We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jamie
Cheshire, United Kingdom

Beautiful location, not the greatest value

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jan 2013via mobile
Lake Louise, what can I say, such a stunning place, the valley of four glaciers, crystal waters, amazing mountains, everything about this location is phenomenal. The hotel itself is very nice, the lobby and lakeside area is beautiful. Room decoration was average, and it was very cramped, the hotel restaurants were not the best, and parking was extortionate (use the free carpark down the road!) - bit of a captive audience I'm afraid! Very expensive for what it is, but I guess given the location they can get away with it.
Date of stay: August 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$683
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$824
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.7 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$602
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.8 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free Wifi
Free parking
HI-Lake Louise Alpine Centre
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
2.6 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Official Site
10.3 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free parking
Restaurant
One of our stand alone cabins captured during the summer months
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
12.8 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free parking
Deer Lodge Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free parking
Restaurant
hostel barn
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
8.7 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Free parking
    33.7 km from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Lake Louise
    Reviews (10,243)
    Filter reviews
    10,243 results
    Traveller rating
    6,536
    2,125
    885
    439
    258
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    6,536
    2,125
    885
    439
    258
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews gold floor walliser stube poppy brasserie fairview restaurant valet parking sleigh ride bucket list beautiful hotel ice skating banff springs tea house ice sculptures breathtaking views once in a lifetime hotel guests fairmont chateau rocky mountaineer
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8,217 - 8,222 of 10,243 reviews
    Reviewed 3 January 2013

    Stayed here overnight New Years Eve with my sisters.
    Rooms were very spacious, well decorated and comfortable. Our luggage was in our room by the time we went up. I especially liked that they provided four bathrobes along with the towels. One for each sister to use!
    This was probably the most pleasant, comfortable stay I have ever had anywhere! I highly recommend this to anyone who needs a little pampering. You feel like royalty from the moment you arrive!

    Room tip: We really liked the big windows in our third floor suite.
    Date of stay: January 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Talbertenator
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 January 2013

    Amazing plaCe for white Xmas
    What an amazing place. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a lake view room on the third floor. Check in was quick and room easy to find. There is an array is of shops and dining options available. Our room was small but the view was amazing. The bed was so soft an guaranteed a great nights sleep. The Chateau had so many Christmas activities happening. It was great. I noted that th property won a four diamond award this year. You don't get that unless you are good.

    Date of stay: December 2012
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    4  Thank NathaenM
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

    Anyone who's ever been to Lake Louise around the holidays will definitely know the meaning of a White Christmas! We're so lucky to be in this setting and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are incredibly proud of our AAA Four Diamond award, both for the hotel and the Fairview Dining Room. We hope to see you back again next Christmas!

    Warm Regards,
    Lisa Riches
    Executive Assistant

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 January 2013

    We just returned from three nights at the Chateau which included New Years Eve. This place isn't cheap, but it is luxurious. Standard rooms are small, but not an issue. We opted for the mountain view room which was breathtaking. I'm sure the lake view would have been even more so, but in the winter the sun comes up late and it sets early, so unless you're spending the day in your room (hope not!) it made no difference. Plus, the view is still amazing. We wanted to spend the extra money on other hotel amenities, which we did. We enjoyed massages in the spa, had a great dinner in the Fairview Dining Room (tip: it's dark early, so maybe go for lunch instead to get the view). On New Years Eve we spent the day and evening at the ski hill, but returned to a classy and fun party near the lobby. The piano player they had was phenomenal and everyone was having lots of fun. The following day we enjoyed a fantastic New Years Day brunch. I don't think I've ever had a more expensive brunch (without booze) but we wanted to enjoy ourselves and the Fairmont didn't let us down. We had a great window seat overlooking the lake/mountains and the food was nothing short of amazing. I'd recommend joining the President's Club -- it's free and you get free wi-fi for joining and a discount in the spa. There's a free shuttle that runs every 20 minutes to the ski hill and while we didn't use it, we would rent the skis from the hotel in the future to avoid the lineups. All in, an expensive but glorious visit to the Chateau. Highly recommend this treat to anyone and everyone. The mountains are incredible.

    Room tip: The mountain view room was excellent.
    Date of stay: January 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank TorontoBloorTravel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 January 2013

    We only had one night here but had a Lake View Room and could not believe the view! Pictures cannot do justice and how can you really explain the beauty of the scenery to anyone who has not experienced it. The staff were very helpful. It was New Year's Eve. We went on a sleigh ride at 4 pm. Even though blankets were provided it was very cold. The hotel is magnificient. We had lunch in the deli and had a lovely big bowl of minestrone soup! Went down very well. We had breakfast from the deli also. GCereals, hot oats, fresh fruit, and all of the usual bagels and sweets that we have become used to seein but give them a wide berth. We had dinner in Poppy which is the brasserie overlooking the lake. Food was delicious, service was impeccable! We retired around 10.30, not being too into late night revellery, and the hotel was quiet though there were a lot of activities going on. We slept in late and had our breakfast from the deli before continuing on our journey.

    Room tip: Ask for a lake view room.
    Date of stay: December 2012
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank wendyb679
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 January 2013

    I have always seen the pictures of this hotel but until you have been there you can never truly appreciate just how breatktaking the hotel and location is.
    Hotel is big and set right on the lake, the rooms are great and comfy and offer all you really need.
    There is a stables right next to the hotel where you can pay to ride on horseback up the mountain which I would recomend people do as it truly is an experience like no other, just wrap uo warm!

    Date of stay: August 2012
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Gary M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

    Thank you very much for posting your review! No matter how many times I see it, the view of the glacier and lake never ceases to amaze me. I'm please you got a chance to experience Brewster Stables - they've been in that location about as long as the hotel's been here! We hope to see you again.

    Warm Regards,
    Lisa Riches
    Executive Assistant

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews