We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Nearby Hotels
Kootenay Park Lodge(Kootenay National Park)(Great Value!)
USD 276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 494
USD 453
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Juniper Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
USD 358
USD 283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 368
USD 338
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 412
USD 381
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 620
USD 417
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
USD 385
USD 357
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 472
USD 400
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 443
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,275)
Filter reviews
7,275 results
Traveller rating
4,665
1,579
625
277
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,665
1,579
625
277
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorwalliser stubepoppy brasserieglacier saloonjunior suitefairview restaurantbeautiful hotelself parkingsleigh ridebucket listice skatingtea houserocky mountaineerbanff springsfondueice sculpturesonce in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
6,311 - 6,316 of 7,275 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2010

One of the best trips ever to any ski resort. Must add to your list. You won't be disapointed.

Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
Thank MaryW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Fabulous!
Close to town, skiing, dining, entertainment. The Hotel itself is beautiful, historic, and lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Expensive but very nice!! I would definitely recommend paying a little extra to have a room that overlooks the lake and glacier.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank bjr218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We arrived at CLL the day after a heavy snowfall that blanketed the area in a pristine winter condition and laden the trees with snow. Arriving around 2pm, the bellmen graciously took our luggage and they were delivered to our room before we arrived. Check-in was easy as the hotel was not busy on this three day weekend for many Americans. We were upgraded to a lake view room by a pleasant young woman at the desk. She was very informative and assisted us with our many questions. We immediately met with the concierge to arrange for skating, dog sledding and dinner reservations.
Having worked in a railroad hotel in Montana, I understand that these hotels have their charm as well as issues. Rooms are often small with even smaller bathrooms. You may hear water rushing through pipes or creaky old stairs. Yet in our experience, we feel in love with the CLL for the pleasant service, comfortable room and fabulous view. The building and property are well maintained and the extension added in recent years does not deter from grandeur of this hotel.
Our room had a king bed, two chairs around a small table and flat screen TV. Small refrigerator that the note said was stocked was empty but allowed us to use the space. Bed was very comfortable and the heat was easily regulated. Bathroom had an old/refinished tub with good shower and water pressure. View from the room was spot on Lake Louise allowing us to see the skaters, sleigh rides, and majestic Rocky Mountains.
Dinner was in the Lake View lounge which has a light menu but great view of the snow covered trees (which are lighted at night) and lake. Service from the young staff was great and food o.k. Vidalia onion soup was great but Caesar salad was average.
Ordered room service which was good but expensive for breakfast. If you plan on doing this, I suggest calling your order in the night before to avoid a 20 minute wait. Lunch in the deli which offers soup, sandwiches with limited seating. Dinner was in the Walliser Stube small dining room. We split two entrees; fondue and chicken. Fondue was great and the chicken plate good. Again service was great and atmosphere sitting by the large window, charming. While the food is not cheap, why would you leave this beautiful place to eat anywhere else?
The hotel offers a variety of winter activities, most for a fee. Pool, jacuzzi and exercise room which we did not have time to use. Skating is free if you have skates or rent for $13 a day. The horse drawn sleigh takes you along the side of the lake and through the woods for an hour ride. You can rent cross country skies, snow shoes and other equipment right at the hotel. Offsite you can take a dog sled ride (starting point is a 10 minute walk from the hotel) through the woods to the continental divide. This was a great experience run by a very reputable company. Cost is $300 for two people on a 1 ½ hour trip.
There are many shops in the hotel that offer a wide variety of goods and services. Even a camera shop incase you forgot to bring your digital camera charger (!)
Our weekend was picture perfect allowing us to relax and enjoy the Rockies in a comfortable grand old hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

The Chateau Lake Louise is a remote palace in the solitude of the Canadian Rockies. Huge and happening in winter, and a major attraction to wander even just for the day. The lake, mountains and views are amazing. I went there on a weekend in early November just for one night on a whim. The hotel itself was surprisingly quiet as it was off season. The room was small but had all the best of amenities. My only complaint was that outside of the hotel there isn't any real night life but with 5 different restaurants / bars, there was still lots to do but at this level of luxury you pay for it . Surprisingly, the hot tub and pool in the fitness centre seemed neglected and the water was a little gross. I am quite surprised there wasn't an outdoor hot tub for such an expensive and popular winter ski escape. I think one night is all I really needed to do and see what I wanted. Go for the location and the history.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canuckaflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews