We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Change”
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #37 of 3,874 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We picked this place for a quick lunch and were really pleasantly surprised. The menu was not your usual lunch fare. There were basics like burgers etc., but they also have some different ways of presenting the food with different spices etc. I really enjoyed trying the different offerings. Wait staff was fine - although it was very busy when we were there, so I would suggest that could have been the reason for service that was just "fine".

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maggie_May305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi M, Manager at Cactus Club Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Cactus Club Stephen Avenue. We greatly appreciate all of our guest feedback and reviews. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not worthy of 5 stars. I have forwarded your comments onto our management team at this location to review. We hope that you are willing to give us another chance and opportunity to earn a 5 star review in the near future. Sincerely, Naomi Manager Stephen Avenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2017

Just by walking by you will notice that the place is packed at all times.
Walk-in are quickly accomodated in one of their 2 areas, lounge or restaurant.
The food is great, they have an extend variety of wines and beers.
Service is amazing too, at all times our waitress was helpful and explained our options with the happy hour deals, the menu or offered more drinks.
Not really expensive, and fancy environment.
Absolutely recommended in Downtown Core Calgary

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Javi_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

This is a top destination on one of Calgarys busiest avenues for a reason. They have mastered the concept of delivering exceptional experiences, consistently. They have delicious food and cocktails, prompt service and a lively atmosphere on any given time of day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi M, Manager at Cactus Club Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Hi Paige,
Thank you so much for your great review.
We definitely take pride on making sure that our guests leave happy.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
See you again soon.

Naomi M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Cactus Club English Bay in Vancouver is one of my favorites, so ventured to this one located in Calgary's CBD for a Saturday night dinner. The atmosphere and ambiance was tops, but sadly debased by the food. The bread seemed on the stale side, the fries served cold, and the lava cake, sans the lava. Joey does it better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aurora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi M, Manager at Cactus Club Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to rate us Aurora, I'm sorry to hear that your visit was not worthy of a five star experience. We hope that you are willing to give us another chance in the future. See you again soon.

Naomi M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Open later then any restaurants in the area it was nice to get some food after 1am.

The butternut squash ravioli was great, I’d go with the app as it’s a heavy dish and the entree was almost too much.

The calamari was bland but good Dillon sauces.

The largest downfall was it was more a club like atmosphere and the lighting was low and the volume was high

But hey, what else is open

Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing