We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,743)
Filter reviews
2,743 results
Traveller rating
1,443
804
289
135
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,443
804
289
135
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold floor the penthouse presidents club calgary tower classic hotel train tracks beautiful hotel valet parking rocky mountaineer steam room valet service stephen avenue heart of downtown calgary stampede stayed one night oak lounge
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 2,743 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a Grand Hotel trying to meet everyone's expectations and only partially succeeds. It is certainly very central with plenty of attractions within walking distance. The entrance foyer is massive and subject to areas being roped off for functions which is disruptive as access to the stairs is impeded. As expected staff are very helpful and assisted one of our party who inadvertently left his mobile phone in a taxi. It is not a cozy or intimate place and probably best serves business men/women and large coach loads of tourists. At present there are major alterations taking place and that means the dining room and more importantly the bar are out of action. In house alternatives are available but lack the style of the originals. The standard Fairmont rooms have all the facilities of others in the group and are very comfortable but my main issue was that our room was dark and rather forbidding. There was only a view of a courtyard but the point is that no one had realised the need for more lighting. Other travellers in our group had the same complaints and this should easily be addressed by extra light fittings. At check-in we were given the choice of a room with no view or a room next to the railway line - apparently the line is right next to the walls of the hotel. Therefore if staying here make sure you know the exact location of your room on booking!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bluebellplasnewydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsayGallagherPAL, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at Fairmont Palliser.

Please know that all of your comments will be passed on to our team so we may ensure that we are continuously improving our guest experience.

Best regards,

Lindsay Gallagher
Communications Manager
Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With out a doubt the Fairmont Palliser is the destination hotel in Calgary for all your needs. From the very friendly curbside valets, to all the staff in the hotel, you are treated like royalty and like you are the only guest in the hotel. How they do this continually, I'll never figure out, but the Four Season chain can't duplicate it.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SeanSWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsayGallagherPAL, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, Sean.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our colleagues treated you like royalty during your stay.

On behalf of everyone at Fairmont Palliser, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Lindsay Gallagher
Communications Manager
Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

The hotel is beautiful. Very old and beautifully done.. Definitely part of Calgary's history. Centrally located to the Calgary Tower and other attractions. A short walk to the pedestrian street as well as other places. Buffet breakfast was absolutely excellent.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank GoldenGirls5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsayGallagherPAL, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review!

On behalf of all the colleagues here at Fairmont Palliser, we are so glad you enjoyed your time spent with us and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back should you return to the Calgary area.

Warm regards,

Lindsay Gallagher
Communications Manager
Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

The rooms are huge and very,very pretty! The location is good...only a few blocks from Stephens Street that has tons of shops and restaurants.
However....the lobby is so dark and depressing. Its very large with nothing going on. They have sofas and tables but you cant get a drink or cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jmamadukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsayGallagherPAL, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Our team here at Fairmont Palliser appreciates all of the guest feedback we receive and use it to improve our guest experience going forward, so thank you for providing your comments.

We hope you will choose to stay with us should you find yourself in the Calgary area again.

Warm regards,

Lindsay Gallagher
Communications Manager
Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

My wife and i live about 500kms away from Calgary and do enjoy staying at this hotel while in Calgary. We walk everywhere we need to go downtown, which helps keep the weekend stress free! Great weekend.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsayGallagherPAL, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for writing this review, Robert.

I am so glad to hear that you had a stress free stay with us here at Fairmont Palliser and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Lindsay Gallagher
Communications Manager
Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews