We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
LeedsLass2
Leeds, United Kingdom

Great place right on the parkway

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Sept 2023
Had a very pleasant 2 night stay here, the rooms were well equipped and clean, bed was very comfortable, there was a fridge and coffee maker a microwave can be borrowed but we didnt need one, a small dining table and e chairs, a continental breakfast was available every korning which was an added bonus, there is heating and our cabin also had a fireplace we didnt use it but I expect on a very cold night it would be lovely, the onsite restaurant is lovely and the staff are all very friendly and helpful, I would stay here again
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Official Site
AU$360
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$396
  • Expedia.com
    AU$419
  • Hotels.com
    AU$420
1.5 km from Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$481
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$472
  • Agoda.com
    AU$467
  • Expedia.com
    AU$480
0.3 km from Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$444
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Maligne Lodge
Booking.com
AU$332
  • Hotels.com
    AU$378
  • Agoda.com
    AU$319
  • Expedia.com
    AU$377
0.3 km from Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$410
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$411
  • Agoda.com
    AU$369
  • Hotels.com
    AU$412
2.1 km from Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$325
  • Hotels.com
    AU$367
  • Agoda.com
    AU$313
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
AU$609
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$618
  • Expedia.com
    AU$607
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
bedroom - kinda odd placement of lamp but works for reading in bed
Booking.com
AU$419
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$445
44.9 km from Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$1,047
  • Priceline
  • Fairmont
    AU$1,051
  • Booking.com
    AU$1,048
2.8 km from Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$988
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$989
  • Agoda.com
    AU$953
  • Expedia.com
    AU$987
2.5 km from Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper National Park
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
417
355
134
43
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
417
355
134
43
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop icefields parkway cabin style lake louise rocky mountain canadian rockies no air conditioning minute drive beautiful location fireplace banff deli wifi accommodation highway hiking hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2023 via mobile

Loved the local, family feel of Sunwapta. Rooms were sparkling clean, hotel and restaurant staff were friendly and service was excellent. It was nice to stay in Smaller hotel away from the crowds. After reservation was confirmed, the staff send some very helpful sightseeing and hiking guides.

Room tip: Arrive before sundown to best enjoy the mountains and solitude.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dreamer281752
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2023

The staff makes the place! Super friendly and they helped us plan what we were going to see.
Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed.
It was a bonus that we could walk to the falls - favourite one of all we saw!

Room tip: Plan what you are going to eat before you go. The free continental breakfast was great. Other food was excellent but very expensive.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2023

All of the staff are fantastic and friendly. They make you feel like family. The cabins and the grounds are clean and beautiful. The walk to the Falls is not far at all, and the Sunwapta Falls are magnificent.

Room tip: Expect a quiet and peaceful place with a fantastic staff.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brianna A, Guest Services / Front Office at Sunwapta Falls Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the honour of accommodating you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2023

Positive: Location, views, close to Sunwapta falls (great short hike, beautiful falls), Servers, front desk staff excellent and very friendly/accommodating. Food (dinner) was nice, no highflyers, but reasonably priced and tasty (same daily special for the 4 nights we stayed there). Good beer and wine selection.

The bad: Breakfast, very limited choice, no variation, cold scrambled eggs most mornings, Decaf was cold, Oatmeal and sauce were poor. Again, staff was great! (good selection of bread and pastries)

This hotel is not cheap (over $325 canadian), so considering the location we gladly paid it, but then you walk into the rooms..... we had two adjoining.

Because of the thin walls we could hear everything in a 4 room adjoining wall block....
The rooms were tired, you would not stay there in a motel 6 if you had to. grinchy, dark, 60ies wallpaper, floors were yucky.... (bed was clean and comfortable). Due to shortage of personnel (we guess, as Covid has passed us by, by now) , no HK service, (but you could get as many coffee/towels etc from front desk, so not an issue for us)

2023, even though they have Starlink pro, the distribution system was still old (and/or poorly configured) only 'ok' internet was in the reception area and dining room/bar. (2-3 mbs). In the rooms, no internet at all, and we were very close to the reception. (And don't come with the excuse that we are there to switch off from daily life... Internet is a basic need now.)

TV, 10 channels, not even local, very poor reception, TV's were over 10 years old or more. small, bad picture, bad sound.

No cell phone reception, so without cell phone and internet in the rooms, we felt this was a safety issue (we could not contact out, nor our family could reach us...)

So, all in all, a disappointing visit, we had a fantastic time, as long as we did not get in our room or had breakfast.

Sunwapta resort, you can do better, you are sitting on a prime location!! these things are easy to fix.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2023

We love the location. It’s very isolated but has all the features and amenities you need. The restaurant has delicious food. The continental breakfast is to die for. It has a great variety of morning food.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dreamer58311067154
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews