We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect if you have kids!

Although the train was broken both times we went, we still managed to have a great time with our... read more

Reviewed today
Kate S
Skate!

I was in winter, and water is frozen. It is a great place to skate and socialize. Fire pits makes... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Keya D
,
Israel
Read all 258 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Calgary
from USD 99.73
More Info
from USD 43.50
More Info
from USD 126.58
More Info
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
141
92
16
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
92
16
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddle boats bow river rent a canoe miniature train ice skating in the winter stoney trail fire pit great place to spend the day great picnic picnic area wading pool ducks and geese walking trails starting point bike riding north side train ride
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I have been coming to this park for over 20 years and have never found another place in Calgary quite like it! So beautiful and serene! A great place to talk a calm walk in the sun, have a picnic with the family in the summer or go skating in the winter! Love this place

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank dh24heat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Bowness Park, in what was once the village of Bowness before it was annexed to Calgary in ?? the '60s, is situated along the Bow River on the west side of Calgary. It underwent a major improvement program in about 2016.
It is so well-loved that it is usually jam-packed on weekends. Ethnic groups set up big community picnics and make one envious of the communal spirit new Canadians bring with them when they immigrate here.
The park has a great walking trail which extends across the river and through Baker Park on the north side of the Bow. It also has a new cafeteria/restaurant, offers kayak rentals in the summer and skating in the winter.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank C. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We ended up here by accident and had to stay!
We are from out of town and our daughter had made arrangements to meet some friends at Bowness Park to skate and visit. It happened to be one of those rare days in Calgary this winter that was not below -20 so when we dropped her off and saw the wonderful skating facility, we had to stay.
Fortunately, we are good Canadians and some of us had skates in the car. Our other daughter didn't have skates along so we rented a pair for $10. There was quite a wait in the rental line, and we would not have all rented skates at $10/pair. But, the skating itself was free, and there were hundreds of people taking advantage of the warmer weather. The coffee shop/bakery was not even packed, as the weather hardly warranted a hot-chocolate this day!
This was a beautiful, sunny, near 0 degree day in January and we had a wonderful time. The ice is a bit bumpy in places and has some cracks that you have to watch out for, just like a natural ice surface should have. The skating surface is huge, the music is blaring, and the firepits are burning on the skate deck.
This felt like the quintessentially Canadian way to spend a winter Saturday afternoon. This is a great Calgary gem! My sister tells me it is also beautifully lit up in the evening.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Family_Tripster_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Great for picnics or for physical activities such as walking, running, bike riding, sports. Overall a great place to spend the day in nature and by the water. we usually go with family and do BBQ's.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Mehria_Afg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

pack a lunch, swimsuits for the kiddos, rent a canoe, rent a pedal boat, go early for a great spot, pack light as you are carrying in what you want

come in the winter bring your ice skates, enjoy the bonfire

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews