We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,867)
Filter reviews
7,867 results
Traveller rating
5,066
1,703
665
297
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,066
1,703
665
297
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold floor walliser stube poppy brasserie fairview restaurant sleigh ride beautiful hotel self parking bucket list ice skating junior suite tea house banff springs fondue ice sculptures rocky mountaineer once in a lifetime breathtaking views
Filter
Updating list...
6,415 - 6,420 of 7,867 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

No complaints about this beautiful hotel. Winter wonderland! I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel2themax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed 5 days in the winter. The views are fabulous and the staff is outstanding. We had a large suite and our two teenagers had a double twin room. We had a chance to dine in all 5 of the restaurants and found the food to be delicious. We took advantage of the free ski shuttle. Barrie at The Ice Bar made things fun. As world travelers we noticed some things that made us feel like this was a hotel trying hard to make things nice but missing the mark just a bit. I guess we just have high expectations.

The first bad impression was when you walk in the front door and they have a large table of hot chocolate set out except that all 3 big stainless steel dispensers are empty with chocolate spilled
all over and piles of over turned dirty paper cups everywhere. Neither of our rooms had shampoo. Someone promptly delivered a handful of bottles to both rooms. A couple of the lamps switches did not work so we had to turn them off by unplugging them. The TV was acting strange. It would either turn on spontaneously by itself or the remote wouldn't work at all. The thermostat in the kids room would not turn down. Even after someone from the hotel staff tried to adjust it the heat stayed on. The wine list seemed to include too many young reds that were too young to be served.

The staff is truly wonderful but we were also expecting attention to detail for the amount of money we spent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank etan92612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Scenic Tours brochure we were given shows the arched windows with Lake Louise in the background with the mountains all around the lake. Being there to see that its even better than you could imagine.The horse sled day was particularly bitter cold for most of us with temps hitting -17C that day. We had a snowball fight and toboganning with fellow aussies and kiwis mainly, in perfect temps, -4C, the next day.Our room had picture perfect views of the frozen lake and snowy tree lined moutains, just breathtaking!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Excellent service throughout this grand hotel. We stayed for Christmas and found it magical - it was as if we had stepped back in time to the 1920s.
Here are some of the special things we loved:
- a huge buffet brunch in a magnificent dining room overlooking the lake;
- skating on the lake, around a massive ice castle carving;
- sleigh rides around the lake;
- a large gingerbread "village" display in the lobby, complete with model railway;
- gingerbread house-making lessons;
- historic tour of the chalet and its kitchens;
- an ice bar on the side of the lake, serving hot chocolate and various warming liqueurs.

We enjoyed eating in the fine dining restaurant, and just as much eating fondue in the cosy "Walliser Stube" Swiss restaurant another evening.

There is a large indoor swimming pool and well-equipped gym.

Why 4 stars rather than 5? The rooms and bathrooms were very small and, although otherwise well-equipped, they were of "European" size and, having regard to their price, were not up to the size of a modern 5-star hotel in North America or Asia.

Room Tip: Upgrades to lake view rooms were offered on check-in for an additional $50 per night.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrostyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

wonderful view.it was the highlight of our tour of rockies.a must to stay here to see lake louise in different lights of day and evening and morning.the staff was also very helpful to prepare special meal as per our needs.even the valets are extremely efficient.

Room Tip: take a higher floor for better view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumbaiace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews