We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The Westin Calgary was great. We had three little kids, and they immediately welcomed us by giving the kids children's packs with cute rubber ducks and night lights. They were a hit. They also upgraded our room at no charge, and they brought a cot for the third kid (also no extra charge). The cot was really great, not one of the flimsy ones that you sometimes get. This one was firm and comfy. Bedding was great all around. Service was excellent and all the staff were friendly and really wonderful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a corner room, upgraded with a large bathroom and extra sitting room space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    549
    168
    53
    33
See reviews for
147
352
102
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We visited this hotel and we're so appreciative of the incredible service. At check in, the Westin employee noticed we had a lot of bags. He asked if our family would like more space and our teenage kids were thrilled. We only stayed one night but it was lovely. We all had lots of space to relax and we thoroughly enjoyed the heavenly beds!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

i stayed here recently on a business trip and I was not impressed. The lobby is stunning and the staff are friendly, however, I am not impressed with the condition of the room. There was mould in the shower (see pic) and the fan vent looked liked it had never been cleaned (see picture). i was on the 3rd floor in the older wing (in an apparently upgraded room) but i could hear the water pipes with every flush on the floors above - if you are a light sleeper this becomes a problem. Can also hear too much traffic from the street.
You are paying a high price for the location - otherwise you might find better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: not sure if there is a good room here. Always find it noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear SusanM643,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your guestroom experience in our business tower. The cleanliness issues you experienced are unacceptable and certainly not a reflection of our usual attention to detail and high standards of cleanliness. I have spoken with our Director of Housekeeping so that this may be addressd promptly. Please accept our apologies, and I do hope that you will be back again the next time you're in Calgary. Perhaps our main building would be worth a try on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great experience at the Calgary Westin. Even though I booked my reservation through hotwire, I still got my room upgraded plus some extras. Stayed on a weekend so this downtown hotel was relatively quiet. Front desk service was exceptional and really did their best to make sure my stay was a great experience even though I was only there for one night. Rooms are very clean with good furniture, bedding and quality bathing products (as you would expect from a Westin Hotel). Definitely my choice hotel for a pampered, mini-retreat that doesn't break the bank. Hot breakfast buffet also delicious (but pricey if it's not included with your room). Valet parking or parking the the underground lot is also expensive but I think consistent with other downtown hotels. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for business travellers, couples, and those wanting to getaway for the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akchan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Clean, central and meets all of the needs of the business traveller to calgary. 20 minutes cab t airport and excellent front desk service. Room service food, while pricey, is fresh and well prepared. Bathrooms are simple yet functional. Only complaint - should be no fee for internet in room given room rate of more than $250/night. A solid night's stay.

Room Tip: All rooms face some sort of Calgary skyline, and being in downtown core there is always some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girly-Avanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.3 km away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,445 reviews
0.7 km away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
0.7 km away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,111 reviews
0.2 km away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price range (per night): $167 - $553
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing