We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service but delicious meal”

Sicilian Pasta Kitchen South
Reserve with OpenTable
Sicilian Pasta Kitchen South is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #160 of 2,787 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: USD 15 - USD 26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 23rd Ave & 114 St
Transit: Bus stops right out front, and LRT stop is less than 1 km away. Excellent accessibility to catch a quick meal before the game.
Description: Welcome to the Southern Italian Cuisine of the Sicilian Pasta Kitchen South. We feature an extensive menu that has many great Italian favorites on it as well as our chef's spin on some great Italian modern items. Come in and enjoy a delightful dinner for two or let us help you celebrate your special occasion for groups up to 125. We have a 140-seat dining room and a 50-seat patio. Both of which feature beautiful murals of the Italian countryside.
Reviewed 23 January 2018

First, there was nowhere to park! The service was extremely slow, but friendly staff. Thank goodness the food was amazing. There was fresh bread with balsamic and olive oil dipper. It was good. We started with arancini, our fave - yum! I had the cannelloni with rosé sauce and baked with cheese - divine! We planned to have dessert but we’re too full. The prices and decor were about average for this type of place.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2018

This restaurant treated us extremely poorly. There isn't adequate parking either. It is not family friendly, though they pretend to be. Please do not bring your family here--they will not be welcome. We have never been asked to step outside, followed by being offered to go containers before, while trying to eat our meal near the start of our diner.

When you walk in the first thing that is said to you is: "Reservation." Not welcome, not we are glad to see you, or even thank you for coming. The introduction was cold. They never offered a high chair for our kid. Right off the bat this is a huge red flag for any restaurant. If they don't care about providing a chair for your kid--it's best to leave.

Initially we were told that they primarily accept reservations and that they had no tables and it would be a 45 minute wait. There were empty tables before we entered the restaurant--we noticed before we entered. Then a group left and they said they could squeeze us in in about 10 minutes. We thought great, and appreciated the try.

They didn't provide a high chair and they didn't offer us water. Then, when we asked for one they said they could give us a booster seat... this had no straps, which was useless. Then they came back later to offer one. I appreciate that they were trying to some degree, but what really made the experience terrible was when the owner came and offered us crayons or suggested we step outside. He obviously failed to communicate with his staff because they had already given crayons. We was trying to get us to shut up or leave.

Other people nearby were too loud. It is a very noisy restaurant. This is why our kid was upset to begin with. And then we are being asked to find a was to keep the kid distracted or leave. We were literally asked by the owner if we wanted to have crayons or take a walk.

I would suggest that if the owner has a problem with having families in his restaurant, and if the loud talking and shouting of adults is ok, but not the noise of children that you should change your tatic and make your environment free of families and kids. If you want adults only then don't waste the time of families by insulting them when they come to your restaurant.

It is far better to say that you don't welcome families from the start, then to treat them like they don't belong and ask them to leave. We were starving and this was a giant waste of our time to go here. We ended up going to Tim Horton's where we were welcome. If you want pasta I would recommend Chianti. The quality of food is better and so is the way they treat you. There is a reason why Chianti has a better rating. We will go there, as we have in the past.

The food was typical at Sicilian Kitchen--nothing special either. But very expensive: $61 for a couple dishes.

We never got an apology for this inappropriate behaviour and will never go again. I hope that other families will avoid this place so you aren't treated like you don't belong and asked to leave.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

This Italian Restaurant has a variety of pasta including vegetarian dishes. The lunch menu is excellent with choices of soup & salad or pasta choices!! Service is great & is a favourite!!! Parking is free!!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank desktop2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Stopped in for a beer and pizza early on Friday evening. In a nutshell the food is good, the atmosphere is dull and the service sucks. The servers have no personality, they are slow and are a personal hygiene nightmare. Our server touched her hair, wiped her nose with her fingers and scratched herself in an unacceptable place, never sanitized her hands and didn't apologize for her actions at the table.. I asked her which waitress school do se go to, se replies "I didn't" obviously not.
He restaurant is good but stay away from the bar.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

We went to this restaurant for a birthday dinner for our two adult daughters. There were 6 of us. We won't be back. From 50 cents extra for a teaspoon of each balsamic and olive oil (come on...that should be included with bread and if you want to charge extra for it then at least give a decent amount!!!) to a water logged caesar salad to bland entrees to lukewarm latte/coffees that took 1/2 an hour to prepare it was just all so below average for what we paid. The Pollo Alla Crema was two very white (no caramelization at all like they had been microwaved) dry chicken breasts covered in cream with no discernible garlic taste at all...not very appetizing. The Chicken Marsala was the feature dish and it too was served with the exact same microwaved dry chicken breasts with about a teaspoon of marsala sauce that was super sweet. The Linguine Miscuglio was ok but I found no shrimp or italian sausage at all, just 4 pieces of dry chicken. No one was super impressed with any of the food. There was no offering of any dessert for our celebration. 3 of us ordered coffees after our meal. We waited and waited and waited. We didn't see our server at all anywhere. Finally about 1/2 hour later we were ready to leave and our coffees arrive. We almost refused them and we should have. They were lukewarm at best and my latte would rank up there with the worst tasting latte I have ever had. I would avoid this restaurant. There are numerous other restaurants serving pasta with better service and better food.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roxief897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sicilian Pasta Kitchen South also viewed

 

Been to Sicilian Pasta Kitchen South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing