We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
10
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Heather and Richard are fabulous hosts that making us feel welcome and at home. Breakfast is a culinary delight filled with entertainment and great conversation. My girlfriends and I come to "scrapbook" but come back for the amazing camaraderie that takes place over coffee in the mornings. Their home is close to the highway, minutes from the city, and the mountain views are spectacular.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate3908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalGal090, Owner at By Chance B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for staying with us once again and for your wonderful feedback. It is always a fun weekend for us when your group comes to visit. Look forward to the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed with Heather and Richard for 2 days. They were extremely welcoming and looked after us very well throughout the stay. The accommodation was great with lots of space and every comfort we could ask for including a pantry which helped especially since we had to heat stuff up for the baby. Breakfast was amazing and Heather even went out of the way to accommodate a vegetarian. Hoping to stay with them next time we visit Calgary.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kiri0082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalGal090, Owner at By Chance B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback. We enjoyed your stay with us and would welcome you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

We were visiting the Calgary area for a combination family reunion and the Calgary Stampede. Our cousin found this place and WHAT A JOY! We have visited MANY B&Bs and this is by far one of, if not THE best. What sets it apart is this "home" you become family. Heather and Richard's well appointed rooms, sumptuous breakfasts and general care of visitors goes beyond the norm. While they'll leave you alone if you wish, they also are eager to help in anyway possible. They are there for YOU! Really. Not to mention, they are fascinating to talk with about ANY issue. Breakfast is leisurely and be prepared to 'hang' if one wishes at the table for conversation, laughter and fun. I HOPE we can visit again. Wonderful doesn't even begin to capture our delightful stay. Thank you again! Also, if you have dietary needs, they handle it with grace and goodness. From gluten free to vegetarian...not to mention for carnivores, the choices are delightful. Quiet and restorative.

Room Tip: small b&b and all rooms (3) are wonderful. Spacious, private, quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We recently had relatives visiting from out of town, and chose By Chance for two nights of their stay as it was close to our house. It ended up exceeding our and their expectations. The multi-course breakfasts were superb; sweet potato pancakes, homemade saskatoon berry compote, etc.
The home is immaculate, located in a beautiful quiet area just outside of Calgary with mountain views. Each bedroom has an ensuite bathroom, and the lower level room was wonderfully cool during a hot July.
Above all, the hosts, Richard and Heather, went above and beyond to ensure my cousins had a wonderful stay. They personified welcome and hospitality. My cousins, who have stayed in many B and B's thought it the best they had ever experienced. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Candiantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

I have spent several weeks between 2014 and, now, in 2015, at "By Chance B&B". As other reviews have said, it is a gem. The property quiet and conveniently situated just a few kilometres (and fewer miles) from the west side of Calgary. It has easy accessr via the TransCanada Highway to the city and to Banff and Canmore; and also to Stoney Trail and Calgary's International Airport.

This is a lovey home; that combines impeccable and sparkling cleanliness with a relaxing western charm. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the linens crisp and the amenities welll-thought out. It has magnificent views towards the Rockies from both the main and lower levels, and is designed to offer either privacy or opportunity for socializing.

The hosts, Heather and Richard, are warm, kind, funny, and interesting people who both have a knack for anticipating what will make their guests feel welcome and individually appreciated. They know the area very well, as only lifelong residents can and will ready help visitors plan their day trips - or direct them to the information sources they need.

Great choice if you are visiting the Calgary area.

Room Tip: The rooms are all sunny, well heated and ventilated, quiet; the lower level offers an adjoining-rooms option and a 'great' room with large-screen TV, coffee maker and microwave.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank C. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews