We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not bad but there is better in Edmonton” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyoto

Kyoto
Ranked #933 of 2,365 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not bad but there is better in Edmonton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Went with a couple friends for dinner on a Sunday night. It wasn't busy when we first got there but it took the waitress about 10 minutes to bring an extra glass that we had requested and 15 minutes to come back and tell me they couldn't make the drink I ordered. That's fine that they couldn't make it but knowing sooner would have been nice. At this time there was only about 2 other tables with people at them. The food was decent. I felt the chicken and beef I order could have been a little bit hotter when it arrived. Two of my friends shared a sushi boat, which they said it was good, but they fell apart as soon as they would grab them. I'd much prefer going to Shogun, which is just down the road or Japanese Village, which is also downtown and not far.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's not a Japanese restaurant, it's a Canadian restaurant having Japanese food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The menu is Japanese, but the experience is not. The service is typical of Alberta - perfunctory and minimal. Perhaps the staff are descendants of Asian people, but the traditions are not Japanese. The waitress visits for three brief moments: to take an order, drop off the food, then toss the check. There is no sense of order or sequence in courses - if you order three things, they might all come at once, or might not. I expect if I order sunomono, saba shioyaki, then chirashi sushi, they will come out in that order and the next won't arrive until the current is finished. Nah: "here you go", scurry, scurry.

The food is average. The clientele is young people out for drinks and a couple of rolls.

Although some reviews mention the tatami rooms, actually you sit on a bench Western style with your feet under a low table. I can't sit for long Japanese style, so this it not a criticism, it's just a clarification.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
412 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Unique, fresh, delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I visited Kyoto on a business trip. We sat in one of those special rooms where you need to take off your shoes.

The waitress was great, explained everything, took care of all substitutions we wanted, and food was brought quickly.

The maki and sashimi was very fresh, and tasted amazing. I recommend the Gyu maki and the Mexican rolls. Would definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Djgoldma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
208 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely Japanese setting for delicious Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Great Japanese restaurant offering all kinds of Japanese delicacies. The waitresses shuffle along the tatami mats in full kimonos whilst sushi chefs ply their trade on the other side of the counter (full of creatures from the deep). The staff were all very friendly and the menu was easy to understand with lots of choices (bento boxes, sushi, tempura, the works). I was tempted by the more exotic choices like tako (octopus) and unagi (eel) which were delicious. After three courses, it wasn’t as expensive as I thought considering how expensive Japanese restaurants can be.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank merchy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unsanitary chef!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

I went to the Kyoto on 109 Street and the chef sneezed (she covered her mouth with her hand) and then continued making food! I was disgusted and told the server I wanted my money back and why. The server looked horrified, promptly returned my money, and went to get the manager. The manager came and thanked me for my concern and said that she would talk to the chef. Who knows if she did, but it's too late for me; I will never go back.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shahzadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kyoto also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing