We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Fairmont
AU$859
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Stephanie L
Miami, Florida, United States
Spectacular Views!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Jan 2013
The Chateau's staff is always ready to assist with whatever needs you may have. The views from the chateau lakeside room and the rooms with a lake view are fabulous. They know how to celebvrate Christmas and New Year's with all guests invited. Their are several restaurants in The Chateau, however they are expensive and for the most part food is good in the Fairmont Room and the fondue restaurant. The Italian restauarant is a price fix buffet which I would rate as poor, breakfast is a buffet or menu. There are few a la carte items and unless you like to overeat the buffet is overpriced.
We enjoy the celeberations and level of service provided by the hotel staff. The views are spectacular and the skiing at Lake Louise is great with views that can not be matched anywhere. Everywhere you look is like a picture postcard.
Date of stay: December 2012
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$861
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.7 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$199
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free Wifi
Free parking
HI-Lake Louise Alpine Centre
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
2.6 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
12.8 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
10.3 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free parking
Restaurant
hostel barn
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
8.7 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free parking
Deer Lodge Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free parking
Restaurant
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
33.8 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lake Louise
Reviews (10,175)
Filter reviews
10,176 results
Traveller rating
6,481
2,119
880
440
256
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,481
2,119
880
440
256
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold floor walliser stube poppy brasserie fairview restaurant valet parking sleigh ride bucket list beautiful hotel ice skating banff springs tea house ice sculptures breathtaking views once in a lifetime hotel guests fairmont chateau rocky mountaineer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8,141 - 8,146 of 10,176 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed one night in late June as part of a Brewsters tour. The public areas of the hotel were very good - but my small room overlooked the car park so there was no view worth looking at. It was also adjacent to the ice machine and near the lifts so the corridor was noisy - and the room was not soundproofed enough.

The weather was cold and wet - which made doing anything outside impractical. The restauraunts were booked out when I arrived so I ended up in the saloon bar - the food was terrible - they only charged me for my drink.

Overall I was disappointed as I specifically chose a tour that included an overnight stop at the Chateau. The lake views are fantastic - but there were limited options to enjoy them.

Room tip: There was no option to pay more and get a better room when I booked my tour - maybe being part of a tour group means you get allocated the lesser rooms in peak season.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OzShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It was disappointing to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. We do get quite busy in the summer months, but that is no reason that your stay should have been anything less than exemplary.
I've let our Director of Food & Beverage know of your difficulty in securing a dining reaservation, as well as your experience in the Glacier Saloon; he will be working on making sure both issues are rectified, if they have not been already.
Please contact me at the hotel should your travels bring you back to Banff National Park.

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed for the New Year. Make sure you get the lake view, without it is not really worth it. We went to the Banff one before and we loved it. We expected the same service but it is not the case. We waited 15 minutes in the restaurant before anybody came. The service was sloppy through the whole meal. The food was good.
The room was small with bulky outdated furniture, moldy smell and not really clean when we arrived.
Ski storage area had no bench to put on/ take off your boots.
We were told that there will be music and champagne for the New Year Eve in the lobby to find out at midnight that we were suppose to pay for it ( we already paid for dinner at the Fairview and hurry up to catch the midnight in the lobby). We were quite disappointed. For the price we paid for the room we expected at least the cheapest sparkling wine available for midnight.
What made everything better was waking up to the surreal view of the lake and mountains. It is really breathtaking and worth every penny.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cast-Away21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Only stayed for one night but I could have stayed for weeks just watching the light change on the mountains , just a stunningly beautiful sight! Great Hotel always busy very efficient. Expensive of course. Disappointed in the quality of the food at their high end restaurant, read well on the menu but didn't deliver. Interesting shops. Great hikes.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6,491
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you so much for posting your review. I've seen the the view outside this hotel hundreds of times and it still takes my breath away.
I have shared your comments concerning your dining experience with our Executive Chef, who will certainly speak with his team to ensure we are always offering an exemplary dining experience.
We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This Hotel is huge and is in one of the most beautiful locations in the world. The Lake View lounge overlooks the Victoria gacier and in the winter the lake is frozen. At Chrismas there is a skating ring and an ice castle on the lake. Sleigh rides and walking around the lake are good recreational things to do. The Hotel itself has shops and restaurants in it. We stayed on the Fairmant Gold floor that has its own lounge. Its a bit more expensive but well worth it as it has private check in, continental breakfast, apres ski nibbles and an honesty bar. Coffeee and tea are always available and free whn the lounge is open. Rooms are good, clean and service was excellent. Please be awar that the Hotel is 6 km away from the ski area as some pictures can leave you to beleive that it is closer. The hotel runs a very effecient shuttle service to the hill.

Room tip: High lake side rooms have the best views.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our second visit to the Chateau over this past Christmas holiday. We had a fabulous time. The room was very clean and the view of the lake and surrounding was just as we remembered: fabulous! We really enjoyed the Christmas events they had, such as caroling, a guest reception and the Christmas Eve church service. The ice bar outside is a great place to warm up after a hike around the lake.
The winter guided activities were so much fun and the guide was fun and informative-we tried the moonlight snowshoeing and the hike to Johnston Canyon. I was especially fond of the hot chocolate break inside the igloo the guides had built on the snowshoeing trail. We also went on a lovely Christmas day sleigh ride.
There are several restaurants inside the Chateau with great food, but the menus can be redundant. Walliser Stube, however, was a great dining experience and the Black Truffle Cheese Fondue was sooooo delicious!
We also went to the small village down the hill and ate at the bakery and cafe there.
Overall, a great Christmas vacation.

Room tip: The lake view is why you stay here!
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmilyB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

A White Christmas is something we are so fortunate to experience every year. It sounds like you had a chance to experience quite a few of our Christmas activities - we have a great team who works incredibly hard to make sure all our guests have a holiday of a lifetime. And you're defintely right - the Black Truffle Cheese Fondu is out of this world! We hope to see you again next year.

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews