We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Inappropriate Front Staff.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn West Edmonton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inappropriate Front Staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We came here around mid July as a stay over for our road trip. When we got to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised with the inside of it, as well as the rooms and the rates. However, one of the staff members there was unprofessional and inappropriate at times. We were at the front desk asking her for some assistance about how to get around Edmonton to a restaurant. While she was in the middle of helping us, she over heard that another guest was asking the other front desk clerk how to get around Edmonton. This prompted her to "ditch" us in the middle of helping us, move herself over to the other front desk agent and help those guests instead since she "knew the city better". We stood there for about five minutes listening to her converse with other guests and completely push aside the other front desk clerk when she was more than capable of finding them directions whether she knew them or not. There's Google Maps for a reason!
Other than that it was a good stay and we recommended the hotel to some of our friends. They were going to be travelling around Edmonton later for a deal they had found online for the mall. After exchanging stories and descriptions, we found out later that they dealt with the same girl at the front desk we did. This time however, they described how it was inappropriate because she was mentioning that she was sick and needed to barf while at the front desk and other people were dealing with guests, and then later as they were leaving the hotel, saw that she was hugging a trash can by the front entry of the back office and puking. Not something they wanted to see on their way out! They enjoyed their stay at the hotel and the rooms, but the one front desk clerk they also found the be very inappropriate at times, and not what they were expecting to see on their trip. They had also observed when they were using the ATM that there would be guests that would be left hanging there as she jumped in on someone else's conversation and help others before her own customers.
I would advise you to teach her to use the bathroom when she is feeling ill, or to not come into work if she is going to be doing something like that in front of the guests. I would also advise you to teach her how she should behave to her guests when helping them at the front desk. We are there asking you questions because we don't know the city. We don't want to sit there and listen to you shove another staff member aside as you show someone else around the map when we were dealing with you first.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
I am very disappointed that this guest had this experience at our front desk. This front desk agent has been given a copy of this event and understands how her actions did not represent our hotel or the rest of her team in a professional manner.

We are always striving to improve our guests experience and reviews like this, although not the kind of reveiw I would like to see, help us to make the changes that are necessary. Please let management know at the hotel when you have a concern we want to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    75
    45
    7
    15
See reviews for
71
35
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg, manitoba canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great location very close to the mall and the highway going east or west,,front desk ladies were all excellent,friendly, and helpful with directions, coin laundry was a plus, very clean winners of the housekeeping award 3 times. Resturant was excellent as well and friendly

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jules23797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Wanted something near West Edm Mall and this was the best value in the area. A/C didn't work but we didn't need it, and the coffee cups were dirty, but other than that the room was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inuvik, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

When I travel, I am very cautious with which hotel I stay at. I love to stay here, it is a very clean hotel and the staff very friendly. If your looking for a good hotel, I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWTWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We booked last minute and with the prices of hotels it seemed the going rate. the staff was nice a bit after we got into our room they called and asked us how our room was. the rooms were nice we were on the first floor which was not the best to find because its all sort of twisty. there was a fitness center but a pool or hot tub would have really been nice for what you paid for . there was one ice machine on our floor Im not sure about the others and it was a long walk to get there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccrVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#55 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Edmonton West
#47 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn West Edmonton

Property: Quality Inn West Edmonton
Address: 17803 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1B4, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn West Harvest)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price range (per night): $101 - $159
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn West Edmonton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100% non-smoking, 3.5 Star fully renovated, full service hotel is located 2 minutes from West Edmonton Mall with easy access to downtown, airport and all major highways. Coin-op laundry, fitness & business centre for guest convenience as well as free parking & local calls. This is one of the only full service hotels in the area and we offer discounted West Edmonton Mall Choice Passes to our guests. Designated Pet rooms are available for an extra cost per pet/per room. Recipient of the "Housekeeping Award of Excellence" for 2010 & 2011 make this an excellent choice when selecting hotels in west Edmonton, Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Quality Inn West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn West Harvest Hotel Edmonton
Quality Inn Edmonton
West Harvest Quality Inn
West Harvest Inn Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing