We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Karen D

Yet another awesome stay!

Review of Tekarra Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Aug 2023
Tekarra Lodge is our favourite place to stay in the Rockies. We’ve stayed here many times and will return many more, I’m sure. We’ve also stayed in a variety of different cabin types on the property. We always cook in so it is important to us to have a kitchen. Some of the rooms have smaller kitchens and I still haven’t quite figured out from the website which types have only kitchenettes with cooktops and minifridges. My solution is to always book by phone to see what’s available and to plan accordingly - barbecue (briquettes, so old school but yummy) or stew/tacos if kitchenette with cooktop, or lasagna if full kitchen with big fridge and oven. Sometimes I find I’m in need of a kitchen accessory or extra utensils and the the Front desk can usually supply what I request.

To hit some of the highlights: The location here is great. Lovely view of the river. Handy to town and a number of trails. Comfortable beds. It got very chilly for a couple of nights this week so we were glad to have the fireplace. Yummy s’mores. Very friendly staff. Dog-friendly. Quiet. Frequented by elk, and this trip a grizzly also strolled through!

I am writing this review to thank the staff for giving us yet another amazing experience at the Lodge. This stay began with a small problem that needed fixing by the maintenance worker. Rather than have us be inconvenienced, the front desk offered to help move us to the only vacant room they had available, the Ruby Cabin, where we stayed our remaining three nights. This cabin was a significant upgrade from the Alberta Bachelor Cabin that is our usual go-to room We were quite prepared to move back to an AB when one came available as that was all we were paying for, but because no one else was booked into the Ruby, the staff (manager?) left us to enjoy it. What a treat for us! And what wonderful customer service! Thank you so much!
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Thank you for leaving a review Y66APkarend! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy the lodge and have been here many times. The Miette Double and Miette Queen cabins only have kitchenettes with a the small bar fridge. All other cabins have full stove/ovens and apartment sized refrigerators. Thank you for your understanding during the rain storm and we apologize for the leak in the cabin. We were happy to upgrade you and glad to hear that you enjoyed the new unit. We hope to see you again next year!
Sincerely,
Stephanie Sophocleous
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
bedroom - kinda odd placement of lamp but works for reading in bed
AU$439
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
44.9 km from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
The view of the lodge on arrival.
AU$592
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$592
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$594
46.6 km from Tekarra Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
The Standard Twin Beds at the Astoria Hotel
AU$415
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Jasper East Cabins
AU$437
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$438
46.1 km from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$474
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    AU$401
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Maligne Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$466
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$547
  • Expedia.com
    AU$549
  • Hotels.com
    AU$551
38.8 km from Tekarra Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$437
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
HI Jasper
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$360
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Tekarra Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper National Park
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveller rating
560
305
132
101
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
560
305
132
101
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews s mores the river adirondack chairs overlooking close to town breakfast was included fire pit small cabin hiking trails on site beautiful location jasper town beds were comfortable these cabins lodge fireplace smores athabasca
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2023

Very comfortable bed. Little warm on hot days as no air conditioning. Beautiful quiet location on the river. Nostalgic old cabins. Friendly helpful staff. elk were walking around the entrance when we came back 1 day. Great location close to Jasper but out of town so quiet.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mountainman827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2023

Thank you for the wonderful review Mountainman827! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2023

Overall AMAZING 2 days. The desk people and restaurant waitresses are very kind and welcoming. The view is more than beautiful and relaxing. We even saw Elks drinking water in the river. Only a few things to know: Pillows are very big maybe mix big and thin pillows would be better. The room is very warm even if there is a roof fan. But everything else is perfect!! We rented bikes for the day and enjoyed all the lakes it is a super place!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2023

Thank you for the kind review sandygZ7461PI! We hope to see you again for future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2023

We stayed here July 2023 for four nights in an Alberta cabin and had a wonderful stay.

Here are our observations/experiences that also factor items such as: what we knew prior to booking (type and cost of lodging), historical variables, total value for the money and comparisons with similar experiences – we greatly appreciate travelers who have provided reviews for our vacation planning and hope this info helps you too 😊:

THE GOOD STUFF:
• Location is great – close to town, but still feels remote since is next to woods and a large pond
• Private porch with two chairs
• Elk roaming woods just outside our door
• Has kitchen table, sofa and chair
• Has fireplace, but we did not use it as it was July
• Parking directly next to cabin
• Kitchen with large fridge
• Daily housekeeping, huge fluffy towels, clean – shower curtain and tub mat had no mold (rare!!!)
• Provided shampoo, tissues, lotion
• Full-size shower
• Good WiFi
• Very nice hospitality – addressed all our asks and questions
• Restaurant on-site, can walk to dinner
AWARENESS STUFF:
• Cabin smaller than what the pictures appear to make it show
• Kitchen is tiny, really tiny
• Thin walls, could hear sounds from neighbors in other part of duplex cabin
NEEDS ACTION:
• No screen door, so hard to get cross-ventilation to cool cabin since no A/C
• Cabin is really a duplex cabin, not clear that we were going to share a wall when we booked it
• Cabin is dark, needs much better lighting – change light bulbs to LEDs
• Very few electrical outlets and then they are behind large furniture/beds except for an outlet in the kitchen – add bus bars so guests don’t have to crawl to reach outlets

Room tip: Bring a bus bar for electrical outlets - very few in cabin and not accessible.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Skibumlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Dear Skibumlady,
Your thoughtful and detailed review has been greatly appreciated. This is incredibly helpful. It's my pleasure to let you know that we value the positive and negative aspects you highlighted in your review. We definitely use these comments for planning future renovations.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re grateful for guests like you as your feedback helps us to improve our service even further. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2023 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Tekarra Lodge - most definitely our favourite accommodation on our two week holiday in the Rockies. We had a Whistlers cabin, which must have been brand new. It was spotlessly clean with comfy beds and kitchen equipment which looked like it had been hardly used. It was perfect for our family of five. The whole site was well maintained and so quiet. We were also lucky enough to have a family of Elk who grazed outside our lodge the day we arrived.

The staff were fantastic too - from the welcoming reception staff (who also gave great recommendations for walks and food) through to the housekeeping staff. They are all such a credit to Tekarra Lodge and made this such a fabulous stay for us.

We really enjoyed the s’mores evenings too - the wildlife expert Sara was fascinating and the musician who played the following night was wonderful, such a relaxed evening. The view from the chairs overlooking the Athabasca river was breathtaking - we loved sitting here with our books, or just gazing at the stunning scenery.

We loved exploring the local area. We enjoyed the Maligne Canyon Hike, swam in Edith Lake, walked to see the Osprey nest (suggested by reception) just along from Tekarra Lodge, visited the Icefields, Pyramid and Patricia Lake.

We will be so sad to leave this peaceful haven. We find it hard to believe there is anywhere better to stay in Jasper and would love to return from the UK again one day.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Hertssnugasabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2023


Thank you for taking the time to share wonderful comments with our team! We loved hearing about your recent experience at Tekarra Lodge and how much you enjoyed our new Whistlers Cabin. It’s wonderful to know you found the nature talk informative! Sarah is an amazing guide. We understand you have many options when it comes to booking a hotel stay, and we appreciate the fact that you have chosen us. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2023

We had a wonderful relaxing stay in the rooms above the restaurant. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms had a coffee maker and small fridge. There is a large communal sitting area inside. It is a 30 second walk to the bank over looking the river with lots of chairs to sit and relax. minutes to town. Our room included breakfast which was delicious. We would definitely stay here agin.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Berns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2023

Dear Berns.
Thank you for taking the time to share comments with our team! We loved hearing about your recent experience at Tekarra Lodge. It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed the ridge area and breakfast. We understand you have many options when it comes to booking a hotel stay, and we appreciate the fact that you have chosen us. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews