staff.
The pub is especially welcoming. Very comfortable, good food, reasonable prices and friendly staff. Marmot Basin is a great ski destination and the Astoria makes that even better.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guide22865478231
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2022 via mobile

A lot of old fashioned grandeur with this beautiful old hotel building,with a lot of character,main desk young man was very helpful and accommodating to our request .Would definitely stay again ,and us a great location to meet the railway

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

Extremely dated hotel could do with a complete refit. Someone complained about their room and the reply was we are teying to leep it authentic 😂. It was clean and all bar one staff very friendly. No lift so difficult for elderly. Easy access to town. Very good breakfast place attached with friendly staff and great food.

Room tip: Only book if you are agile and don’t mind outdated small rooms
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Crapaud15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2022

I'm happy to hear the history of the Astoria hotel and I appreciate that its kept within the family/local. First off: The staff were professional, it was clean, and its in a great location with free lot parking across the road. However, please meet guests halfway especially for the price of peak season. The carpets and beds are in need of replacement. There is no elevator so luggage needs to be carried up one flight of stairs.The scent (possibly from smoking back in the day) gave me a headache. The bathrooms need revamping my boyfriend barely fit under the shower head while crouching down. I believe this hotel could be great with some improvements!! The location, customer service, parking and cleanliness is already there! I hate leaving reviews like this, but I bet you guys could be a top hitting hotel if you just made some improvements. Leaving things like the traditional phone, check in booth etc. can still keep the history of the hotel alive.

Room tip: Request a room facing mountain/road
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2022 via mobile

Lovely location with an amazing view from the front of the hotel (and assuming from the rooms on that side), however we had a fairly small room that sadly looked out into a loading yard. This was pretty noisy when there were trucks there, which was not uncommon. Free parking in the municipal lot across the road, though apparently this might be changing. The linked restaurant and bar were both excellent, we had breakfast in the former and dinner/drinks in the latter one evening (daily happy hours are great!)

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews