We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
73
15
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
15
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstampede groundsb and bblack squirrelsdowntown calgarywonderful hostswalking distanceother guestsbreakfast was excellentenjoyed our stayevery morningthree nightsstay there againclean roomsgood sizehelmutenglewoodbow
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2014

If you are visiting Calgary this is the place to stay. It is close to downtown, Fort Calgary, the Zoo and Stampede grounds. And yet in a quiet neighborhood. The hostess Valinda was super. She pointed out places to eat and other bits of information. As Helmut was away we of course did not meet him. The rooms are excellent and breakfasts great with a nice variety offered on the
menu. I along with 2 sisters stayed here near the end of October when all of Mother nature was in
her glory. The walk behind the house along the river was truly peaceful. We parked our cars when we arrived and didn't have to move them until we checked out. We certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Shirlee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

If you find a better breakfast in Calgary than this, tell the world!
An outstanding place to stay, you just know everything has been thought out and prepared properly in advance. Seems Helmut has made most of the furniture including the double bed, just shows the level of commitment Helmut and Valinda are making to this place.
We were made to feel like family being welcomed into their home. I would have happily sat chatting to them even though there was serious tourism to get on with.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: No need to be picky about a room as far as I can tell. All rooms I saw were just fine.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETERTRIPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

We only spent one night her but Helmut and Valinda were very welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed staying in an older style house and neighbourhood and the walk along the river bank behind the house is lovely. The room and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Jan and I stayed here for two nights at the very beginning of our road trip around Western Canada and Alaska and again for two nights on our return. The owners, Helmut and Valinda could not have been more helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and perfectly furnished and the breakfasts great. Valinda took the opportunity to introduce the guests to each other at breakfast, gave us advice on where to go and what to see in the local area along with free passes to some places or discount tickets if she had them. Helmut took the chance to show us some of his photos (and as a photographer I certainly enjoyed this) as well as his woodworking skills in the items in the house. When we returned from our road trip we found a note on the door welcoming us back and saying where the key was as they had to go out for a while and were unsure what time we would be back.
The property is in a great neighbourhood with some excellent bars and restaurants just a few minutes walk away and Downtown Calgary is only 15-20 mins walk away along the Elbow and Bow Rivers.
All in all a perfect place to stay in Calgary
Mike and Jan

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor "turret" room as well as a first floor room and both were faultless
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

What a stay! Helmut and Valinda were extremely welcoming. Room were very clean and breakfast was wonderful every morning. Very accommodating with certain dietary needs celiac and vegetarian! Wonderful people and a wonderful place. Fully intend on staying there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10006, Owner at Inglewood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hello Jed & Jan, thanks for your kind words - it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to see you again sometime. Cheers, Valinda & Helmut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews