We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
17 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
USD 593
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/09/21
Expedia.com
USD 594
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/09/21
Trip.com
USD 582
View deal
Booking.comUSD 593
Hotels.comUSD 594
CheapTicketsUSD 594
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,124)
Filter reviews
9,124 results
Traveller rating
5,913
1,923
760
354
174
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,913
1,923
760
354
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold floor walliser stube poppy brasserie fairview restaurant valet parking sleigh ride bucket list beautiful hotel ice skating banff springs tea house ice sculptures breathtaking views once in a lifetime fairmont chateau hotel guests rocky mountaineer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7,117 - 7,122 of 9,124 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I have been to the Chateau several times as a preteen and young adult with my sister and parents but this was the first time going with my own husband and 2 children. The drive up is beautiful and really striking in the deep snow. I am sure it has impact on travellers from warm climates. The Chateau is lovely as can be expected from a Fairmont. The location could not be more beautiful as the lake is gorgeous in both winter and summer. We took advantage of the winter activities and did some ice skating (appreciating the nice big fire on the side of the rink to warm up) and tobogganing. We also took a horse drawn sleigh ride which was worth while although I wish I was wearing warmer footwear. Even leather boots did not keep the toes warm. DRESS WARM! At the end of the trail is a beautiful frozen waterfall that climbers often scale.
All the dining areas were exceptional. Did a 3 course dinner and wine pairing in the Dining room which was awesome. Did appies at the german fondue place which was excellent. Did pub fare at Grizzlies which was very good and kid friendly in the afternoon (2 thumbs up). Also did lunch in the lakeside lounge which is fantastic in both service and cocktails.
Housekeeping was non-intrusive and thorough.
Only problem was at check which was a bit of a nightmare with 2 tired car sick kids since our room was not ready on time and then we were given the wrong room entirely with someone elses things in the foyer. Management promptly made up for the inconvenience with a bottle of Champagne and treats for the kids.. and free valet. All forgiven.
Overall this is a top notch place, excellent for families and romantic escapes.

Room tip: Lakeview as high up as possible.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Look this hotel has been on my bucket list since I was a little girl, yes the view is amazing and the service provided by all staff was fantastic ..... but!

This hotel is horrendously overpriced especially in the dining department. We dined at 2 of the onsite locations and purchased from the deli. The room-service breakfast meal didn't have a meal on there for less than $20!I do have dietary requirements and they were catered for very well but it doesn't make up for the costs.

The rooms are small and the heating is slow, the beds are very uncomfortable. The shower is tiny and I am not a big person at all. The gym had a great variety of up to date equipment but very limiting on the amount available.

Room tip: high up facing the lake we were on level 4 facing the lake and the view was exquisite however a little higher would've been perfect.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KC P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you very much for posting your review. I'm pleased to hear that the service you received was excellent, though disappointed that the rest of your stay was not as exceptional. I have shared your comments concerning the cost of meals with our Director of Food & Beverage - he will review our pricing to ensure our guests are receiving the best value for their dollar.
I am also pleased to let you know that we have recently begun a renovation on 215 of our historic guest rooms. Renovations on the lobby and Lakeview Lounge will begin shortly, and we will start renovating the remaining classic guest rooms in the fall. We hope to see you again to show you the improvements we've made.

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

It is undeniably one of the most incredible locations for a hotel! The view is absorbing and the main reason to stay at this hotel. So my starting position for the location alone is to give this hotel a 5 rating. I would strongly recommend paying for a room with a view. Clearly it costs more, but the ability to take in the view whenever you want is priceless (so look elsewhere to save money if need be). We slept with the curtains open and it was amazing to wake up at first light and see the sunrise reflecting off the glacier (head down to the lakeshore for great photos...you won't be alone, no matter how early it is!)

But the hotel has to be more than providing a shelter to see the views and that is where it fell short and hence the lower rating. There was the sense that it doesn't need to try too hard as people will always come to visit and in my mind the Fairmont brand is affected accordingly.

Having come from the the Fairmont Pacific Rim where the hotel was new and the service impeccable, our expectations were high. But over the course of our 5 night stay, we had ample opportunity to see that it was well below that standard. The building is much older and clearly has a different style - not a problem, but there are certainly parts of it that are in need of refurbishment (our room, some of the restaurants, bar and spa). Also, cleanliness did not seem to be a strength - we were lucky enough to have glorious sunshine, which struggled to get through the filthy windows and served to highlight the poor cleaning standards in the communal areas and bedroom.

But this could have been tolerated if the service had been up to scratch. Yes, there are hundreds of visitors passing through every day, including massive tour groups (note that the communal areas are open to non-residents, so you are often treated by staff as if you are any old person off the street). I couldn't work out if the staff were under pressure because of the sheer volumes or that they didn't care because of the revolving door. Wherever we went, the service became acceptable if staff were simply not rude. The concierge was so rude to us, we had to just walk away. The staff in the bar tried to make us sit inside when we requested outside (where there were a number of tables free) because they didn't want to have to clear them and so we just had to insist. The therapies in the spa were definitely below standard.

Would we return? Yes, absolutely, because of the view. Also, it is an ideal location for the lake with the options to hike and go horseriding, and good to visit the area (gondola, Lake Moraine, Bow Lake, Peyto lake, icefields parkway). But my expectations for the hotel would be lower!

Walliser stube - great for fondues with a decor which probably comes into its own in the winter months.
Poppy Brasserie - would recommend the game trio of bison, elk and venison - delicious.
Glacier Saloon - dark and dingy, serving usual diner fare but at inflated prices, but was often the only option if you hadn't made a reservation elsewhere.
Lakeview Lounge - not v clean, with arrogant/rude staff.
Chateau Deli - open 24 hours - great for early morning breakfast after lakeside photography session, as well as sandwiches, hot soup and a v tasty chilli (but if you are heading out anyway, I would stop off at the bakery in the village - much more choice)

Room tip: With a view!!!!!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MPL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed over New Year's at the Fairmont. The hotel has a wonderful history and stunning views in every season. But our stay was marred by something that you would never expect to find. We stayed on the third floor and our room looked right out over the lake. Unfortunately, it was also directly above a major function room. There were wedding receptions with a DJ on two of our five nights. The noise level starting from 10 pm to midnight on both nights was akin to a college dormitory. When I complained to the Front Desk, I was essentially told that it was hotel policy to allow loud music at these functions. When I complained again on the second night, the on-duty manager was sympathetic and gave me a small credit. However, this was really not adequate compensation. Certainly any hotel, particularly one of this quality, is obliged to at least provide a quiet room to its customers at night. Senior management of the hotel, though, has clearly decided otherwise in order to make some extra bucks. Don't stay here if you think you are entitled to a quiet room, or at least don't stay in the room range of about 302-320.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 423Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

I'm so sorry to hear that you did not receive the one thing we offer above all else - a restful night's sleep. We do have noise curfews of 11 p.m. throughout the hotel, and I will be speaking with our Director of Security to find out exactly why this was not followed. I will also share your comments with our Executive team, so they can look into our curfew times. If I may be of any assistance during any future trips to The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise or the area, please contact me at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The most stunning views from our room. A major snowstorm left the view during and after looking like a fairy tale. My sister and I stayed here last April but it wasn't until I saw this hotel listed under "10 hotels with incredible views" that I remembered I had not started writing review for tripadvisor and felt compelled to include a review....
One of the most awe- inspiring views. And if you don't have a view of the lake from your room, try afternoon tea in The restaurant sitting at the huge windows...you won't be disappointed..tea with a view...it can't get any better than this!

Room tip: A rare treat...not cheap by any means but a bucket list must do once in your life!
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ykroneberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews